🙌🏽Sublime Sunday🙌🏽 An excuse to post your random, creative or crazy ideas by - @c0ff33a ☕️

in SublimeSunday2 years ago

Welcome to #SublimeSunday , a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy and instigated by me @c0ff33a ☕️

First up though is a #beautifulsunday (hosted by @ace108) photo with a #funkyedit (hosted by @krazypoet) with Saturation to the Max.

IMG_2260.jpeg

This might be Shibden Hall a few years ago, but it's actually how the weather has been this week - very cold but often blue skies so it looks nice out - and then you go out and realise it's 4 degrees celcius and you need a few layers to not turn to mr frosty - well I do anyway the young whippersnappers are still out in t-shirts - brrrrrr

IMG_7462.jpeg

The snow is on the way though, this snap from February this year could be repeated if the forecast is correct - 80 mph winds too it's going to be a wild weekend.

This weeks major unfortunate event has been the roller shutter at work, which on Monday afternoon decided to not stop at it's usual point just before the end of the guides it rests in - and instead pop out above them. This was not helped by the warehouse staff deciding trying to put it back down outside the tracks - so they got it a fair way down before they realised it was broke and then left me to fix it - thanks!

IMG_5238.jpeg

For reference here is the roller shutter, this is my big green 30kg roasting machine being delivered by moffet - that's a fork lift truck that sits on the back of the lorry until needed - they are nifty machines. Anyway the point in question is the roller shutter - you can see it has stopped close to the top of it's guides - but crucially still in them. When I got to it Monday afternoon it was quarter way down and flapping around like a fish out of water - even if you got it all the way to the floor it wouldn't stop a granny from pushing it aside and walking in let alone the local crack heads who seem intent on trying to smash their way in at the moment.

So I needed to get it back into it's tracks - and to do that I needed to get it back up near the top - I had a ladder propped against the wall and was leaning over to press the up controls to get it back up so I could guide it into position. It did go up - but I think it must have got a little concertinaed and as it went above me it freed itself enough to drop a little - right onto my head! It did not knock me out - but was enough of a bash to leave me reeling on the ladder - I thought I had got away with a knock but quickly felt a warm trickle down my face which proved to be blood - straight to the toilet to grab some toilet roll for the leaking wound - leaving a blood trail behind me. I don't know if it is a known measure for blood loss - but I used an entire toilet roll trying to get the blood loss down to a level where I was no longer dripping everywhere - that seemed alot. And then I had to head back up the ladder, one hand holding toilet roll on my leaking wound - to finish off actually fixing the roller shutter as it was now dark and the crack heads would be circling soon. I managed it one handed, raided the first aid kit for a medical patch to cover the offending gash held down with some medical tape - none of this easy when you can't actually see what you are covering because it's on the top of your head!

IMG_6400.jpeg

Big green 30kg roasting machine in place for reference. So after patching my own head up, it had got to 5.30pm and was time to go home - so I headed off looking like I had just started to become Jewish and wear a kippah - it wouldn't have been so bad if I didn't have to deliver some coffee to Cha Cha Chai and then scan thirty odd parcels into the inpost lockers - I would have waited until the morning but I wasn't totally convinced I would be in any state to do them then - so thought I better get the orders on the way while I was still walking wounded.

IMG_6511.jpeg

So I made it home anyway, and managed to hold off the family from nosing under my makeshift head covering until it was far too late at night for me to be expected to go to a hospital - and of course they took one look and said that gash is horrendous you must go to hospital or you will die! I was not convinced as it was now 10pm at night and I obviously had survived a good six hours after the incident and was no longer leaking claret - so I meekly promised I would head to hospital after getting the work I had to do done in the morning.

IMG_0483.jpeg

But I had loads of roasting to do, so had to start the 30kg at 8am to have a chance of getting it all done by lunch. Plus orders kept coming in - so by the time I left work at 1pm I also had two big deliveries to the Piece Hall to do and another drop before heading to the hospital.

So I finally made it to the hospital for 1.30pm and to be fair on the UK NHS - the whole visit took 2 hours - which compared to our news claiming 12 hours waiting times was excellent - of course a minor injury is different to more serious issues and if you don't need to be admitted they seem quite keen to get rid of you. The nurse was of course excellent, quickly cleaning the wound with something that stung causing more pain then the roller shutter did - pointing out the next time I decided to get hit on the head by the roller shutter I should go straight away because it's easier to clean - like I'm planning on making gashing my head open a regular occurance. I did point out I was trying to help the NHS by not turning up with a non emergency - and that it's quite hard for someone to tell if something is an emergency when it's on the top of their head and they can not see it. I think that was appreciated because she stopped using the highly stinging stuff and just squirted a load of glue in my gash to set it, grabbed some antibiotics just in case the dirty roller shutter caused infection and then sent me on my way.

IMG_7706.jpeg

And that was just a part of my week! Some lovely daffodils to wish Spring here - even though it's 3 months away I can always wish.

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

We run five Hive servers, two Witness Servers, Hivemind Instance, Full Account History Node, FAT Node
https://api.c0ff33a.uk our full API server to use with your dapps and front end
https://hiveblog.c0ff33a.uk Our own condenser front end, exclusively using our own API server to access the Hive Blockchain. For the best experience use on Brave Browser with Hive Keychain plugin.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @lucksacks.com , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Lucksacks Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain. #teamuk tag and Brits discord is exclusively for use by United Kingdom Hive accounts or ex pats living abroad

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

Catch me live and unleashed every week on @threespeak with my c0ff33 vlogs

created by @derangedvisions

Sort:  

Wow-what a story! That head injury could have had a much worse outcome, especially there by yourself. As the owner, you really shoulder the burden of getting things done, even in the face of adversity. Probably a good thing you eventually did make it to ER and get it properly cleaned and some antibiotics.
Sounds like you have a recurring problem with the crackheads, which made it all the more urgent to get your door fixed before nightfall.
You have quite the operation there. Do you only sell coffee beans or do you sell any of it ground? I might need to invest in a grinder and take up a subscription!

Hi @c0ff33a,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

These daffodils are really nice.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Wow! What beautiful daffodils, despite the weather the shots have been very nice.

You definitely had a rough 24 48+ hours and were very lucky nothing more severe happened while you were alone at work with a gash in your head oozing blood down your face and body. With all the blood loss you could've easily fainted. I thought for sure I would read that you required stitches at the hospital. Glad that wasn't the case. In the end, "all's well that ends well" as the saying goes!

Btw I totally love the second photo with the snow looking all pretty & "fancy like" on the fence! Excellent click!❄

Been meaning to ask if you and the boys have ever heard of or watched the series called "Ted Lasso"? I watched it with my son over his Fall break last week and thought of you guys. It's really good (in my opinion.)

Hope you're having a better work week and staying safe!☕