Welcome to the Alien world of Lomography Purple

in PhotoFeed2 years ago

For those of you that know my work elsewhere on the internet, you know I like to shoot film as well. Film has a uniqueness that is hard to describe - but I'll save that rant for a different day. What I wanted to share with you all today is a peculiar film stock called lomochrome purple, and what I've noticed while shooting it.

The emulsion was created by the folks over at Lomography as a color negative emulsion. You can see their website description here - Lomography.com/lomochrome_purple

They created it with the intent of mimicking one of the world famous infrared films Aerochrome. Aerochrome was originally made for military usage to help with the spotting of military vehicles hidden within vegetation. The film has high infrared sensitivity reportedly up to 900nm. This means plants all turned a stunning vibrant red, and vehicles and buildings remained dark. The idea was that this would help the military see between the trees easier to spot potential enemies.

Social Media_Dyptre_2450.jpg
A friend poses next to the remnants of an old growth stump - North Vancouver

But as you can see from these images - that's not quite what lomochrome purple does. Instead of turning greens vibrant red, lomography stopped at purple. Generally speaking, greens become purple, blues a more cyan blue, and reds and are untouched. Purple colors generally become pure white. A large reason for this is that instead of using older mercury based development techniques, lomography opted for current c41 processing to make it more accessible to the general public.

Social Media_Dyptre_2461.jpg
Ocean Drive - Vancouver

One of the more interesting things is how this film captures light. As you look through some of these images you'll notice the largely pink tint that most buildings have. I've also noticed some vegetation is untouched, like this next image where the grass remains green, yet the trees and reeds have turned vibrant purple. You'll notice in the photo labelled Vancouver Special that the flowers appear near white. That's because these are dark red roses, making them appear nearly white.

Social Media_Dyptre_2456.jpg
Stanley Park - Vancouver

Another observation I've made is how light affects the amount of purple. In the Olympic Village photograph its clearly seen how the light striking the trees directly impacts the purple effect. The leaves left in shadow show very little shift towards purple and stay almost green instead. I wonder if this is similar to the reason for the green grass in the photo mentioned above. However I can't remember how the light was cast on the scene unfortunately.

Social Media_Dyptre_2460.jpg
English Bay - Vancouver

Social Media_Dyptre_2433.jpg
Vancouver Special - East Vancouver

Social Media_Dyptre_2457.jpg
Stanley Park - Vancouver

Social Media_Dyptre_2434.jpg
Queen Elizabeth Park - Vancouver

Social Media_Dyptre_2466.jpg
Olympic Village - Vancouver

Social Media_Dyptre_2469.jpg
Kitsilano - Vancouver

I hope you've enjoyed this look at this alien like film stock - if you happen to see any other peculiar traits that this film stock seems to create I'd love to know them. I hope to shoot another roll of this interesting film again in the future. It's results completely surprised me!

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @dyptre! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This lomochrome idea is a very interesting one. I notice this pink tint and it kinda makes the whole photo look very interesting.

!discovery 20


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Lomo is great! A friend of mine was a super Lomo geek a few years ago. I should ask him about it now and try to bring him to Hive.

good work

Thank you! Ya, Lomochrome has to be the strangest film type I've ever used. But it had me curious enough to buy a second roll for a future project too

Love Vancouver! Beautiful shots. These remind me a lot of @dawnoner and full spectrum photography, like the one below! BEER!

Infrared photography is exactly why I wanted to try this film. I've never played with full spectrum myself, I feel like that's TOO much data to deal with haha but someday I want to convert a camera to shoot only 720nm images

I built this little guy with stuff I had already from other projects. It's not high rez but it gets me into the space. Speaking of, I need to put some more time into the software to really get the output where it needs to be. Keep up the great work here!

https://peakd.com/hive-163089/@thethoughtpolice/noir-camera-scratch-build