Sublime Sunday - A Very Short Bloom Time - by Sunscape

in SublimeSunday22 days ago

hivegarden- flowers-5.jpg

Between Mother's Day and Memorial Day, is when all the Peony bushes are in full bloom. This week was no different and the beautiful, huge flowers are putting on a magnificent display.

hivegarden-flowers-peony-c.jpg

I always get excited when the garden comes alive with all the pretty shades of color. Today, I will share with you one of my favorite flowers.

hivegarden-flowers-peony-d.jpg

I love the Scarlet or Ruby Red color of the tree peony that has already lost its blooms earlier this week. The pink peony with the bee has just opened most of the flowers.

hivegarden-flowers-peony-h.jpg

These flowers are an offshoot from one of my tree peonies and are so different. The shoots have emerged from the bases of the tree peony and are probably genetics from the parents of that variety

hivegarden-flowers-peony-a.jpg

I happened to see the ants working at opening the buds of this frilly peony. I love this one and have saved her frills in the past. I dried them and used them in bath salts for a lovely effect.

hivegarden-flowers-peony-b.jpg

This white peony was given to me by a friend about 20 years ago. She had it in her garden for 30 years and received a division from her mother's garden. Needless to say, she has been around for many years now. I have divided it three times myself and have it throughout my gardens.

hivegarden-flowers-peony-e.jpg

I almost lost this salmon peony a few years back. I purchased it from a nursery online and it came bareroot. It was such a small piece that it struggled for 4 years to grow. I finally moved it to another garden and apparently, she is happier in her new location and seems to be thriving now.

hivegarden-flowers-peony-f.jpg

What is interesting about her is how she changes color as the blossoms age. Can you believe the difference when it first blooms to turning to a soft peach as it finishes blooming?

hivegarden- flowers-10.jpg

I am glad I walked around and captured them when I did as we had torrential rainfall all day yesterday and now the flowers are pretty beaten up. It is not too surprising considering most Memorial Day weekends here in western, New York are often rainy. ;-)

I honestly can't say which is my favorite one. I love them all in their unique way and find myself musing every time a plant blossoms in my garden at how amazing nature is.

Let me know if you feel the same way and if one of them speaks to your heart specifically. I hope you have enjoyed this #beautifulsunday post for this week because they are all so beautiful. Enjoy your weekend everyone!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

I honestly can't say which is my favorite one. I love them all in their unique way.

Same here. All the flowers bloomed beautifully. 😊

Fantastic!

Yes.😊😊

They are all so delicate and beautiful and I'm sure, fragrance-ful too. I couldn't make a choice.

Hi Edith, I love all the peonies the same. I can't pick a favorite.

Beautiful flowers! You have got green fingers! Amazing display of nature.

Thank you so much, I do enjoy my gardens as nature is so beautiful.

A nice galore of many variety all blooming together. Sure would brighten your day.

They sure do brighten my day and the gardens are stunning right now. Thank you for dropping by today, @ace108. ♥

You're welcome

Mine is just starting to open! You have such lovely colors on all of yours! My favorite is the soft pink one.

Enjoy your peonies, I still have one more that is just opening as it is in a shady location. The weather has been perfect to enjoy them.

Beautiful soft pink flowers. I can imagine how chic and delicious the scent is there.

You are right! The yard smells amazing with all the flowers blooming.

How lovely to see these beautiful flowers in your garden. I got attracted to the scarlet or ruby red color. 🫶

Hi cup-bearer, the ruby peony has the largest flowers and is stunning for sure.

Congratulations @sunscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 16000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP