A Day I Would Never Forget

in Hive Learners2 years ago

alexandra-fuller-wkgv7I2VTzM-unsplash.jpg
Image by Alexandra Fuller


Hello everyone, how are you doing on this beautiful Sunday? This is surely a good day to be alive and kicking, and I am grateful for the gift of life.

So, I will be talking about my most memorable day. This is a day that is most memorable to me because it was when I got the turning point in my life.

I am a writer, and I always try to give my best. I read and write novels, I also do some ghostwriting on the side. I discovered I could write a long time ago, back then I was still in Junior Secondary School, here in Lagos State. But most of the things I wrote were for my eyes and my Junior Sister’s only. I never got the urge to show any of my work to anybody.

It was till I was in Senior Secondary School that everything changed. When I was in SSS1, I made new friends who as it turned out loved to read novels. There were a lot of books we had read that were the same and we happened to like the same authors. Like Nora Roberts, Stephen King, and John Grisham. Though some more than the other.

Eventually, during one of our conversations, I was able to finally tell one of us that I was a writer and I wrote thrillers. This was a long time ago, but I still remember her name. It was Chisom. She was impressed that I wrote not even storybooks, but full-length novels.

At that time, I didn’t even have a phone, much less a computer so all my writing was done in the traditional way. With a pen and a book. The novel had taken two higher education notes (my Nigerian friends will understand this better). And at that time, it was a lot.

Anyway, she asked to read it and I obliged. She was going to be the first person other than my sister who was going to read my book. I allowed her to take it home, hoping for feedback the next day.

When we met the next day, she looked like someone that had seen a celebrity. All she was doing was telling me just how good the story was and how she could not drop it until she got to the very end. She was listing her favorite characters and why she liked them. She was talking at the top of her voice and was not concerned about other students hearing her.

I wanted to weep from sheer joy.

That was the first review I ever got, and it stuck to me ever since. I have never forgotten that moment. Although I can’t remember the exact day or even month, I know I was in SSS1 when it happened and it was Chisom who made me swear to myself that no matter what it took me, I will always be a writer.

Ever since then, I have written quite a number of books, mostly unpublished due to financial crunch, but there are plans being put into motion.

I have lost touch with Chisom since we graduated from school. Lost her contact when I lost my phone and I have not heard from her or about her ever since. I hope she is fine wherever she is.

And today, when I sit down to write anything at all on my laptop, it could be for myself or for my client, I can’t help but be thankful to that one girl that made me realize just how much of a gift I had. And till today, I am still reaping the benefits of those glowing reviews she had given me. And the moment will go on with me in my memory to the grave.

aaron-burden-6jYoil2GhVk-unsplash.jpg
Image by Aaron Burden
Thank you very much for reading guys, it was really fun going down memory lane with you all. Till we meet in the next post.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Wowww, all thanks to Chisom for revealing a part of your skill to you. Her review really pushed you harder to do more and better till date.

Thanks for sharing this nice memory to us!

Yesso!
Because of that, I will never forget her😁
Thank you for reading, I am glad you enjoyed it.

 2 years ago  

WOW, these initiatives make us open "the trunk of memories". It's fantastic that you are a writer of stature. Triller, that's very impressive, I hope you can publish your works. I don't know if you have Netflix, but I'm going to recommend a movie. It's called "Mary Shelley", it's about the writer of the book of Frankenstein, have you seen it?

Damn, I know that feeling, I used to write and draw comics when I was in primary and secondary school too, it was always great to meet someone who took the time to read what you had made and loved it so much go wild with excitement about it and about you the author.

I'm surprised you said you haven't published anything, what do you mean by financial crunch? Are you not just supposed to send these books to publishers to review and decide if they want to publish or not? Also, you've not heard of Amazon? You can publish your books in ebook formats there, how about that, bro?

I know of these things...
But writing the book is not enough, there is also editing, cover design, marketing to consider. Whether it is by traditional publishing or online. Money is required either way.
But I will be over that hurdle in the shortest possible time.
Thank you for your concern, I really appreciate it.

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

actually I have written a lot, you could say it's motivational or encouraging writing for people who are down, it's just that sometimes I don't dare to publish it, I'm afraid people will think what I write is what I feel. indeed some of my writings are about what I have experienced, but not all of them.

what do you think, what should I do so that I can publish all my writings?

hehe this is a bit weird

Of course, you can publish them. These are your thoughts and you can share them with us if you wish.
Provided they are not insulative or negative in any way, then they are very much welcome.
I look forward to reading them.