Mr. President for a Day

in Hive Learners3 years ago

aditya-joshi-7FW5-3vVRSw-unsplash.jpg

Image by Aditya Joshi

Hello everyone, how are you doing on this beautiful evening? The week is now barreling to a close and we are looking forward to the coming weekend. It is going to be lit!

Today, I would love to talk about the final topic that was chosen by the house in our last hangout on the Discord server. If I were to be the president for a day, what would I do?

That is a big question.

I am a Nigerian, and growing up I have always known my country to be full of corrupt leaders. As in there was not a time when we could boast of a good leader during my lifetime. Yeah, I am that young. All I have ever known are a bunch of old men who are just interested in amassing money that is meant for the people and keeping it for themselves.

To keep themselves in power, they keep on rotating it among themselves, so it never leaves their cycle. My country is a beehive of strikes and industrial actions, there is a litany of abandoned projects and collapsed industries. In every sector you go, you will see decades of neglect by the government after government. All of them come with sweet words, promising us heaven and earth and throwing around wads of cash. And once they get into office, it is all man for himself.

This is how I have always viewed my country, and for a long time, it did not change. If this question had been asked me four to five years ago, I would have said I would just go and get as much money as I can. After all, it is the people’s money and I am part of the people. That was what politics was at that time, just a means to get rich.

But now, after growing up and being on my own, getting wiser after I have faced the harsh realities of life without the shelters my parents provided. I have seen that a lot of the sufferings my people and I go through are just pointless. There is no logical reason for it at all.

Just because a group of men decides to turn an entire nation into their cash cow, the millions of people in it will have to suffer for it and they just do not care. We battle with insecurities, unemployment, power failure, high inflation rate, fuel scarcity… the list goes on and on if I choose to state them all here I will be writing this for the next three days.
So, if I do get to be president even if it is just for one day, what will I do? First of all, I will use my veto power to pass a law, withdrawing all elderly men in the country from running for political office. Once you are sixty and above, you can no longer contest elections, but you can still vote.

Although this will not get rid of corruption totally, it will be a step. The cover that these men use to perpetrate their acts will be lost. And the next thing I will do once I get into power will be to make all of them pay for their crimes.

This also might not eradicate corruption, but it will surely reduce it drastically and it will keep other officials on their toes because they know that any small mistake on their part could cause them to lose their jobs and even go to prison.

By the time I am done with this my day might already be over. So I will just take a ride in the presidential jet and fly somewhere. I do not know where exactly yet. But if that day does come, rest assured I will have that answer by then.

Elections are coming next year; soon we will be hearing promises up and down. I can only hope that this time a real change will come, one that is favorable for every citizen. If you are a Nigerian and you are reading this, please get your PVC and help us vote out bad leaders.

If we do not do it, then who will?

Thank you for reading, till we meet in the next post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

There is no safe space for corruption
Corruption kills and it kills faster than Cancer

Thank you Mr President

Corruption is just deadly.
Because it kills so many people than violence and diseases.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

I have read several articles about your country, rebels, corrupt leaders, and many other problems that need to be solved urgently. I agree with you, if not from myself then who else.
one word that fits, REVOLUTION!

Revolution...
I wish...
We can only pray that we have a leader that actually has the interest of the people at heart.

 3 years ago  

I strongly agree

 3 years ago  

Elections are coming next year; soon we will be hearing promises up and down. I can only hope that this time a real change will come, one that is favorable for every citizen.

this is what we hear every time aspirants to get the public to reassure them with uncertain promises that have not changed since then. I hope everything is as promised

We can only hope because once they get in there it is all up to them and their conscience.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

I strongly wish that a law should be passed that no elderly man above 60years should Contest for election in Nigeria because it's becoming a pattern and it's not healthy for us.

President Bruno, weldon 💪🤩

 3 years ago  

For me I would say 50years. Atleast they would still be full of life

This law will be fought strongly against, because there are people that are still benefiting from this present situation.
Thank you for reading.

President Bruno, over😊

 3 years ago  

This is really a nicely written post sir,
All poured up, given a chance to write and continue writing books will be filled
from reading through I feel the rage all put up into writing.
It is really alarming the way these ancient men rotate power in their grasp.
Youths being the leaders of tomorrow are now the servants of the tomorrow there were all supposed to rule.

I agree with you boss we really need fresh, young, and vibrant minds to take over the affairs of the country.

Well-spoken boss.

Thank you very much, when more people like us have the same point of view, it will be expected of us to do the right thing when the time comes.
Hopefully, better people will get into politics solely to change the situation of things not just for themselves.
I am glad you read it.

 3 years ago  

😂😂😂😂
You will go on a ride with presidential jet? What happened to South Korea, won't you go there again? 😅

Your plans as a President is valid, I wish you become one someday.

Of course... Korea will be on the list. Although that might cause some diplomatic issues.
We will see as things go.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

Diplomatic issues? 😂😂😂
You're so funny

 3 years ago  

Screenshot_20220318-091523.png

I just jumped into this new and I wish they implement it honestly

We can only see as it plays out.
we have learned the hard way never to trust these guys...

 3 years ago  

Yes, the elections are coming and they'd still tell us all the same story we have been told and hearing from time immemorial. Your solution to reduce corruption, I like it. Although, those people now are getting wiser as they are now engaging their young children in their 20s, 30s into positions too. @bruno-kema They too are already at the corridor of power!!

It will just be a vicious cycle that never really changes because it is the same folks that will be in power.
Too bad.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

Very well, though. But i believe something could be done, although hope can be dangerous sha.

 3 years ago  

Our president here na cruise dem dey catch. Hehehehe

They promise to do something but they never fulfill anyone. It will be good if the corruption is eradicated totally.

Since election is around the corner, they will start engaging in so many funny things like going to the market to help an elderly woman sell her goods or probably going to the farm to help a farmer just because they want to be elected.

If I catch anyone, I go bite am😝😝

A lot of us are already buying popcorn so we can laugh at them when they start making a fool of themselves yet again.
They think they can keep fooling us time after time, eventually, it will all come to an end.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

You're welcome

 3 years ago  

They probably would just change it back the moment you step out but this is actually a good law.

That is the thing, it's just to do your best while you are on seat.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

You are welcome.

 3 years ago  

Corruption is a constant in my beloved country but with this plan of yours, I believe there will be a change of story.

Thank so much Mr. President.

We can only hope so, that is if those in power will like it.
Thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  

First of all, I will use my veto power to pass a law, withdrawing all elderly men in the country from running for political office.

You've spoken well Goodman @bruno-kema

This would be the first step to curbing incompetency on the Job...

I am not so certain about what it would do to corruption... Cos, corruption is a vertical line across all ages in this country...I've seen it first hand.

But since the elderly are more experienced in the art of corruption, it might help reduce the mentorship that occurs when it comes to corruption.

All in all, you have spoken well sir.

While it won't eradicate corruption, it will reduce the players and also make them vulnerable to be persecuted by the law.
Thank you very much for reading, I am glad you read it.

 3 years ago  

This also might not eradicate corruption, but it will surely reduce it drastically and it will keep other officials on their toes

The reduction is important. I still propose using some strategy like that in the Tv series called 'Designated Survivor'

By the time I am done with this my day might already be over. So I will just take a ride in the presidential jet and fly somewhere

Work and flex go hand in hand. Please fly to Russia and resolve the crisis.

I have not seen the Designated Survivor series yet. I heard it is interesting.
And if I do become president, the Russian crisis will be over by then biko.

 3 years ago  

Wow amazing. I'm interested in the phrase "if you do not do it, then who will?

Thank you very much @arasiko for reading, i am glad you enjoyed it.

 3 years ago  

You finish work bro
Thank you for this 🙌🙌

I am glad, thank you for reading.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Mindset is truly key. If they are willing to do it, nothing will stop them. And we too that are suffering these, what will stop us from getting into power and not being exactly like them?
I guess only time will tell.
Thank you for reading.

With the number of people saying this, I might begin to consider it o.
Thank you for reading.