For My Mom...

in Hive Learnerslast month

Blue and Yellow Professional Webinar Youtube Thumbnail.png



2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAyTtPNZC4azgNzmcbbNrwLm7sqQ7eKu7JLTDjfRw9MTUA8aMuf1z9Rv1TLh6pECyZxBbdTvXDaK16qUpUDuwjnCDA3iaAGqSv.png

Our loved ones are the one set of people that hold sway in our lives. They’re the ones we can choose to go to great lengths for no matter the cost. As long as it would make them happy and safe, then it is fine by us. And when this feeling is mutual, it’s one of the best things in the world to know that no matter how bad things get, there will always be someone who will be in your corner.

Many times, people go the extra mile for family, and when the people we love are in danger, that’s usually when the beast in us comes out. People who are usually quiet can go savage just to protect their kids or siblings. But then, that’s how it should be, right? After all, if we don’t go the extra mile for family, who then are we going it for?

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

I’ve had my own fair share of doing things for my family. I remember one time I almost got into a fight at Cele Express in Lagos. It was a fight with a conductor o. And I was ready to fight him because he was just shouting at my Mom and it was pissing me off. When he saw that I was ready to challenge him, he backed off at once. That’s something I’m grateful for though, because he was bigger and stronger than me. He would have turned me inside out before I could even ball my fists. But the thought is all that matters, right?

However, the one moment I want to talk about is much deeper. And it’s something I’ve not spoken about to anyone else, I just prefer to keep it to myself. Right from time, I’ve always been someone who preferred the easy life and I loved to do things my way; no stress, no mess. I’ve talked here about how I went to a government secondary school, but one thing I’ve not really talked about is how I had the opportunity to go to a catholic school. And I turned it down.

IMG_20231009_1520362.jpg

My elder sister attended St. Francis Catholic Secondary School, one of the top schools in the whole of Nigeria. And their school fees were not here at all, really steep. That was one of the major reasons I had to start out with a government school in the first place because at first, it was kind of a huge load for my parents. However, by the time I was about to get into JSS2 or thereabout, my Mom told me that it was time for me to join my sister in St. Francis.

I didn’t want to. It would have been a great upgrade for me, I know but I had also seen firsthand the effect that going to that school had on my family. It was an expensive school and there was always one thing or the other that needed paying. Paying my sister’s school fees was tough already, the idea that they were going to add mine to the pile did not sit well with me at all. I knew that it would be a great burden for my Mom to take on such responsibility, and I just couldn’t allow it.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA37mQtCuynkak9C9VAxm3nacdB7gLmLiZLuYVhHeNsRgxL6WKJoam3hs2B7ZLAp2jwaLFEwoAbLKzAfpv2DhtyvHbJunTbU58RMbxtkvefNK4qj8EA.png

So, I flunked the Common Entrance tests that I sat. I didn’t tell my Mom my plans, I just went there and did just barely enough to make sure that I didn’t make the cut. And that was how I got to continue in the government school.

But then, one can argue that I did it for a selfish reason and they may not entirely be wrong. There were times when my sister was sent home because she was yet to pay her school fees, there were other times she was lagging behind because there was a fee or the other that she couldn’t pay. I didn’t want all that. At the time, I already had enough experience with government schools to know that I would never face those problems. I was also not keen to wake up before six every day and hit the road, which was something my sister did. The school was that far from our home.

IMG_20231005_1539392.jpg

So, did I regret my decision then? Nah… I don’t really know how my life would have turned out if I had gone to St. Francis, but I’m not regretting how my life is right now. The life I live today is something someone else is fasting and praying for. I know this because I also used to fast and pray for this. Also, I like to think that it was my choice that also ended up helping out my younger sister because just like my elder sister, she ended up going to a top private school as well. Not St. Francis, a private school that was a bit closer to home now.

I was still in school when my baby sister got enrolled, I knew that it would have been difficult for my Mom to bear with her kids in two expensive schools. Thankfully, it all ended on a good note. We’re all doing okay now and trying our best to move on with life. If something else comes along and I have to make a similar decision for my family, you can rest assured that I will do it again in a heartbeat. Because at this point, I already know myself. No matter the hand I’m dealt with, I’ll always shine.

That seems to be my superpower.

IMG_20230914_1537072.jpg




Thank you for reading. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below, I would love to know what you’re thinking. Till we meet in the next post.




This post is inspired by the third topic of this week which is To Protect A Loved One. Feel free to try it out.




N.B: All images used in this post are mine. The thumbnail was designed using Canva.




thank you for visiting.png

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited..

This post received an extra 11.88% vote for delegating HP / holding IUC tokens.

 last month  

Thank you for this.

 last month  

We should stand with our parents whenever there is need because they had stood with us all the time. You did good a job with Conductor, you give him a taboo for defaming other's parents Infront of their kids. I appreciate you enjoyed easy and happy life, it is what I 'm doing now No stress and No mess. Sometimes, we have to take big decisions to save ourselves and our family members. You turned your life on smooth track what was tough for your sister. Happy to hear, your family is affording everything regarding high private school fees, have a good day.


Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!

Join Binance through this LINK for 10% off trading fees! Let's save together!

 last month  

Yeah... sometimes, we have to take big decisions for those we love. And I'm glad I did that.

 last month  

You made a wise decision to save your mom from bills. I am curious to know, how old were you then to have thought of that ?

 last month  

This was my early teenage years... so, I must have been around 12/13... not sure anymore.

 last month  

Wow.... that's something a normal teenager wouldn't think of.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

 last month  

Thank you for this.

 last month  

This is a lovely read as usual. You relieved some burdens off the shoulders of your parents.
I really don't see any selfishness in the decision. Undoubtedly, going to that school would have added to the family pressure. You quietly opted out for the good of the generality of the family.

 last month  

Yeah... that was something I didn't want for my family, so I simply continued with my government school.

 last month  

Doing that so your sisters could be in a better place shows how much you love your family
Things we do for family means a lot
You’re a wonderful person

 last month  

Yesso... it's something I did then, and I'm glad it all worked out for all of us.
Thank you.

 last month  

There is nothing selfish in your decision not to attend the school. You thought about the financial burden on your parents. That is so thoughtful of you.
It shows how compassionate you are.

 last month  

Aww... thank you.
I just did what I believed was right at the time.

 last month  

You are so thoughtful and kind Bruno, some people wouldn't have thought in Ur direction to relieve financial load from their parents. I can see that your parents want the best for u, even though they didn't have all the resources but you were so considerate regardless. Glad about Ur life today, even though you didn't attend that particular school you are still doing well for yourself today and that's great

 last month  

Yeah... I knew that the extra burden will make things worse for the family, and I just didn't want that. I'm glad everything worked out in the end.

 last month  

We are always ready to protect our loved ones without considering how powerful the opponent is. So I can understand what you done.
It seems you have a wider vision and for your sisters you did kind of sacrifice. That's impressive. I think everyone doesn't have the courage to do that.

 last month  

I think what made that choice easier was because I already had an idea what government school was like, so it was easy for me to see myself staying for the long run. And that helped make the sacrifice a bit easier.

 last month  

In 2018, my mother passed away from this world till now such peace in life was not achieved.

 last month  

My God... I'm sorry for your loss.
I'm sure she's in a better place now. May her soul rest in peace.
Take heart, brother.

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 last month  

Thank you for this.

You're making a big impact @bruno-kema! Keep up the fantastic work and you'll reach your Hive target in no time.