Is Depression Really From Oppression?

in Hive Learnerslast month


Depression or whatever name was given to that stuff. No one should even pray to experience it, but at some points it becomes inevitable and we just have to experience it firsthand. So I call it a Bastard everyone stays away from.

Adulthood is one major factor of depression, it's so rare before you get to see a kid tell you they are depressed. They are always happy and fine, they live their life with joy and fewer worries, and their parents are there to cater to their needs.

But when adulthood emerges, the real scenery comes into place. Then we get to realize what life truly is, the games our parents have been playing on a low key, the pains behind their smiles, we get to experience it.

There was a phrase I heard about a time when boys become men, then they get to realize what it takes for their dad to sit alone outdoors and observe the surroundings around him. He is not having fun but has various thoughts on how life challenges would be faced.

Depression hit me so badly.

I can’t say I have never been depressed in my life before. I just heard the word depressed and also got to know that some people commit suicide just because of it. But I have a mindset of not even getting to experience it, not to talk of thinking something way worse.

That's more of a reason why I trained myself to work hard and also try earning legally. Many of the real stuff my mates and friends can't do because they are hard, with that mindset, God has been making it easier for me.

But when it was time for depression to pay a visit, I think it knew how to find its route.

When I was done with my Nysc year, then I decided to settle back home, I couldn't just remain in the East. Assuming I was posted to the north then I might even take that risk of staying there. So while I was back home, it was like I came back from abroad. Federal government pikin' is back home after a year of not showing up.

Ooh. He must have saved a lot from his allowances and then now it’s time to spend that on us. But no one knew deep down that I didn't have much on me. But I still have to settle some stuff.

Just Two weeks later, the thought of not receiving an allowance at the end of the month got me concerned about how to sustain my life in the months to come. It was like experiencing a rich man's life and then all of a sudden it changed.

The burden got higher after two months at home and no allowance. You can't know the value of something until you lose it. Those times hit me so hard, I was so desperate to get a job and start earning something. But all my efforts were to no avail. I got tired of life itself. This was because I didn't have money to live the life I wanted.

Everything got so down and I was down with it at some point. I realized I got depressed. But my hopes never died, this was something that got me up again. I started gradually, picking myself up from where I thought it had ended. A new way showed up and the pace became a pathway for me. I am always grateful for life.


This is my response to the hive learners community weekly featured content on Hive for the week 107 edition 1 and the topic to be discussed is DEPRESSION IS REAL


Image is mine

:


Sort:  
 last month  

I am very glad you were able to get out of it and find a solution to your worries. It takes a strong person to bring themselves uo after being so down. WELL DONE! I am glad you are doing better, and I do hope things are generally getting better

 last month  

Very well said we want or not in some stages of life one must encounters with depression which devastate him morally as much as he coult and only one can survive from that who is surrounded by supportive society

 last month  

I can relate with this because I've been here before.
It's really difficult to be without a job.
I'm glad you made it out strong.