Happiness is free... Indeed!

in Hive Learners2 years ago

ahmed-zayan-ABUWC-0a7_A-unsplash.jpg
Image by Ahmed Zayan


Hello everyone, how are you all doing today? Are you still feeling the remnants from yesterday’s romantic adventure? Or is the love that had been in the air all gone? It does not matter. Today’s message is not for lovers or single folks either. It is for everybody.

Have you ever taken a moment to ask yourself what truly makes you happy? Yes, what is that thing you can do for hours and you will never get tired of it? As in you can do it all day and the routine will only be broken by sleep and the need to eat. Yes, what is that thing in your life?

Well, I know what I can do. I love writing, a lot. It is like my flesh and blood. If I do not write in a day, that day would not be complete. I can write basically anything, from articles to stories, I have found that it keeps my brain active and helps me get better at my craft.

Another thing I love doing is watching movies. Oh yes! Every day, I try to watch at least one movie. As a creative writer, it helps me to open the floodgates of inspiration and get those creative juices flowing. As I see a movie, I begin to get these ideas that I feel would make into an awesome plot for a story. and yes, I did see a movie today.

I also love reading, although it is not something I get to do on a daily basis due to the nature of my schedule. But I try to a book from time to time, even if it is once a month. It can be any type of book. Usually, I prefer to read fiction, especially thrillers. But sometimes I also read self-help and motivational books that will help me in my wellbeing. Reading a book helps one grow mentally, you might not notice it immediately, but it is surely there.

And lastly, one more thing I love to do is to go out. This is not really specific as it includes traveling, strolling, going on dates. It is basically going out of my house, especially to a new place. I always love going to new places and meeting new people. There is always something that can be learned when you visit new places, and it also helps you to improve your style of living.

These are the things I do that make me truly happy. I do some of them on a daily basis, just to motivate myself to work because nothing motivates one to work better than happiness. The rest I do when I have the time because they are not things I like to spend such little time on.

And the truth is that it works. Doing these things make me happy and when I go to work in that kind of mood, I am always productive. Although I am always careful to make sure that my leisure activities do not overlap with my work schedule. Because that would be very bad for business.

So, what about you? What are those things you really love to do? It could be anything at all, so long as it is within the confines of the law and your conscience agrees with it. I want you to feel free to indulge yourself, enjoy your life because you have got only one of it. You do not want to spend your days sad and moping through the stress of life and slumping under the weight of responsibility. You have to take charge of your life and be ready to give yourself some happiness. You deserve it!

But you also need to know this, if in the course of finding happiness it comes between you and your source of lively hood you would have to tone it down a bit until you can find some balance. Because there would be no happiness at all if there is not something as basic as food on the table. What am I saying? If you are going out to have fun, do so wisely and make sure you are doing it in your leisure time. And also never mistake laziness or procrastination for finding happiness. It can be quite easy to confuse one for the other.

So, as the week crosses over to its middle, I hope you are looking forward to what fun things you can do to make yourself happy? The things you can do that will make you more productive both as a person and as a worker. Now that you have figured it out, why don’t you tell me all about it in the comment section below?

brooke-cagle-oTweoxMKdkA-unsplash.jpg
Image by Brooke Cagle

Till we meet again in the next post, thank you very much for reading.