The Story of My Username DLMMQB!

in Hive Learners11 months ago (edited)

Hello, Hivers! Due to your repeated requests, I have taken some time off from my other work to fulfill your wish and write about this topic.

hive-divider.png

The Original Origin:

My First Laptop Pic

I received my first PC as a gift from my grandmother when I was in 3rd grade. A friend from our apartment complex came to install Windows on the computer. Since it was my very own PC, I decided to set a password, thinking that I would be the sole user (my child brain). When the technician/friend asked for the password, I recalled that my dad held the rank of ALM (Assistant Leading Man) in his job. As a child, I wanted to become a doctor (which later changed to a scientist) in the future. It was from the notion of being a doctor that the initial 'D' in DLMMQB originated, and the 'LM' came from my dad's rank. While my dad was the ALM, I became the DLM. This is why, Hivers, you notice me refer to myself as DLM rather than DLMMQB.

Now, let's talk about the addition of MQB. In Windows 98, a password had to be at least six letters long. To meet this requirement, I added 'MQB' from my name, Muhammad Qasim Butt. However, would it be accurate to call me the 'Doctor's Leading Man Muhammad Qasim Butt'? I don't believe so. As a child, I simply enjoyed inventing words without a particular meaning, and I no longer feel that this origin story aligns with who I am today. As a software engineer, my current occupation, I no longer relate with the notion of being a doctor. Therefore, I prefer not to associate this username with its original story, as it no longer reflect myself.

hive-divider.png

DLMMQB Became a Convinence:

Nearly all games required a username of at least six letters, which led me to adopt DLMMQB as my gamer tag. You can find more details about this in my INTRODUCTION POST:

image.png

Screenshot from my Introduction Post

Using DLMMQB as my username (I stopped using as password) became a convenient choice across various platforms, whether it was farming games on Miniclip or Gameofbombs (formerly known as Bomermine). On all social media platforms, you can find me under the username dlmmqb. Feel free to follow me on Twitter, where I often use the #hive hashtag in my tweets.

image.png

A screenshot of my stats of Gameofbombs

hive-divider.png

The Second Meaning of DLMMQB:

Near Dalmia.jpeg

During one of my cousin's visits to our home, we used to live near Dalmia Colony, also known as Mujahid Colony. As my cousin noticed my username, he couldn't resist asking about its meaning. I decided to challenge him to guess, as I hadn't decided any specific meaning of it in my mind. To my surprise, he guessed "DLM" with Dalmia, and thus a new meaning of my username was born. However, just as our living place changed with time, this meaning also became outdated and no longer relates with me.

hive-divider.png

The Third Meaning of DLMMQB:

My First Day at Office Pic

When I joined an office job in 2019 (which lasted for 1.5 years), my colleagues became curious about the meaning behind DLMMQB, as it was set as my laptop's login username. Being unsure of how to respond, I decided to create a new meaning of the DLM. I turned to astrology and searched for ways to derive meaning from a word, which led me to a set of rules. According to these rules, D equated to 4, L to 12, and M to 13. Using a combination of blablabla and gibberish, I applied the formula, resulting in the meaning "A Person with a dream or a vision."

From that point onward, whenever I was asked about the meaning of DLM, I confidently explained that it means Dreamer/Visionary, while MQB represented my name so I am a dreamer/visionary person. This meaning gave me a sense of satisfaction, as it was something that could remain same over time. I believed that no one would change it in the future, but as life often proves, it is filled with surprises......

hive-divider.png

The Fourth Meaning of DLMMQB:

image.png

Used with rehan12 kind permission

I was on the Neoxian City Discord server, when Protokkol showed curiosity about my username. I shared the story of "The Original Origin" with him, explaining that the name no longer felt suitable since I was neither a doctor nor want to follow that path anymore. I expressed my confusion about what to do with the username's meaning.

To my surprise, Protokkol suggested using "De" as a alternative for The, which also means as "The" in certain contexts. This meaning took me by surprise, as I had never considered such a meaning before.

hive-divider.png

Closing Thoughts:

averie-woodard-5d20kdvFCfA-unsplash.jpg

SOURCE

DLM means "De Leading Man"? I have my doubts about that since it sounds rather odd. It's clear that DLM no longer represents Dalmia or doctor. For me, DLM can hold any meaning one chooses to assign to it. If Protokkol wishes to refer to me as 'De Leading Man Muhammad Qasim Butt,' that's perfectly alright. And if I occasionally use DLM to represent dreamer/visionary nature of mine, that's also acceptable. Ultimately, DLM can be whatever the other person wants it to be, while MQB will always represent Muhammad Qasim Butt in my name.

hive-divider.png

A Side Note (Strong Password):

kenny-eliason-mgYAR7BzBk4-unsplash.jpg

SOURCE

How to Set a Strong Password? I was doing an assignment of Data Encrption & Security and to my surprise I was already using one of the storgest methods with my own touch. I decided to share this with you because coolguy222 (a hiver from Pakistan) recently got hacked. Hacker took money from his non hive wallet. Now let's begain sharing how you can set a strong password like mine.

Step 1:

Make a Long sentence in your mind.

Let's say you want it to be "I love Hive Learners". A sentence should be at least 8 words long as per my suggestion though.

So now take first letter from each word of sentence. The resulting word would be "ilhl".

Step 2:

Make the first word capital. So it will become "Ilhl", the good thing is now no one can know your password from shoulder surfing too cause it's already to complex cause capital "I" and small "l" often look similar.

Step 3:

Now add 1 number in front of it. For example you added 1. It will become "Ilhl1".

Step 4:

Now add two special characters. For example 2 and 3, special characters are @# so it will become "Ilhl1@#".

Step 5:

Now you can take 3 letters from any website you want to sign up for. For example if it's a gmail password it will be

"Ilhlgma1@#".

If it's facebook then it will be "Ilhlfac1@#".

If you follow these steps while setting your passwords then even if you sign up for something and their cloud data got compromise, you will still be in the safe zone.

You can also make your own versions like taking 2 letters from facebook or taking last 3 letters and more.

Stay Safe Hivers!

hive-divider.png

Wanna read more? Check out: ONE WORD: FAITH!

ONE WORD: FAITH!.jpg

Disclaimer: This blog talks about Faith by using a real-life religious example, but my intention is to show you the big picture about Faith to my general audience.
I was in 11th grade studying computer science in college. It was a regular day, but something strange happened on that day that taught me a lot of things in life. My friend played cricket during PT period; as usual, I was solving physics numerical in my classroom. I was physically present in class, but mentally I was thinking about Faith in GOD. I was thinking about two incidents that happened in the history of Islam.

hive-divider.png

Wanna vote for dlmmqb's posts? Set up an autovote with Hive.Vote.

Delegate HP to dlmmqb to show support!

Is Voting #WITNESSES difficult? Let me do it for you!
Set dlmmqb as your PROXY VOTER

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

23swXQgUNzHCUaoqVQ7xJsMWUUjSApjCzgkGyzcvzGpiGuHbnAkuDqsETkWRwo6X3oVva.gif

hive-divider.png

Consider Supporting me by using my referral links:

Release your inner Rock Star with RisingStar! #playforfree #play2earn

A new era of card battle games, Try Splinterlands! #play2earn

Put your idle Splinterlands cards to auto-renting with Splex.GG! #automation

Become a Digital farmer with dcrops and grow your own NFTs! #play2earn

hive-divider.png

Sort:  

Interesting story about your username as I always found it odd, like you know it's not random but it's not an acronym either.

Using a phrase to generate a password is a very good idea, I use that as well, and normally change a to @ or 1 to ! so I meet the special character requirement. The other thing I do is to use old addresses as that always has numerics and enough words where I can pick the first letter of each to meet the length requirement

 11 months ago  

It's not surprising that people find DLM odd. If I were in my senses, I might have chosen an easier to remember name. However, as a kid, I named myself whatever I wanted, and it became my internet identity. I even made a basic site with https://dlmmqb.com/ which I never updated.
People suggested that I shouldn't name my site dlmmqb, but for now, it will stay with me. The more difficult it is, the harder it is to forget once you remember it.
I'm glad to know that you also use it. Speaking of addresses, hmm, I wish you could observe how complex addresses are in Pakistan. Even my current location has many standards for addresses, and delivery boys often get confused. If I were to use addresses, I would also likely forget whether Block X was first or Flat ABC123 was first.

 11 months ago  

You set a nickname and after that, you started to bring out many meanings of the name. it's interesting. I think very few do such kind of thing.

"A Person with a dream or a vision."

I liked it very much and I think the meaning of the name perfectly matches you.

De Leading Man Muhammad Qasim Butt

Now I know the background of your name and I was interested to know about it from the beginning. After evolution, you got a more perfect and more meaningful name although the short form remains the same.

I am always careful about my password and I used to set strong passwords from earlier and I think we all should need to be careful in case of setting passwords because recent days hacking is occurring.
!PIZZA

 11 months ago  

Really? I'm not too sure if dreamer/visionary matches my personality. It's still a grey area for me.
Glad to know you enjoyed the evolution of my username. I believe that in the future, it will gain even more meanings.
Having a strong password is a must if we want to work online. As my teacher once said, When we are connected to the internet, we are standing between a terminal, and a car from any side can hit us so we need to be very careful. Being careful isn't just about passwords or encryption but also about the type of data we choose to store, as any cloud storage can be compromised. Precaution is necessary.

 11 months ago  

Really? I'm not too sure if dreamer/visionary matches my personality. It's still a grey area for me.

As well as I know about you I think it's a perfect match with you. You can ask others and I am hopeful that they will say what I said to you.

it will gain even more meanings.

I will be waiting to know about it.

Having a strong password is a must if we want to work online.

Yes, Indeed we need to make it strong as much as we can. I will remember what you have said.

 11 months ago  

Bruh, Used 100% of Brain for the username Haha.... I'm blown after reading origin of DLMMQB. Tho, I knew MQB is your real name.. if I remember you told it once maybe in discord or blog..

According to these rules, D equated to 4, L to 12, and M to 13. Using a combination of blablabla and gibberish, I applied the formula, resulting in the meaning "A Person with a dream or a vision."

For real, my math isn't matching anymore 😂. I'll call it DLM Formula.. that meaning is way too nice.

Your username Got more meanings than her mood swings 😂🤣

 11 months ago  

Nah, that was just a glimpse. I have mentioned my real name several times. The first time I shared it was on PYPT (as much as I can recall).
The DLM Formula seems fine to me.
"Why don't scientists trust atoms when they're on their periods?
Because they make up everything!"

 11 months ago  

This post is a true definition of change in perspective due to growth. I really love the meaning to your username and it's really nice. I think "De leading man'' is more better than others though

 11 months ago  

You can create the meaning of DLM however you like. Free bird!

 11 months ago (edited) 

Wow, so this is the origin of DLM? Now I know better.. interesting

And if I occasionally use DLM to represent dreamer/visionary nature of mine, that's also acceptable

Now, I love this... you know what? It speaks much about you and I think protokkol made a smart suggestion here.

 11 months ago  

Glad to know you loved it. Protokkol seems like a curious person. I hope he also remembers, "Curiosity kills the cat". I pronounce Protokkol as Protocol.

Amazing. Do you know what? I don't need to know a meaning of a word I invented myself, so far it sounds cool to me. Sincerely, I love how your nickname was originated and the meaning had something amazing in them especially that of Protokkol. I prefer that too.

I also use strong password too; one no one would be able to guess because I wouldn't want any issue just like your friend from Pakistan to happen.
Nice taking us through how you got the name: DLMMQB

 11 months ago  

I'm glad to know you liked the version of protokkol. If you can think of a new meaning, let me know. I was amazed at the meaning he gave too because I could never have thought of it all those years.
Thanks for joining me on my username journey! :)

 11 months ago (edited) 

We all have nicknames for our loved ones and you introduced your own nickname.You are very intelligent since childhood.How did you dlm your pc password in 3rd class.
And believe me, I didn't know your nickname Your nickname is DLMMQB

 11 months ago  

I prefer to be called DLM, though.

 11 months ago  

that's good

It's an interesting story behind your username DLMMQB. Like others, I was also curious to know about the meaning of your username and today this curiosity ended. De Leading Maa Muhammad Qasim Butt sounds good✨.

 11 months ago  

Finally, you are at peace! :)
Now I can also refer people to this blog if they ask for the meaning again. xD
My name is such a conversation starter haha.

You may also pin it in your profile so people will easily get the meaning of your username.

 11 months ago  

I don't know to pin.

Cool story ! I always imagined you rolled your face on the keyboard and that's how you came up with the name :P

 11 months ago  

exactly :)))

Wow, bro, this is something very interesting haha
You know what when I first joined Hivepakistan, I was a bit confused with your name but now all alphabets in your name make sense to me and I understand it completely.
You really put up your brain and cleverness in password and surname :)
Have a good day ahead!

 11 months ago  

Glad to know you found it interesting. BOOM!
I've noticed that you often disappear from Hive. This might affect the results you are hoping for from Hive. I don't want to discourage you, but it's important to stay committed and take additional steps if you want to be competitive. Alternatively, you can continue to enjoy your free flow style.

Logging into your accounts now thanks bro! nice stories !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@dynamicrypto just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @dlmmqb.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

 11 months ago  

GOOOOOD LUCK!

 11 months ago  

O.O So now your name makes sense and you even came up with others ways to explain your name which is a lot of work just for a nickname. Oh well at least you enjoy your username :D. My nickname back then was smile power because I smiled a lot. I got made fun of because even when soccer ball hit me right in the stomach and knock me out I would be smiling after getting hit :')

 11 months ago  

You reminded me of a classmate. When our teacher was serious, he would laugh and get hit with a ruler, but he would continue laughing. The next day, the teacher called his parents only to find out that he suffered from a medical condition.
You could also call yourself the Joker of Batman!

 11 months ago  

O.O Do i look like your classmate nani. wow I don't know if i would laugh in that situation hmmmm but damn your teachers were allowed to hit u D: . thats pretty illegal in america xD. as for the medical condition i dont have one :P. by the way what happen your savings D: i stalked u and its all gone :x buying splinterlands tuff now?

 11 months ago  

You reminded me of my classmate because he also laughs. Hitting is common in schools but not in the university which I am currently attending. My family got stuck in a financial setback, so I decided to fund them as it's the reason we earn. Although funding doesn't fall solely on my shoulders due to the current social system, they accepted the funds but said it's better if they don't accept it as a gift but as a loan. I will not get any APR on it, but in 2 months, I will receive around 1-2 lac PKR, which is approximately $150-300, and then they will slowly repay in my account "dlmmqb" savings. By the end of December, I will be making $28 per month again, in addition to what I make from blogging. I had the option to not hurt my finances in this mess, but I decided that I will earn more in the future, so I went all in to get them out of the mess. After all, family is important.

 11 months ago  

Hmm then we probably would get a long in real life O.O wait for u to get rich to visit malaysia one day :d. It's ok totally understand family is important. That's why we need to earn and get richer to protect ourself from messes and any problems wtih financials having that money can solve those issues @_@ and keep our mind at peace

 11 months ago  

Wow that's interesting how you set your username, i get confused often about MQB as i writing mbq but now I'll Remember it because i know the logic behind it.

Intelligent 🧠🤓

 11 months ago  

Glad to know you found it interesting. You can pronounce it as 'Dallam-maqqab' for the easiest way to remember.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@intishar(2/5) tipped @dlmmqb

 10 months ago  

Now I must confess, this was an intriguing story. And now I'm wondering if the meaning behind my username will ever change. But since change is a constant thing, I doubt it will stay forever, unless, my wandering spirit never leaves me.

I love the part you said the acronyms in your name can mean anything to anyone. This means you give us the chance to build our imaginations around your choice of name.

What a powerful name from different origin and meaning. Thanks for the great information you shared in the last part of the post.

 11 months ago  

Hey, I checked, and I saw that you are blacklisted by HW, but I couldn't find any comments left by HW. Contact me on Discord @dlmmqb for guidance, or reach out to HW to first get the status of your account. If an appeal period is necessary, the sooner it starts, the sooner it will finish. Stay strong and have faith. Humans make mistakes, and once they accept them and receive punishment, others usually let them go, hoping they won't make the same mistake again. Best of luck!