Dress the way you want to be addressed.

in Hive Learners25 days ago

I remembered an interview I went to about two years ago. I got pissed at the end of the interview. And I was like, is this an interview or a family get-together?

I got a message just two days before the interview, and then the HR in charge asked me to respond to the message after acknowledging it, which I did.

Afterward, I got prepared for the interview date. I ironed my native wear and polished my black shoes, so shining. Hung my colored socks on the same hanger with my dress and kept staring at it in anticipation for the day.

My mind wasn't at rest that much because I didn't know what I would be facing over there. The day came around and I got dressed so smartly, and headed for the interview venue.

The interview was slated for 9 am, my jobless self was already at the venue by 7:40. Only if I had known i would have gone by 1 pm.

After waiting for so long, other candidates arrived, and the way I was looking at their dresses, I was like?? What's going on? Some of them were on slippers, some were putting on mini skirts, and some with long nails and eyelashes. At worst, I am the only one dressing like I want to meet with the president that day.

Okay. Time for an interview. Instead of calling us according to how we came, it was the other way around. They were calling just anyone. I was the second to the last to be called on. See my eyes are already red enough to boil beans.

When I got in, I was cautious of the interview process. I stood till I was asked to sit. Then while I was standing, I checked on the interviewer and the so-called HR himself. I almost wanted to laugh.

The dress I wore was way better and presentable than those sitting. When I sat on the chair, I felt like I was the one interviewing them, but it was the opposite. Actually, at the end of the questioning, I realized they didn't need the service of a high-level qualification, all they needed was some kind of labor to work around the hotel.

The mode of dressing addressed that but I wasn't aware.

Another crazy experience I had was still during that same timeframe. This experience made me dress the way I expressed above. It was like a lesson learned.

I went for the interview while I paid a visit to my sister, i wasn’t expecting to be called on, I didn't have my documents on me, and i travelled with casual dresses in my bags, and no shoes. But I had to attend this interview.

I went for the interview on the scheduled date. And I saw every other candidate dress so smartly like they already got the job. And here I am dressed in a white round-neck top and pair of jeans with my leather slippers and my phone. I thought I was going to receive lectures that day.

I was called in and the first thing I did was sit down on the chair. That was where everything started. The HR and the company director stared at me for like 3 minutes. I was speechless.

Then they opened the air and said, “do I know you have failed this interview?” I was shocked! Then he said I barged in to sit without them asking me to. I stood and apologized. Then I was asked to sit.

Where are my documents? I tried telling a story, but I was shone off. Then my dress sense became the topic. I was addressed as a thug. But why?

I tried to explain myself, but nothing worked. I was harassed from head to toe. Then I knew I had come for the wrong interview. I regretted my actions then and felt the shame running through my veins. Just my way of dressing got me into that mess.

Your dress sense matters

I believe the way we dress is the way we are addressed. From the two examples I sighted above, it is clear that dressing is more important and a key factor in everything we do.

You can differentiate between a banker and a farmer by the way they dress, you will identify a mechanic from a teacher from their dress sense. So you can’t expect yourself to be interviewed for a position as a banker, then you now dress like a mechanic for the interview.

The importance of dressing can not be overlooked. Apart from interviews, in a real sense and our way of life, you will be addressed based on your way of dressing. Someone who is not a prostitute, but dressed like one will not be asked if they are among or not, but merely looking at them, they would be tagged as one.

Dress mode is one important thing in interviews to be considered, and then we consider the skills too. Both of them are important, though at some point dress sense might be overlooked while focusing more on the skills. But they are of great importance.


This is my response to the HIVE LEARNERS weekly prompt in hive learners community for the Week 115 Edition 2 and the topic to be discussed is PHYSICAL APPEARANCE


Header image from pixabay

Pixabay:


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 25 days ago  

Ones way of dressing is very important but I think it’s wrong to judge people by their looks.

The least you can do is not employ them but you don’t have the right to disgrace them. It wasn’t your fault you couldn’t dress officially. Plus is it an employee they need or a fashionista?

 25 days ago  

😂. See my nhaji taking my back 😂. I am blushing.

That’s the fact my dear friend. But some employers prefer to rubbish and disgrace you instead.

 24 days ago  

One day just slap someone.😂

 25 days ago  

You see both cases are just funny, the day you appeared sharp they needed casual wears and the day you wore casual they needed you looking sharp and smart.

 25 days ago  

If you are offered a job based on your dress ashak and everything then you should not get the job there but you have to follow the formality of everything it doesn't mean if you are good looking you will get job and if you are not good looking you will not get job.

 25 days ago  

You are right. Follow the proceedings and you will be able to find a way through.

 25 days ago  

This is what we need to talk about all the time so that people can learn. You don't dress anyhow and think that people will take you seriously

Thanks for sharing

 25 days ago  

That’s it ma. The importance of dressing and appearance cannot be overlooked.

Congratulations @abdul-qudus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP