How I Made a 'Lacelet' with these 4 Easy Steps || Creative Sunday.

in Hive Learnerslast year (edited)

Hello Hivians! Welcome to my blog 🤗. So a few days ago, I got bored jobless and I randomly found an old piece of shoelace lying on the floor. Suddenly, an idea popped up to crochet a lacelet with it although, it's my first time making one.

Now, a “lacelet” is a word I'm not sure exists but I coined that name because it's a 'bracelet' made with a 'shoelace'. And since the end result came out nice, I thought about redoing it for the creative Sunday initiative. This time, I took photos of my process. So in this blog, I'd be showing you the diy process of how I made this lacelet of mine 😊.

MATERIALS USED:

  • A piece of shoelace.
  • Doubled pieces of yarn.
  • 5mm crochet hook.
  • A pair of scissors
    • THE PROCESS:

    STEP 1: Join your piece of shoelace and a piece of your yarn. In this case, I doubled mine for no serious reason. The piece of yarn simply serves as a design to complement the lace colour. You're free to go creative with your colour mix. Then, once you've joined both, make a slip knot on which you'll insert your hook into. Also, make sure to leave out some of the lace ends which would serve as the tie end of the lacelet.

    IMG_20221029_044048.jpg


    STEP 2: Once you've twisted one part of the lace unto your index finger, use the hook on your right hand to yarn over the lace, then you pull through.

    IMG_20221029_044430.jpg

    I think this process would be easier for crocheters who are already familiar with the term. Which is why I wish this was a video tutorial so others can understand better. Anyway let's move on... This process is basically called the “chaining process”. What I did was create chains with my hook which would serve as the body of the bracelet. For this case, I chained until the end of the lace was equal to the other tie end. So now there's two tie ends.

    IMG_20221029_045009.jpg


    STEP 3: The next step is to close up both ends by first pulling through the yarn with our hook and cutting off with a scissors. The first end should be closed up by tying the yarn and the lace together. This is done so that the lacelet doesn't come lose. Also make sure to cut off the excess yarn as we won't be needing them anymore.

    IMG_20221029_045216.jpg

    IMG_20221029_045438.jpg

    STEP 4: This is the final step and it only entails tying both tie ends in a way that it's adjustable and easy to wear. All you have to do is take one end and tie into the other.

    IMG_20221029_050758.jpg

    This is how it should look in the end.

    IMG_20221029_050821.jpg

    And voilà! A nicely done lacelet!

    IMG_20221029_050351.jpg

    I believe this diy would be beneficial to us bracelet lovers. It feels good to make something beautiful out of anything. Plus, it'll help to save money. Stuff like this is pretty expensive out there but in the comfort of my zone, I can make one for myself with available resources.

    It was fun making this and I hope you like it as much as I do. And please do let me know what you think of my little creativity ☺️.

    THANKS FOR READING! ❤️

    Sort:  

    Congratulations @dimmablogs! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

    You got more than 1500 replies.
    Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

    You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

    Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
    Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
     last year  

    Wow! This is so damn creative and the name is just perfect 😂.
    Black and red go so well together and they look so beautiful on your wrist✨.
    I really love how you explained the process so well, I'd definitely love to try making something like this someday 😊.
    Thanks for sharing!❤️

     last year  

    I know right?! Black and red is a lovely combo. I'm glad you love my creativity... you should definitely try it too ☺️❤️.

     last year (edited) 

    Wow... Dimma is super creative and I love this. It's looking so nice in your hand .... shoelaces turned to lacelet🥰😊

    What a unique name you gave it😂👍💪

     last year  

    😅 thanks a lot mama. I'm glad you love it 🥰❤️

     last year  

    Yea Dimma
    It's nice 👍

     last year  

    Wow these is such a beautiful wristband you made, I so much love the colour combinations and the likes, you did an excellent job.

    Keep up the good work.

     last year  

    Thank you sir! It's indeed a beautiful colour combo and I'm glad you love my creativity 🥰.

     last year  

    All of this brings back memories.. There used to be a time I was a pro at this and would knit wristbands with different style on em.

     last year  

    It's funny how our minds get creative especially when we are bored and having nothing to do. I love how you could turn a shoelace to a lacelet wore on the wrist. That was creativity speaking and it helps one save money too.
    Good job ✌️

     last year  

    I'm telling you. I think my creativity spurs out more when I'm bored 😅... Oh yes, it definitely saves money. Thank you for your kind words 🥰, I'm glad you like it.

     last year  

    This is amazing and it's something I will try out one of these days. Truly creative. 🥰

     last year  

    Thank you! ❤️ You should try it someday.

     last year  

    This is beautiful, lacelet🤣 I like the name well done dear. It's a creative art indeed.👍

     last year  

    😅 the name is funny and creative too... Thank you ma, I'm glad you love my art 🥰

    Yay! 🤗
    Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @dimmablogs.
    Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

    Support Ecency
    Vote for new Proposal
    Delegate HP and earn more

     last year  

    Thanks Ecency!

     last year (edited) 

    Everytime you are always making beautiful things for yourself with the use of wool and seeing how you crochet this hand lace is amazing and I love it😋. Red and black even goes together and makes it looks colorful .

     last year  

    😅 I do love being creative sometimes... Thank you babe, I'm glad you love it. Red and black make good complementary colours and they're my favorite too 🥰.

     last year  

    I watch people be creative and I wonder what I'm doing with myself 😅😅

     last year  

    😂😅 well, that's what I used to think... You just have to get creative too. It's within everyone 🙂.

     last year  

    I just think I have so many hidden talents, in fact my talents are well hidden I haven't discovered them yet

     last year  

    If i say you are good 🙂 you will tell me I'm flattering or teasing you, ok see what you did are you not good ? Common dear show me this way 🤣 😂 lols. I appreciate your good work thanks for sharing 💓.

     last year  

    😅 Mr money has come again, thank you for your kind words, I appreciate it ❤️. You're doing so good yourself, I think you're already on the right track.

    Thanks for stopping by! 🤗

     last year  

    LoLs 😂 you know I'm saying the truth anyways

     last year  Reveal Comment
     last year  

    Thank you! I'm glad you like it and yes, you should definitely try it out too 🥰.