Who Do You Look Up To?

in Hive Learners2 years ago

RODNAE Production

Growing up, there were lots of things I couldn't care about. I was always lost in my head and didn't care about things going on around me. Schooling and studying didn't fascinate me and that's why I would get lost in thought during classes.

All that changed when I got to secondary school. The students were always working very hard and would cry if they didn't do well in their studies and I always wondered why because for me, it didn't matter. It was during this time that I took notice of how much my sister would read at home. Although I didn't care about a lot of things, my sister was one I always looked up to no matter what. I loved doing the things she did and having conversations with her. I've always wanted to be like her and watching her read so hard, made me start studying my books. She was the first role model I had while growing up.

At school, there was a senior, senior Dayo. She was the head girl at the time and I saw how much respect people gave her at school and how brilliant she was. Even during impromptu debates, she always had something to say and I loved her smile. She was so kind to me and from then on, I knew I was going to work so hard to be like her. She was my second role model and it made sense to me that I had a role model to guide me at school and one to guide me at home.

There were times when I felt things were too tough and I should just quit but the thought that my two role models never quit kept me going. I became more hardworking and instead of competing with other people like most of my classmates did, I competed with myself. I try harder to make sure I aim higher than what I had the previous academic session.

#hl-exclusive & #hl-w30e3

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

You are you come though these nice people.

Thanks for sharing with us.

 2 years ago  

Happy for you to have two different person to model and also available to guide you in school.
Since it's in secondary school, you have carefully selected them and this shows that they mean so much to you.
Nice prompt delivery! 👏👍