ABSOLUTELY UNJUST

in Hive Learnerslast month

I could not have thought of an incident than this. If you've read my articles for longer, you may have come across posts where I shared some of my experiences as a home educator and how I loved t in spite of my obliviousness to that fact. Now, I wasn't doing that for free. I received really small amount that should never be classified as fees.


cdd20-vR6bNYTVlpo-unsplash.jpgUnsplash

To clearly describe the situation I was in and how unfair it was, I'll go with the phrase "over-familiarity breeds contempt." And that is true. To a degree.

So I worked for this family where I taught two of their three kids. For each child, I charged a little sum. I didn't know what bid to go with at first because this was my first paid teaching job. I was underpaid, I learned later and also, in comparison with the workload, what I got was change. Currently, I wouldn't even accept triple that amount to tutor anyone.

To the main story, after my first month at the job, when the time came to get paid, I only got half the fee agreed. I shrugged and didn't make a fuss since the parent promised to make it up, as he claimed there was no money on him at that time.

Fast forward to a month later, I received nothing. Just, "I'll see you. I've not forgotten. There's nothing on me now. Bear with me."
I didn't think nothing of it. For one, two, three, four months, same excuses prevailed. Only these times, I received not a penny and I wasn't in the least bit bothered.

I had so much confidence that eventually, real soon, when the cash was available, it hadn't occured to me that I was probably running charity. Maybe the excellent outputs from our efforts put in had overcome my thinking that I didn't stop to think of the injustice being carried out. Or maybe seeing that this one aspect of my dealings gave me excellence and was working well made me oblivious to what was wrong. I'd spend long hours tutoring, hours that eat deep into my personal activities, my own goals and academics. I gave my best, the results were amazing but the other end of the bargain wasn't kept. Yet, I kept my cool. Because, I believed.

That continued until sometime later when this parent who owed me little sums that piled to some big figure did something. He bought a dog. Not a gift received or anything. He purchased it with good money.

And frankly, he had no need for it. I had heard about some spendings he did which I'd known my services should be ranked higher on the chain than(courtesy of the kids and I that developed a sweet bond) but not had been as inconsequential. But that incident had all of those unnecessary expenses coming to mind. My spirit sank and at that moment, I felt the unfairness.

For someone who complained ever so often about how difficult things were so much that you would almost want to give him from the very little you own, that was a startling surprise. I don't even want to say the amount it was gotten for. Let's not even talk about dog care: feeding, medicals, and the rest. Nah, he wasn't broke not to afford those. He had good enough means to pay me. I just didn't get how he valued my services.

It was just wild and inhumane to think sbout. And then I thought, if I were his kids' classroom teacher would that have happened?
Now, that this was someone that I have known since I was a child. One with whom my family and his(even to his parents) are acquainted and have known for many years. I was surprised at how he didn't even realize that there was an error in his deeds.

Well, I didn't go to confront him because why would i? It set me off that I didn't stop abruptly. I put a time limit on the job to just enjoy the final success and see it as a, "you're so good at this" thingy that gave me fulfillment when I did. Something I did because I could and wanted to.

Fortunately, I don't think of money as anything worthy of troubling over. I still get around to seeing them but I've gotten past the money fracas. I don't even ask. Once a while the parent goes on reciting his usual words but I pay no attention. Cause if he wanted, in a space of months(it's been over a year now though) would give the money in bits. But no....man's inhumanity to a fellow happened. Well, in all of those, I learned my lesons and gained insight, and now, I know what can never be. Ever.

qjrE4yyfw5pJD9LKQ1BG3NbSyKTowh8wnMyt99dddua4U41rZmpEeZf2o8BwWGgNBRCrCf9Rmzna4biVLCpU9f9uPbkBv73RzRynuaVKDqeD3ohUhbFD1znr (1).png

Thanks for gracing this post.
Greetings!

Sort:  
 last month  

Hello @cheeamaka
We've noticed that your engagement with other authors is poor, and that's not encouraging at all. You need to make comments on the post of others and also reply to comments on your posts as well. This is to foster growth within the community.

 last month  

I engage with other authors. Maybe not as much as was bit then, you're right. I'll do better.
Thanks for the notice

this is nice

 26 days ago  

Thank you