The Coffee World

I found a greenhouse and nursery nestled in the woods, on a side road I had never seen before. Strange, since I passed that spot hundreds of times...

They had many exotic plants, all unfamiliar to me. Not wanting to bring something home that I couldn't take care of, I strolled over to the seeds.

They were just as unfamiliar as the plants. Except for the coffee seeds. Eagerly I took a packet, and sought out someone to pay (although there weren't prices on anything).

"How much for the coffee seeds?" I asked the ancient woman.

She grinned, and waved me towards the door.

"Thank you, Ma'am," I said, as I left.

After I planted them, I went to bed. When I got up, I remembered that I had accidentally left a bag of plastic shopping bags in the living room the other night. I had brought them out to put one under each pot, before watering the new seeds.

"Might as well take them with me while I get my coffee," I thought as I yawned. Then I got the shock of my life!

Normal coffee plants grow very slowly. They take years to reach six feet, and begin to bear fruit. They also happen to be trees.

These plants were neither slow growing nor trees! The seeds, which I had placed in individual pots, had each grown a huge vine.

Those vines were entangled, forming a thick curtain which was blocking me from entering the kitchen, to get my morning coffee.

The plants had the same leaf shape as the arabica plants. They also had the familiar white flowers. "These are amazing! I wonder how long it'll be before I get any fruit," I thought, as I moved the plants aside carefully.

It seemed like the more foliage I moved, the more I was confronted with. "This is impossible. I closed the door last night, and it was right here," I said, becoming a little worried.

Looking back, I saw that my exit had closed behind me. "I'm being ridiculous," I said, forcing a little laugh.

Knowing that the door had to be less than an inch away, I pushed onward. Several minutes later, I emerged into a beautiful clearing, surrounded by the strangest looking coffee plants.

I looked down. I was no longer standing on my old tan carpet, but rich, dark brown soil.

The vast array of coffee plants overwhelmed me. And they weren't limited to trees.

One species of tree had purple bark and leaves, and the fruit was almost violet. There were more of the vines I had planted - they were bearing normal looking fruit. And there was a massive shrubbery type bush, it was baby blue. Its fruit was a darker blue, with baby blue spots.

I remembered my bags, and began to fill them. One for each variety. With my arms sagging under the weight, I returned to the curtain of vines yet to bear fruit.

Several minutes later, I was back in my living room. I had to go out of the front door, and around back to access my kitchen. "That's a small price to pay for so much coffee!" I thought happily.

First, I made myself a cup of normal coffee, to start my day. Then I put the ripe fruits in the fridge, except for a small amount from each to save for seed. I would roast some on Friday night.

On Friday night, I processed all of my exotic coffee. Unable to wait for morning, I decided to start with the blue species. It was delicious!

As I gazed fondly at my favorite mug, I noticed that something was different. The mug seemed to be suspended in midair! I was holding it, but my hand and arm were invisible.

I carefully placed the mug on the table, then checked my reflection in the window - to discover that I was indeed invisible!

I'll admit that I was worried, but also excited over the possibilities. Thankfully the effects only lasted for a few hours, then I was back to normal.

The next morning, I tried the beans from the vine, the ones that looked normal. They tasted like a perfect chocolate mocha.

I began to feel light, and soon found myself pushing off from the ceiling. With a little trial and error, I discovered that I could control my flight by concentrating on where I wanted to be. I could even land, and move about normally!

I was genuinely sorry to find out that those effects wore off after a few hours as well. Unable to wait until evening to find out what the violet coffee had to offer, I eagerly tried it.

At first, I thought it hadn't done anything special, other than tasting like a delicious, fruity coffee. Then I checked my hand, in case this one also made me invisible.

I gasped in horror. My hand (and as it turned out, the rest of me as well) was violet! "Oh well, I'll just have to wait for it to wear off," I thought glumly.

It did not wear off. Feeling extremely foolish for trying these strange plants out on myself, I felt resigned to a lifetime of stares and snickers.

After a full day of hiding out indoors, I took a shower. And the color came off, the second it came in contact with the soap!

I was so relieved that I went for an evening drive, just to get out of the house. Curiosity led me back to where I had found the little road leading to the greenhouse.

The road was gone, but there was a single packet of coffee seeds there, not far from the main road.



This was originally written for the spill the beans prompt but unfortunately I didn't finish it in time. Thanks so much for the fun prompt 🙌

Cover image made in Canva using their gallery

Sort:  

🍕 PIZZA Party!

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
wrestlingdesires tipped owasco (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped carolkean (x1)
wrestlingdesires tipped elentogether (x3)
@wrestlingdesires(3/15) tipped @nickydee (x2)
wrestlingdesires tipped leaky20 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

This is wonderful! Magically real, my fave. Loved it.

I'm glad you enjoyed it, thanks so much for the reblog 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE

@owasco! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What an imagination you have! I like your story of hallucinogenic coffees 😀.

Who said that the effects weren't completely real???

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

@elentogether! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you very much @wrestlingdesires and @youarealive!

My pleasure 🙌

😮 Really?

Those plants did grow overnight :) ...

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

@elentogether! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Mmmm, they must be magical. Here we have a 5-year-old plant that is barely 1.27 meters tall and has given few fruits 😄.

That sounds like one that's just waiting to do great things in the future :) ...

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@elentogether! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Introspection sucks
If you think about it.

Credit: reddit
@elentogether, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/6)

Yes 🙂, I hope so 🙏

Clever and imaginative! Thanks to @owasco for reblogging this, or I might never have seen it.
To try new things, with no idea what the consequences may be -
our narrator is a real trooper, taking it all in stride.
The new tint to his skin washes off in the shower.
Oh how I wish all the dicey decisions we've made could so easily be rinsed off...
Thanks for a brief escape from reality. I needed it. :)

I'm glad it helped :) It was definitely fun to write

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

@carolkean! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

 last year (edited) 

Yo. You're a day late on spill the beans. We usually mute those posts but I see that you removed the tag so I guess we will let it slide 😂

Thanks :) I had it like 80% written on time, but my eyes kept trying to close 🤣 So I knew editing it properly was hopeless, and saved it until my eyes cooperated 😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LUV

@leaky20! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wrestlingdesires.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much 🙌💙🙌💙🙌

Then I came to support picture / story and found this :D

Doing a mental detox because the world got a bit too much.

So busy focusing on the magic, joy and wonder again for a while...

And found some 👍

My son would totally read a whole book of this. I think most kids would. Just saying.

My son would totally read a whole book of this. I think most kids would. Just saying.

You should check out my curated collections tab on Peakd :) ...

Sorry to hear things were tough :( ...

I'm hopefully getting the next edition up today 😂

!PIMP !PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL


You must be killin' it out here!
@wrestlingdesires just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @nickydee.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@nickydee! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Not so tough but thanks for the support you darling. 🥰

And the pimp! Always.

I'll check your collections 😁

From what I can remember, except for the Goddess and Just Down The Road ones, they're fine for kids. But those two would be more like teens on up. And Just Down The Road isn't a bedtime story 🤣

Ooooh.... it'll be my bedtime story tonight then. I like to go against the grain. Can you tell? :D

🤣 I know you do, but without spoiling it, just know from part two on the genre for that one is horror!

Oh?!

Well with loadshedding there was no reading last night

So I've been duly warned 👀😬😁