PlanDemic - Covid 19 -HDS Contest Entry

in HDS4 years ago

0.JPG

If a picture is worth a thousand words then a symbol is worth a thousand pictures. This is my entry into the First Hive Dark Side Community contest! I am proud to present you with a pencil drawing that i was able to ink up just before the deadline. Since i became pressed for time i see some things that i am not happy with... but i will wait till they are pointed out, rather than bring the flaws to your attention!

1.JPG

I definitely will never surrender to the darkside... but these have been some dark days. I tried to tell a story in symbols here. The theme was to present "Covid as an Evil Entity from a Horror Movie." I grew up watching horror movies of every kind so this community will be a nice fit for some of my art as i continue to create and offer a story behind the art.

3.JPG

Sometimes life feels like a horror movie. I figured it would be fitting to add in some controversy mixed with a healthy amount of conspiracy theory and a nice twist of end time thematic. I hope this image gives you plenty to look at for a while. I will consider making this an NFT for the showroom here on HIVE.

2.JPG

I ran out of time to color this piece but it may be fitting to have it in Black & White alone. I would love to hear in the comments what your favorite (or least favorite) part of the artwork is. I have quite a bit tucked away in here. It was quite the pleasure to express myself through this contest and it's challenge for this week. If i end up winning i would like my community title to be Giant Slayer!

Thanks for taking time to check out my art... and while you are here you should check out the other entries for the contest here in the Hive Dark Side Community Contest #1.

Sort:  

This. Yes, THIS! More of this exact thing is what is chiefly needed. I'm so pleased to know you. Thanks for sticking around as long as you have and for continuing to do the thing. @fulltimegeek and @lynds would probably love what you're up to here... nudge...

Thanks! I am so pleased that you appreciate this one. I had a fun time working on it once the creative juices were flowing. Thank you for the nudges and great conversation. Good to see you around still too! Don't forget to check out the NFTshowroom... i really think you would dig it! They have a great community of weird folks like us. :P

I love it!
My favorite part is death on his pale horse.
My not favorite part is the toxic nurse... I know there is a bunch of symbolism that i'm not catching... but nurses are everyday people just trying to earn a paycheck.

I'm seeing the general reference to government being puppets of death...but the nurse/doctor doesn't ring true....for me.

It's a great illustration and know matter how you look at it, there is chaos and conflict. well done.

Just some feedback :)

Thanks for the feedback! I was hoping to get some. My sister is a nurse, so i get what you are saying completely. I believe they are helpless frontline footsoldiers. I am extremely thankful for them and all the people that risk their own safety to care for others. That inclusion was just to represent the medical industry in general but also to express their helplessness to do anything other than what the job may require. I personally believe we are all puppets to some degree, just depends on who we call master... or if we even know who pulls our strings. Glad to see you around Doc! Death is up there waiting his turn. =) We need to get the IBT band back together man! hahaha

Be careful how much feedback you ask for. You may end up opening the feedback flood gates. :)
The new IBT is really coming along and you can demo it if you haven't already.
It looks like it is going to be really cool. Not the same as the old one, but cool anyways.
Keep rocking out those drawings my berry dude!

That's true. Plus this artwork covers many controversial topics in visual representation. I have seen some of the dissenting views within the Hive community. I definitely don't want to stir the pot TOO much... but CONSTRUCTIVE cristicism is always welcome! hahahha Wise council is a good way to improve. Yeah, i downloaded the demo in one of it's early iterations.
It was pretty cool and it's come a long way since then. It did have a tab or Old IBT so maybe that will be in the works for the future! =) Glad to see you browski!

!discovery 30

Thank you very much! You have some fantastic art yourself. =) Cheers


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 4 years ago (edited) 

Wow!!!! That's awesome!!!!! I'd love to be able to draw. I really like b&w pen and ink and I think you captured the theme well!!! The puppets.. the horseman... the syringe.. all pretty symbolic of times!!!

Thanks! I try to encourage everyone to give it a try (art) but it's harder to help from the other end of a computer. Thanks for taking the time to comment and i am glad you felt the theme was well captured. Many signs of the times for sure! =)

This is awesome

Dude, that means a lot coming from you. I figured you would know some good stuff when you see it based on knowing and appreciating Crit's works!

He would like it too. It turned out awesome.

Wow awesome... This is what I love about this community, you've obviously been around for a while, but I'm still only discovering you now. Or maybe I've just missed a lot when I was on a break, either way, loving your illustrations!!

Thank you very much! I took a break also before the split and came back to find everyone over on HIVE. I always say better late than never! =) hahahaha Glad you enjoyed the art and glad that you are back as well! You have some interesting art yourself!

My son did some stuff like this!

That's super cool to hear. You should post some of his work so we can see! =)

Definitely my fave part are the puppets on a string - maybe because it wakens a memory long time before Covid that addressed what I think should be: https://www.flickr.com/photos/artofthemystic/51289491369/

That is an awesome image you shared! The puppet is the puppet master! hahaha
I think the hand holding the control bar for the Marionette was probably one of the best elements technically as well. I like how each of the four puppets served as a thematic face for the orchestrated elements of the puppet show... medical industry, politics, law enforcement, and social movements. Good eye sir! Good Eye.