First walk with my new lens

in PhotoFeed2 years ago

There's only one type of lens that I really like on my cameras, besides my trusty RF70-200 f2.8, and that's the extreme lenses!
When I say extreme lenses, I'm talking the wide angle lenses, the macro (or extreme macro) lenses, and the tele lenses (200 and up, much up!). In that respect, I recently bought the Canon RF 800 f11 lens, after reading a review of it, which was fairly positive. Well, positive, describing it as a great lens regarding quality, but the writer of the review highly doubted that there is any practical use for such a lens.
Now, if you take into account that I mostly come to the conclusion that I find my trusty 200 "too short", you can image that I can find some uses for the 800mm...

When you need to frame a subject tightly and can't get closer, due to:

physical barriers (streams, cliffs, fences, etc.)
legislated barriers (lines on a field, property boundaries, etc.)
a subject that does not tolerate closer photographers (skittish birds, for example)
impacting subject behavior (such as the natural activity of wildlife)
safety reasons (dangerous wildlife, high-speed vehicles, etc.)
stealth requirements (such as for law enforcement missions)
a requirement to avoid being a viewing obstruction (such as getting in front of the audience at a venue)
you might need an 800mm lens, and, if this lens's f/11 aperture suits your need (more about that later), the RF 800mm lens might be the right choice.

When you want to capture a compressed look from a distant perspective, you might want an 800mm lens. When you want to create a strong background blur, isolating a subject from an otherwise-distracting background, an 800mm lens might be just right.

So the day I got it, was the day I went out for another one of my daily walks, but this time, with the Canon R5 and the RF800 f11 around my neck.
Let me share with you some of the results of that first test of this great new lens, and let me know in the comments how you feel about it!

KU7A5494.jpg

KU7A5500.jpg

KU7A5540.jpg

KU7A5554.jpg

Shot with Canon EOS R5 and RF800 f11 lens (https://shor.by/BBphoto for the gear I'm using!).
All photos are taken by me. If you want to know more, head to https://beheydt.be/en/photography or https://shor.by/BjB for more info.

Feel free to follow me on Instagram too! https://instagram.com/bjornbeheydt

Sort:  

Wow that is quite a lens you got! Great pictures, beautiful details and bokeh, especially on the bird.

Indeed! I was also quite impressed by its performance!
Watch my timeline, I’m posting some b&w pictures from the same lens later on today ;-)

Cool pics, just yesterday was thinking of getting a long lense.

I used to own the 100-400, and liked it. But this beast is killing it!
But it also depends on your shooting style of course… but I came to the conclusion that I use it quite a lot!

Good use of this lens in terms of quality and color realism. Patience to capture the moment is a virtue of a great photographer, and these photographs have shown that you can get it.

Tu post ha sido votado por @celf.magazine, proyecto curatorial y revista digital sobre arte y cultura en Hive. Únete a nuestra comunidad y comparte tu talento con nosotros.
Your post has been voted by @celf.magazine, curatorial project and digital magazine about art and culture in Hive. Join our community and share your talent with us.



Thank you very much for the kind words, and the feature!
As for the patience part, true, and while having it already, it still needs some work ;-)

This is an awesomely awesome shot @borniet. The lens is really a high resolution quality.

Thank you very much John! Yes indeed, the thing is amazing! If you want to see more, check out my profile, I have just posted another set shot with it ;-) (https://ecency.com/hive-142159/@borniet/monochrome-zoo)

Alright @borniet.
I will check it out.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.