Personal Values

in Hive Learners2 years ago

ales-maze-uXvUpHY5o_4-unsplash.jpg
Image by Ales Maze


Hello everyone, how are you doing on this beautiful Saturday? Another weekend is here again and we are relaxing and preparing for what is going to turn out to be a promising week ahead. We are hopeful, and we will surely work hard towards it.

There is something I would love to discuss with us today, one that touches me deeply. I had been in a conversation with a friend earlier today and the thought had crossed my mind. And I knew I had to share it with you all. And what is this? Personal Values.

We all are humans, and so that makes us social creatures. We are all wired in a way that we will always need others; they can be family, friends, colleagues, neighbors, etc. The thing is that all of them have a role to play in our lives. Many of them are not meant to stay, they are just meant to walk through, make their impact and then leave.

And it is in dealing with our fellow humans that the topic of my post comes into play.

Personal values can be said to be a way a person sees himself or herself. It can also be a set of rules and guidelines that a person uses to live life. These values are what will determine the kinds of decisions they make and the actions they carry out.

Personal values are not generic for everyone. It is different for every single person. That is why you would hear some people say things like, “you can never see me do a thing like that.” Or “I am that kind of person.” The way you value yourself will also be the way you do things and also the kind of things you will do. Because you will never do anything that you believe will devalue you, instead you will be looking for ways to increase your value.

So, how does this relate with other humans? When we socialize, we get to meet people who have values that may be different from ours, this does not make them any better than we are, or worse. It only makes them human.

So, as we go about our duties, we must make sure that while we deal with others, get to notice their value, we do not compromise our value in the process. It is never worth it. It is good and fine if you increase your value because of someone else, but it will be sad and unfortunate if you devalue yourself because of another person. Nothing good can ever come off it.

No matter how tempting or the pressure may be, you must stand your ground and resist.

Also, when you notice that someone else’s values are different from yours, that is not grounds for disrespecting them. You are meant to respect their wishes and how they view themselves, because they will also respect the way you view yourself. As long as they are not criminals and they are in no way harassing or inconveniencing you, then you should just let them be.

Not everyone will view themselves the same way you view yourself, and that is something you have to come to terms with.

And so, dear friends, as we go about mingling with people, let us know that no matter what if they are not adding value to us, then they should not be reducing it either. Matter of fact, we should not even be with them. Because we have to be with people who make us better versions of ourselves. And if we see someone whose values we do not like, it is not our job to try and fix or change them, we should just accept them for who they are.

Thank you for reading, till we meet in the next post.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yea, our personalities varies from individuals likewise our personal values and this values greatly influence our lives, especially in decision making as you said.

In as much as we should make friends, we should also be conscious of our values and hold unto our integrity, we should not accept to be influenced negatively from friends but rather influence our friends positively.

Thanks for reminding us bro!

I am glad, it always good when friends rise together, instead of one bringing down the other. Whether intentionally or not.
Thank you for reading, I am glad you enjoyed it.

 2 years ago  

This is a great example of DO NOT DISPLEASE YOURSELF TRYING TO PLEASE OTHERS. like seriously bro I've come up with the paradox that you cannot Please anyone on earth the best thing is to be a better version of yourself, do what's best for you and move on
The world is filthy now, when walking walk with your detergents it hold your cutlass, cut every branch of set back and move forward 🙏🙏🙏💜
Thanks for this wonderful piece 💕💕💙🙏

You can never please everyone, trying to do so is only a recipe for disappointment. Just do your best, if they do not like it, that is seriously not your headache.
Thank you for reading, I am glad you liked it.

 2 years ago  

Thanks boss
The pleasure is all mine sir🙌🙌💙

 2 years ago  

This post is pinned to my daily diary
You are right personal values varies and it is very important
Thank you for sharing

Thank you very much, I feel honored.
I am glad you enjoyed reading it.

 2 years ago  

Personality values are very influential in life, I have practiced in my community. but what really stands out from the value of personality is the different levels of egoism. because I see, the higher the level of egoism, the faster a person's emotions.

Ego is something that needs to be controlled, that is the only way we can truly connect to others on a deeper level.
Thank you for reading.

 2 years ago  

You're welcome brother

 2 years ago  

We meet people on a daily basis and meeting them means they will always have an impact in us either positively or negatively, we're are the ones that will make the choice either to be influenced by them in a positive way.

No matter what we do, we need to be very careful in whatever we do.

Nice post.

Thank you, we have to be careful indeed. Because in the end, it all comes down to us choosing to accept what they are bringing to our table.
I am glad you liked it.

 2 years ago  

🥰🥰

 2 years ago  

Your writing is all flesh, I have to call you a great teacher, I have to learn a lot from you, everything I get from your writing I will slowly apply it in my daily life.

RESPECT

Great Teacher😁
I only try my best to give what I have. I am very glad I am making an impact. It means that I am doing something right.
Thank you very much for this.

 2 years ago  

honestly some of your posts have a very positive impact on me personally.
sometimes it's like being lashed from behind which forces me to change my bad habits.

Big thanks my teacher 😁🤝🙏

Wow...
I am humbled by this.
I am happy to know that I have such an effect on someone, I will always try my best to keep it up.
Thank you once again.