Phantom Road - chapter 11 - Ash Creek

in Web Novels3 years ago

ashcreek_01_phantom_road_02_ready_6x9_complete_1600.jpg

(previously...)

11

.
The salted, smoked meat sliced from the joints that hung from the rafters was really good, Zenna realized as she took another nibble. It was tough on her teeth, so she only took a little at a time.

“I would know who my guest is, eh,” her host said as he took another bite, looking at her, his blue eyes warm and curious.

“I’m Zenna. I live in Ash Creek.”

“Why were ya out here?”

“Taking pictures?” she offered, showing him her camera. “Then my car broke down.”

“What do ya do fer a livin’?”

“I’m just a sales clerk at Baxter’s Rod & Barrel – nothing exciting. What about you?”

“I’m Matt. I jis’ live here, quietly, alone… until now.”

“Do you sell furs or something?” She dug a strand of meat from between her teeth.

“Sometimes. I have a friend who comes an’ checks on me from time ta time. He takes my furs, mushrooms, anyteen I have excess of an’ sells it fer me, returns wid tings like salt an’ dish detergent. Soap… I don’ make soap.”

“Why do you live here rather than in town?”

“I’m afraid I can’ tell ya dat until I know I can trust ya.”

“What do you have to fear from me? You’re the one with the gun. You know where we are – I don’t.”

“When I know I can trust ya, ya will understand my reasons.”

“A dangerous criminal, obviously!” Zenna teased.

His eyes darkened. “Ya can leave if ya don’ trust me. Ya can take yer chances in da cold… or wid da cougar.”

“I have to trust you, but you don’t have to trust me? What’s fair about that?” she challenged. “You could rape and kill me. You’re much stronger than me and you have a gun.”

“Ya could cost me my freedom.”

“What did you do?” she asked more softly, gnawing on the piece of meat again. “I won’t tell anyone.”

“Nuteen,” he replied painfully. “Believe me; I did nuteen ta deserve my banishment. But bedder ta be free up here wid nuteen ta my name – dan ta be behind bars fer someteen I didn’ do! Eventually, da statute of limitations expires an’ dey can’ do anyteen more ta me… except tarnish my name furder.”

Zenna looked at him, wondering for a moment whether she could believe him, trust him… If she were in town again tomorrow, would she turn him in? At least, it wasn’t a charge of rape – there was no statute of limitations on that. She held her hand out in a gesture of acceptance… a truce.

He took her hand and squeezed it. He smiled. “Tank ya. I’m a good man, I promise ya.”

“I believe you. A bad man would have already made me regret leaving the road.”

“A bad man would have raped yer purdy butt, den left ya on da road ta git mown down by da phantom trucker. Ya wouldn’ve been da first, eh.”

Zenna wondered at the gruff description mixed with the compliment. He couldn’t be that bad. But now, her mouth was dry, she looked around for any kind of drink.

He must have sensed her need as he handed her his water bottle. She gratefully took a gulp, then took another bite of the meat.

“So, when’s yer boyfriend gonna come looking fer ya?” he asked. “Is he gonna try ‘n kill me?”

She shook her head.

“No boyfriend? Are all da men of Ash Creek blind dese days?!”

She giggled. “I had a boyfriend a few months ago… but he found someone new… someone more exciting. Someone who didn’t bug him about wanting kids, I guess.”

“I remember boys like dat,” Matt replied. “I wouldn’ call dem men, of course. Dey want all da fun, but none of da responsibility. Sissies.”

“Yep,” she replied with a nod, remembering what John had been like – exactly that. “Except now she’s pregnant and supposedly he’s marrying her.”

“I’m sorry, Sounds like he didn’ deserve ya,” he said, scooting closer. He put his arm around her. She didn’t pull away, rather she enjoyed his strong and comforting warmth against her bare arms. “I need ta go outside fer a minute,” he said, letting go and standing.

She watched him go, but turned away when she heard him unzip his pants. The sounds of liquid made her realize that he was urinating just outside the hut.

He came back in a few minutes later. “Dat’s bedder!”

“You didn’t use the hole.”

“I was using da opportunity ta mark my territory. Dat cougar could tear apart my hut an’ steal my meat widout any difficulty, but he won’ because he knows it’s my territory an’ I will kill him if he breaches it.”

Matt sat next to Zenna again, his arm going around her just as quickly. “Dis is bedder dan comin’ across a cougar kill!” he murmured into her ear.

“What is?”

“Companionship. It’s easy ta forgit how nice it is ta hear anoder voice – especially dat of a woman. It’s been four years since I heard a female voice!”

Zenna’s mind went into overtime trying to remember any high-profile court case of a fugitive named Matt. Four years ago, she was a freshman in high school. She wasn’t paying attention to all the headlines.

Maybe he knew what she was thinking or maybe he was already thinking of other things. His lips pressed against her ear. She froze, unable to think of anything other than the kisses on her ear and his tongue tracing the shape of it. The intimate contact sent a shiver of pleasure through her body.

He reached her earring, pulling on her ear lobe slightly with his teeth. Then he kissed her neck, then up to her jawline, tracing it all the way to her mouth.

Zenna met his lips with an eagerness that surprised her. She loved his soft touch, the way his lips caressed hers, the way his tongue asked for permission – which she granted, parting her lips for him.

His tongue explored her mouth gently, like the touch of a lover, undemanding. It was completely different than it had been with John, whose lovemaking was demanding and selfish.

“I can’t!” Zenna cried out, breaking off the kiss and pulling away. She heard the moan of the wind as it picked up outside, but it was unable to drown out the gale of confusion inside Zenna’s mind and heart.

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to chapter 1
Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase (in print) at Amazon. Ebook version coming soon. (As soon as Draft2Digital formulates the link.)

Image Credits

Matthew Nygaard
Genesis 8 by DAZ 3D Studio
Myles Beard by AprilYSH (sold through DAZ)
Adrian Hair by yitao0526 (sold through DAZ)
Hunt Pants by DragonBreath
Native American top by Pusey Designs
.

Zenna Williams
Genesis 8
Mitzy hair
Basic Wear by DAZ

Set
willow trees by Stonemason
fallen tree by Hivewire
grass by Erock 3D
background image from Pixabay


Previous Stories:

Catch up on LBRY.

Location:

Ash Creek is a fictitious town in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. I've attempted to keep the spirit of the people as well as make liberal use of the Yooper accent/dialect. Yes, I've heard it spoken, but it's an inexact science, so please forgive me any errors and enjoy this work in the spirit with which I write... with deep love and affection for the area.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link