Jets v Sharks Down at the Lido

in SublimeSunday3 months ago (edited)

The temperature has dropped quite a bit these last few days. Another cold day today as I walked down to the village ponds to feed the birds. I could hear the little robin before I spotted it in the tree. It was singing away to itself.

I threw some seed on the ground but it waited for me to move away before it helped itself.

I noticed a couple of swans had landed at the lido. There is already a bonded pair here for most of the year round (give or take a couple of months). They wouldn't allow the visitors on to the lido.

They kept their beady eyes on the interlopers.

It was a bit like the Jets v Sharks from West Side Story at one point. I don't think they will be able to sneak on to the water, so the visiting pair will be on their way soon.

The Canada geese are still here. The swans don't seem to mindthesm. They naturally tend to stay out of the water though, so they're not much of a threat.

It was good to see the first signs of spring with the blossom of the blackthorn bush coming through. The white flowers have suddenly appeared. They certainly brighten the place up. In a few weeks, the area will look so different. Hopefully, better weather is on the way.

Update: I found out today, that an animal sanctuary had to come out, as one of the visiting swans got attacked which we assumed was by the others. It was taken to the vets and it looked as though it had been bitten by a dog. Hopefully, it should be ok now and returned to its mate.

#sublimesunday is inspired by @c0ff33a and #beautifulsunday is initiated by @ace108.

Sort:  

I saw daffodils and yellow Crocus a few days ago and it made me so happy thinking spring is knocking at the door. I will take a walk near the canals soon to see swans and flowers. March and April will be the best time to see the flowers.

Lovely photographs and I hope you have enjoyed your Sunday walk...

I think we all need a little sunshine and flowers now. Canal walks are great as they're flat. 😁

Cute little robin. I hope the injured swan recovers well and rejoins its mate soon.

Me too. Will go and check tomorrow. 🥰