Fragments of my heart

in Hive Learners11 days ago

8EAA614F-2894-4A64-BCB4-762679DF521E.png

I went shopping last weekend, mainly to buy foodstuffs and I marveled at the realization that the economy has affected me in a couple of ways. I no longer spend as often as I used to. Funnily enough, I also spend much more compared to what I used to spend in time past when shopping.
Apart from my edible needs, I needed to get my body care products. This ranges from skincare products, pad, body cream, spray antiperspirant, and perfumes.
I just wasn’t able to do all that, sadly.

On my return, I had a conversation with my friend about the challenges a girl-child faces in today’s economy and I suddenly really questioned how much a girl-child who’s in the university, should be given as monthly allowance. I debated for N70,000. But that’s besides my main purpose of writing this.

The only reason I was sad about not being able to buy my fragrances is because I was really looking forward to adding new collections to my stash.
Currently, I have more than 12 perfumes and this ranges from pure oil perfumes to liquids, the mild fragrances and alcoholic based fragrances.

67AF2802-4AF9-4AB3-A0F3-0D72023C23C2.jpeg

My current collection

Last night, I posted a picture of my perfumes and a friend asked if they were for sale. That cracked me up. I wonder why people think owning up to 15 different fragrances is odd. What happens when I own proper expensive perfumes like the ones from Lataffa?
Like I always tell people, as far as I’m concerned, there’s nothing like too many perfumes. Unless we’re talking about numbers above 50.

Why should anyone own that much number of perfumes?

Owning different collections of perfumes gives you the opportunity to smell differently every time. Personally, I don’t like to be predictable. I don’t like people to perceive a scent from me and be able to tell exactly what I’m wearing. Having multiple fragrances gives me the liberty to combine different scents to produce a new fragrance entirely.

There’s also the advantage of having your scent in tune with the occasion you’re out for. For date nights, you’ll find me wearing my female elements like the famous Mousuf Wardi, Mousuf Alya, Heiba, Dancer pink and oil perfumes with fruity or flowery notes.
These perfumes are very feminine and appealing. They’re perfect for the occasion, so they serve.
But if I’m going to work or school, I wear stronger perfumes knowing I’ll have a long day, I’m not trying to get unnecessary male attention and I want to be focused so I could wear Deal, Emergency, For Her and the likes.

Additionally, I attest to the fact that smelling good brightens your mood. I walk with confidence knowing that I leave behind a trail of satisfying and breathtaking fragrances.
Imagine giving a colleague a hug, he smells you and hugs even longer or tighter, do you know you’ve relieved his stress to an extent? Perfumes are absolute joy givers!

My perfumes, to me, are like little fragments of my heart. Without them I feel incomplete. They mean a whole lot to me. People may think that this is a lot but I’m looking forward to purchase some more. You can call me obsessed and that’s okay; Nigeria is already a tough place right now, make it easy for citizens by smelling good.


All images used on this post are mine. Cover image created by me using Canva


7C12B052-0701-4E49-93BF-02C42B0A8B52.png