Today I saw cyclists in the city center

in SublimeSunday9 months ago

All my life I have tried to be a nonconformist, especially in my teenage years - early youth. I don't know if I really knew what it meant but it was something that seemed to be different from others. Especially to parents. Actually, it wasn't much of a science to understand what nonconformists meant. I mean I wasn't a conformist! But I don't know if I knew what conformist meant either.

That's not such a big deal after all. I mean not knowing what I thought I was. Do you think many democrats know what democracy is, or do many liberals know what it means to be liberal?

I digress a bit from what I want to say now, but that's how I get when I let loose thoughts run around in my head. Getting back to what I want to talk about today, I want to say that I thought I was a nonconformist, and now I have become a conformist. There are many facts that prove this and one of them is about the Sunday walk.

Every Sunday I walk downtown, conforming to the same schedule. A walk on Victory Avenue, coffee at the cafe on Academiei Street, a quarter of an hour of meditation at a small and very old monastery, then another walk around the building of the National Bank of Romania, all this, I forgot to say, happens in Bucharest, the city where I live.

Victory Avenue

IMG_20230709_095604.jpg
The advantage of the morning walk. The boulevard is not crowded. This boulevard is closed to traffic on Saturdays and Sundays.

IMG_20230709_095842.jpg
I found this picture funny. In front of a big hotel, a Porsche, and several... electric scooters! The past and the future?

IMG_20230709_101118.jpg
It was a Deep Purple concert. It was and is one of the rock bands I really like. Looking at the poster I realize that the band members are older than me. I didn't go to the concert. I like to stay with their image from my youth. And theirs too!

BeFunky-design (17).1.jpg

The cafe on Academiei Street

IMG_20230709_104117.jpg
The same advantage of waking up in the morning. The café is empty of customers. I'm glad about that because it's very small.

IMG_20230709_104133.jpg
Very good coffee is drunk very quickly. My wife got a short video of our granddaughter dancing at a wedding. She dances very well... I'm afraid it's not my granddaughter, haha!

IMG_20230709_104204.jpg
Baristas are resting, although they have nothing to be tired of. They are waiting for customers who are tourists staying at nearby hotels who want to have a real coffee after breakfast!

BeFunky-design (17).1.jpg

The very old monastery

IMG_20230709_110126.jpg
Stavropoleus Monastery, it really is old. Built in 1700. A place of peace and quiet in the middle of a place of perdition, like the Old City of Bucharest.

IMG_20230709_110136.jpg
A bicycle parked near the monastery seems to anticipate what I will see later.

BeFunky-design (17).1.jpg

The National Bank of Romania

IMG_20230709_105820.jpg
Established in 1880, it is the 13th oldest central bank in the world. The entire Old Town area, where this building is located, has been a commercial part of the city for hundreds of years. Under the buildings and under the streets are the older buildings. In front of the bank, you can see the ruins under the ground.

IMG_20230709_105803.jpg
I would like to see as many of the relics under the streets as possible, but unfortunately, it is not possible, they would have to block some roads or demolish buildings.

BeFunky-design (17).1.jpg

Cyclists in the city center

IMG_20230709_105858.jpg
Here I met a group of tourists on bikes and was a bit surprised by this.

IMG_20230709_105903.jpg
This whole area is pedestrian, it's a walking area and I see that only cars are not allowed to circulate but I think that bicycles should not have access either. There is a danger of accidents.

IMG_20230709_105909.jpg
After all, they were an unusual presence and took advantage of the fact that bicycle access is not well-regulated in Bucharest.

BeFunky-design (17).1.jpg

I became a conformist. I think that happened a long time ago and I didn't realize it. In the end, I'm glad I didn't remain a nonconformist, or rather, I think these two notions are mixed, they both exist, I think in the behavior of all people.

BeFunky-design (17).1.jpg

Written for #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a and #BeautifulSunday by @ace108!

xet.png

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Mm.. I think I can call myself a nonconformist or have an anarchist soul in me since the childhood. I like to think and do unordinary or unusual things. I have a right to question or criticize things accepted to be valid in any society.

I am not a nonconformist
Nice pictures!!!
I see that you enjoyed your day

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Most of the time, I prefer going out early because of the reasons you stated too!

I can enjoy taking pictures, savoring the moments when not crowded.

I myself am very fond of riding a bicycle and its benefits are also very high, the health of a person is very good and a person can avoid many diseases and we can see that these people go on their bicycles. And the races that happen are also very intense and people work very hard.

Always the early bird get the coffee table.


Upvoted by the Cycling Community


image.png**

Come join the Cycling Community and share your rides, bicycle, maintenance, news or any other cycling related blogs!

You can support the Cycling Community by delegating HP: 25 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP -250 HP - 500 HP

Thank you!