Milky Water - Looong Exposure Photography

in PhotoFeed2 years ago

In my last post, which was quite a while ago, I have told you that I like long exposure photography of waterfalls where you still can see the texture of the flowing water. Well, I have to admit that I like the very opposite too 😁

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Johann Piber

Milky Water
Long Exposure Photography

So, in this post you will see quite a lot water that looks like a river of milk, but at first I show you a quite normal one.

About 3 weeks ago, I took photos of the Soča River in Slovenia and when I took the image below at an exposure time of 1/6 seconds, I thought I could give it a try and put a ND filter on my lens to increase the exposure time just to see what it might look like ... I was just curious 😉

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Well, after 30 seconds my camera showed me the following image on the display and I kind of liked it.
Of course, it's not the kind of waterfall images I usually take and which I rarely will take in future, but I can imagine that sometimes I'll give it another try, depending on the situation.

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

And because I liked that shot, I made some more long exposure shots of single rocks in the raging water, which you can see below. The first two were shot with a quite fast of better said "normal" shutter speed of 1/3 and 1/2 second.

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The next 4 images, which I have taken at the same place as the above images, were all taken with a shutter speed of 30 seconds. Of course I could have extended the shutter speed even more by adding a darker ND filter and use the Bulb mode on my camera, but I thought this was "milky" enough for my eyes ... I might try such longer shutter speeds next time though 😉

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Soča River in Slovenia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Nature and Art

I.
The young queen Nature, ever sweet and fair,
Once on a time fell upon evil days.
From hearing oft herself discussed with praise,
There grew within her heart the longing rare
To see herself; and every passing air
The warm desire fanned into lusty blaze.
Full oft she sought this end by devious ways,
But sought in vain, so fell she in despair,

For none within her train nor by her side
Could solve the task or give the envied boon.
So day and night, beneath the sun and moon,
She wandered to and fro unsatisfied,
Till Art came by, a blithe inventive elf,
And made a glass wherein she saw herself.

II.
Enrapt, the queen gazed on her glorious self,
Then trembling with the thrill of sudden thought,
Commanded that the skilful wight be brought
That she might dower him with lands and pelf.
Then out upon the silent sea-lapt shelf
And up the hills and on the downs they sought
Him who so well and wondrously had wrought;
And with much search found and brought home the elf.
But he put by all gifts with sad replies,

And from his lips these words flowed forth like wine:
"O queen, I want no gift but thee," he said.
She heard and looked on him with love-lit eyes,
Gave him her hand, low murmuring, "I am thine,"
And at the morrow's dawning they were wed.

by Paul Laurence Dunbar
to his friend Charles Booth Nettleton.

The weekend before last, I have visited a gorge about 1.5 hours drive from home where I haven't been before. I got there 2 hours before the the official opening, so I paid the entrance fee when I returned.

I wonder why I haven't been there before, because the Garnitzenklamm is a gorgeous gorge with beautiful waterfalls, awesome rocks and amazing textured rocks and rockfaces and it's a really nice hike.

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Garnitzenklamm - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I know there's not much of milky water to see, because I primarily wanted to photograph these interesting textured rocks, but a little bit is visible.

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Garnitzenklamm - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I like the next shot most of all images above. There was a lot of churned white water flowing fast towards this rock in the middle of the river and right after the rock it got somehow clear and dark.

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Garnitzenklamm - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

And at the end of my post I want to show you my favourite photo from the hike through the Garnitzenklamm which I also have taken with a longer shutter speed of 1.3 seconds because it was quite dark down there.

Milky Water - Long Exposure Photography - Garnitzenklamm - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
wishing you all a wonderful week ahead,
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace and on the Foundation Plattform

>>> Twitter/JohannPiber <<<

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free here! or here or here

2022-07-17
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.600682 lat 13.362757 long 20220715-garnitzenklamm d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @joanstewart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very last photograph captures entirety of texture in rock and water flow, my favourite in this content post.

Earlier photography different with milky effect exposing rock features more, picking out colour definition to greater detail.

Another outing reaping rewards.

!LUV
!LOLZ

What do they call a cubic zirconia in Ireland?
A sham-rock.

Credit: reddit
@johannpiber, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
Release your inner Rock Star with Rising Star! The best #play2earn game on Hive! Play for Free!
(1/6)

The last one is also my favourite, but I have said that in my post anyway 😉
From time to time I'll certainly try such ling shutterspeeds, but I love the more natural looking photos I usually take.
Thanks so much kindly for everything, Joan, hopefully your week has started well and will be beautiful 😊🌞


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

Seeing droplets at bottom of waterfall making it more realistic to me is great challenge to obtain. Milky flow looks appealing from long exposure, creating more art than photographic finish. Well that's just me....

Gorgeous either way it's nature isn't it!

!LOLZ
!LUV

Elevator jokes are the best
They just work on so many levels.

Credit: reddit
@johannpiber, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @joanstewart
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/6)

You said it right - it's more art than photographic and so I completely agree with you. I prefer the more realistic images anyway and such "artistic" ones are just for fun 😀


Cheers and !BEER

Fun always had when trying something different, it keeps us outdoors that little longer zoned into focusing, then trying to remember what we did when an amazing shot pops up on our desktop.

!WINEX
!PIZZA

Trying something new is always fun and if it turns out even better than you thought the fun will stay. Of course you should remember how you got such an amazing shot 😎 !LOLZ


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

A dated a ghoul once but I had to break up with her.
She had a mean spirit

Credit: reddit
@joanstewart, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @johannpiber
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/8)

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @johannpiber.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.168


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Good morning dear @johannpiber☀️

I missed your photos. I enjoyed your exlotitura..and the water that became fog...

Island in the fog...

I like the poem a lot...😊

And of course amazing waterfalls to finish...🥰

I'm glad that after all the hard days you came up with such a good post🤗

I wish you a great day ☀️🌻☀️

Good evening @Suzana72,

I was tired, had no time and often just wasn't in the mood - I know these are weak excuses to post seldom, but that's all I have 🙃

Thank you so much kindly for the lovely words you have found again for my post and for the photos, I always appreciate such nice compliments 😊

Wishing you also a great evening and a wonderful rest of the week 🌞🤗


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

Good evening and good night @johannpiber

My day was long....

You're most welcome ☀️

When you're tired, you're of no use... And I'm not inspired...
Maybe you need a break...

After the break, fresh ideas come...🤗

Thank you very much 🤗

And I wish great day and rest of the weeked too ☀️🤗🌸

Three days later: Good evening @Suzana72 😀

I have had busy days and two hikes ... I'm feeling good and am planning another hike for tomorrow morning.

Hopefully you're enjoying a wonderful weekend 😊🌞


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

😊 Good day @johannpiber🤗

You finally have time for hiking... and today... I'm happy for you... 😊

But I envy you a little, because here it's too hot and only for swimming to survive....

Enjoy this hike and the day...☀️🌸

Thanks a lot 🤗

Hi @Suzana72,

well, it was raining in the morning, so I stayed at home to enjoy a lazy day ... editing photos and catching up with notifications and comments 😉

The rain has cooled everything a little bit, but it's already getting hot again, so I'm in the same boat as you are ... enjoy the Sunday anyway, maybe in a cool lake 🌞🏊‍♀️


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

Hi @johannpiber 😊

At least you cooled off, and I believe that lying in the house came in handy....
🤗
Since the cold weather, we only saw clouds 🤣

It was my working weekend, but last night I went to the lake to cool off... So at least the end of the day was nice...🌸

Thank you very much, just let this great heat pass and it will be easier...🤗

On Saturday, the thermometer showed over fifty degrees... And officially 38 🤣

Have a nice day ☀️🌸🌻

Thank you very much, and I wish you an easy working week with nice temperatures....☀️🐝🌼

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

I love the soft, silken look of the water! I'm having trouble with my shutter speeds... my water does not look soft. More patience.

Your shots arenwonderful and im so.glad you like to shoot waterfalls!

I shoot mostly when it's still darker in the mornings around sunrise, so the camera needs a longer shutterspeed anyway, but with neutral density filters I could extend the exposure time up to even hours ... if I was patient enough to wait for so long 😉

Thank you so much kindly that you like the shots, Denise, that gives me motivation to try such long long exposures egain 😊


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

They are all wonderful milky images and the last photo is awesome, Hannes. You have a great eye for detail with the textured rocks and seconded last photo with water flowing around the rock.

Wishing you a wonderful day dear Hannes. Keep cool 😎 🤗

It’s raining here this morning and feels good. ☔️

Thanks so much kindly for your nice words and everything, dear Jo, I really appreciate your compliments a lot 🤗

We have had another hot day, but I have told you that already and also that we are expecting the next cooling rain at the weekend. I'm glad that you have got some of the cool wet stuff from above already - enjoy your cool Tuesday 😊


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Ooooh how I love long exposure water photography! She is so fluffy and silky.😊👍
Thanks for sharing!

And I'm starting to love it too. I think I will practice it a little more next time when I go out.
Thanks so much for your lovely comment, @ratel, wishing you a great start into a wonderful week 🌞


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Absolutely gorgeous set @johannpiber! I particularly like the close ups of the rocks, very beautiful and minimal. Great post! :)

Thanks a million, Cath, your compliment means a lot to me 😊


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

You're most welcome. Thanks so much for the !PIZZA :o)

... and a !BEER makes the meal complete 😉


Hey @cathgothard, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Jewels in a cream. I like it.

Oh, that sounds lovely - thanks so much for these nice words, my friend 😊


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Very nice photos!! Now I am thirsty!lol

You would love this crystal clear water - it's cool and refreshing 😀
Thank you so much kindly, dear @kaminchan 😊


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

Yup! I thought you were going to send me a bottle of water! 🙀😂

They say the water has to stay here,
so all I can send is virtual !BEER 😉

Oh! It’s forbidden to take water to another land! I will have to visit the source one day!

Oh yes, we tell all the people how good our water tastes and hope they come visiting us and try it here 😃


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

Thanks for the tip!
You could export bottle water and make some money! 😂

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @kaminchan, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thanks for the tip!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 115 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
6

Thank you so much kindly, dear @pixresteemer, much appreciated 😊


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks a million @pinmapple, you support is much appreciated 😊

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @drakernoise.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That's so kind of you, @drakernoise, thank you so much for the boost 😊


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @ecency, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
johannpiber tipped redheadpei (x1)
johannpiber tipped cathgothard (x1)
johannpiber tipped joanstewart (x2)
@johannpiber(14/15) tipped @suzana72 (x6)
johannpiber tipped ratel (x1)
joanstewart tipped johannpiber (x1)
johannpiber tipped dswigle (x1)
johannpiber tipped qwerrie (x1)
cathgothard tipped johannpiber (x1)
johannpiber tipped kaminchan (x2)

Join us in Discord!