[W21e3] Camping was the only way I could stay away

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Hello hivers how are you all doing? It been awhile for me here I have been very busy with a project but nevertheless I’m happy to be back. Now let’s get down to the topic of the day.

C175A472-DABD-4414-A127-DE1D5CC74ED0.jpegsource

As a child growing up I knew I have always seen beyond staying just at home and not going out, I have always wanted to leave the house and that’s why I would always jump to any camping activities that would make me leave the house even if it for a night, and gladly my parents would always allow me as long a I’m with the right company.

There is this belief that in every African home your parents shows more love when you are far from home or better still when you come back from a travel you will always be treated with much love and respect.

3DBDB84E-7D48-470C-BBB7-3D6E7FBFE3D2.jpegsource

My parents were very much protective of us and doesn’t really allow us to go out or even to visit a relative or probably stay over, so camping was the best way to leave the house for days.

I personally love that experience a lot, my parents shows more care when I’m away from home 🏡 e.g I would get series of calls from both of them asking if I have eaten and so on. This had happen on several occasions and I still wonder why it is that way.

The first time I had left home was for a camping 🏕 experience hosted by our then church, honestly I was very excited to leave the house for that camping. It was a four nights five days program for teenagers and it was fun filled.

8FFD121D-2630-4C1F-B282-F35702E7C376.jpeg
Source

At first I was a little bit scared 😟 but didn’t even display it at all, I was scared of how the nights would be since I hate sleeping alone without at least touching someone but then I remembered I’m with people that I was quite familiar with.

762F5F54-26CA-4DAC-90C4-9D18184A89B9.png
source
The first night I couldn’t sleep at all ,I kept hearing sounds from frogs and night crawlers because we were surrounded by thick bushes so it normal but then I still found it difficult to sleep amidst those sounds.

The next day my parents kept calling our coordinators to know if I’m okay or not, she would want to hear my voice and all that yes I know that’s the love of a mother there but I wonder why she wouldn’t do all this for me whenever I’m at home.

687EEC65-1905-4C45-ACAB-4863F359028E.jpegsource

That experience for me was really worth it, I enjoyed my self and had alot of fun 🤩 too, made new friends and in all honesty I didn’t even miss home because I realized it been free away from that overprotective family that I have.

Don’t get me wrong I love that my parents are overprotective at a point but I still want to be free and do things I would love to.

I made it a thing to always participate in every camping program ones or twice a year and this helped my life in so many ways and it also prepared me enough to be able to finally move out of my parents house right before Covid.

It been almost 3 years that I stopped staying with my parents and I would say it been great for me. I do visit from time to time and we do talk as much as we want so. It also didn’t stop me from doing my obligations to my family.

Thanks a lot for reading 📖
May God bless you.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Wow, I can imagine how you felt free like a bird in that camping days🤣🤣

Our parents meant well to us even though some are overprotective like mine😊

 2 years ago  

Yeah I know they do but sometimes we just want to be free for sometime.

Thanks for stopping by