Regulating Screen Time

in Hive Learnerslast month

Early this year, I knew my screen time on my gadgets was going to increase. I do most things with either my phone or my laptop. When I am not using these, I am operating the computer at work. So either way I am staring at the screen. Having a long screen time isn’t so good though. If there is one thing I love about my phone is the fact that every Monday it gives me weekly updates on my screen time.

D44133DE-B394-400E-A193-80ACF0FEF44E.png
Design by me using Canva

I do not need to see my screen time before I know that I spend so much time on my screens. At a point, I feel I am a bit addicted to my screens. I spend my whole day on it. Even when I say I am taking a break, I still spend my break on my screen seeing a movie. I wake up in the morning and most times before I say my prayer I check my phone. When I am retiring to bed for the day, my phone is the last thing I check.

These days, my screen time has increased drastically and honestly it’s been difficult taking a break. I try to stay away from my screens sometimes but when I return the workload is massive. Out of 24 hours in a day I spend 15-16 hours on my screen.

Knowing that I have spent a lot of time on my screen isn’t difficult for me. I wear medicated glasses, so most times if I have spent a lot of time on my screen, my eyes become teary and then I start having severe headaches. This act alone makes me know that “It’s time to take a break girl”. Aside from this sign, most days I just become so tired, and then I know that I have had too much screen time and need to take a break.

I think our generation is addicted to too much screen time because at a point it is okay to say that we can not do without our phones. This alone leads to too much screen time. Coupled with the fact that most of our jobs these days require us to use our gadgets for a long period.

REGULATING SCREEN TIME

I can’t say it is easy to regulate screen time because I am still trying to regulate my own. Most times I take a break from it but I think I am just deceiving myself because after the break I stare at my screen more.

0B0EE463-8BCE-426A-89A0-9A792135CC98.png

I think it is difficult to regulate screen time so maybe one way we could help prevent our eyes is by getting anti-blue light glasses, I think this is one thing I did when I went to renew my glasses, I knew I would be spending much time on my screen so I ask that they add this to my lens alongside my prescription.

Also, another way one can reduce too much screen time is by taking a break from your screen. Either take a walk without your gadgets or just go out and feel the environment. Try to meet up with friends and during this meet try staying away from your gadgets to reduce your screen time. This will help a lot.

Try setting time limits and try to keep to it. Also, try avoiding screens when eating or even before bed, and maybe set a routine where your phone isn’t the first thing you pick up when you wake up.
Honestly, this could be difficult but with motivation and willingness, one could achieve a short screen time and try not to be addicted to our screens.

All images used are mine except otherwise stated

Thanks for stopping by💕
Cheers 🥂

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Regulating screen time isn't really an easy one, as most of the things we have to do, we have to do with our screens, but we should put in the effort, it's doable.
#dreemerforlife

 last month  

Yes, we just need to try our best in regulating it.

 last month  

I also whenever I stare too much at my screen either I have headaches, strained eyes or feel sleepy. We all know that whenever we want to sleep or wake up or want to do anything we do stare at our screen.

 last month  

I think at this point everyone is glued to their screens😂😂

My dear we sleep and wake up staring at our screen. Most of us spend 99.9% of our day on the screen and I tell you, it's not gonna be easy to regulate.

 last month  

And the fact that our daily jobs requires screen time too

 last month  

I didn't know about the screen time app, I think I'll dig it out of my phone too to help caution against my screen addiction, it's so difficult to regulate as most of our work activities are online based these days

 last month  

I think we all have our daily activities online, just check your phone settings you might find it there

 last month  

I just started wearing glasses myself. And yet fill the need to reduce screen time. At the same time I feel useless when not on screen because I need to work

 last month  

Honestly, when I am not on my screen, I feel like I am not doing anything😂😂

 last month  

Same here😂

 last month  

It is funny when we say we want to take a break and rest but we spend more time with our phone watching movies. I do that a lot.

Going for a walk and having quality conversions with friends will reduce screen time a lot.

 last month  

You are right, we take a break and then we are back to working again.

I wonder if phone screen time is worse than computer screen time for example...

 last month  

I don’t know which is worse though

These are great tips for resulting screen time, thank you so much for sharing.

I popped in from Dreemport because I am an awesome #dreemerforlife

regulating that time will not be easy, especially when your work depends on it, but with order there is time to rest. #dreemerforlife

 last month  

You are right though, these days we work remotely it is not easy

It is not a lie my dear , most of our activities are on the screen
It is even to the extent that these days, i do my readings on phone or laptop so my own is finished, hehe
Yea , these days I use glasses while in screen to help me curb the effects
Nice expose
#dreemport

 last month  

Your own is not finished please😂😂😂😂
But please get blue light glasses