NEWBIES TASK INITIATIVE-1: My Hive Goals For The Next 3 Months.

in Hive Learners2 years ago

hive newbie initiative.jpg

“If You Fail to Plan, You Are Planning to Fail”
— Benjamin Franklin

Hello.

@drceeyou here.

This is my entry for the hive newbies task initiative.

I intend to take you on a journey. A journey into my world. I cannot guarantee that it would be a pleasant journey with the wind in your hair and the splashing of the water around you like in a boat ride. The aim of this is to put a landmark. A sign that says...

This is is where it all began.

It's a journey of approximately 90days...12weeks..3months. The sole aim of the journey is to arrive at Hive-Land Mastery. The pioneers of this Journey, @starstrings01, and @newbies-hive decided to convey a group of recruits to "Hive-Land Mastery" and I must show my sincere and unreserved appreciation.

@theycallmedan, @lazypanda, and the @aliento team have made this voyage possible by their generous contribution, and I say, Thanks a million.

Ok.

Enough of pleasantries. Let's start the engines and see how far we can go in this first of many trips to "Hive-Land Mastery".

First of all, a highlight of what this trip would cover.

hive learners page break.png

Highlights

  1. My Hive goals by the End of the Initiative (In 3 months) in terms of

    • Hive Power
    • followers
    • comments
    • engagements and any other Hive related goals I have in mind
  2. How do I plan to achieve these goals?

  3. What challenges do I think I may likely face trying to attain these goals?

Let's begin.

hive learners page break.png
hive learners page break.png

1. My Hive Goals by the end of the initiative.

When I first started on the hive about 5 months ago, confusion was an understatement for what I felt everytime I took my phone to interact on the platform. It was nothing like I had ever seen. The UI, the graphics, it was all extremely...foreign to me.

I wanted to give up. Besides, I had other things to do than spend my time trying to figure out this maze. But thankfully, I didn't need to figure anything out. I just needed to follow someone that was ahead of me and had blazed a path. It was a bliss to follow as @draysax led. Assisted by @jaydr, @draysax showed me the ropes and finally, I could do a lot of things on my own.

I cant teach you everything, I don't know everything.

@draysax told me one day. I knew it was true. I had to do my own research. I needed to understand the seas for myself.

Have you applied for the Newbie Initiative?

@jaydr asked me one day... I didn't know anything about it...

go and look for it and apply...

He said to me.

I must confess that in my engagement with the platform these 5 months I didn't think it was worth drawing a plan for. I have recently had a change of heart with this initiative for newbies and i now see how important having a plan/goal is.

So, here is my goal for the next 3 months.

hive learners page break.png

Hive Power.

When I first heard of Hive Power, the first thought I had was twin power. Strange ain't it?
Well, I am a big fan of Nickelodeon's "The Thundermans". Max and Phoebe demonstrate their twin power after their whole family had been captured and were under the control of the son of the evil villain, " Dr. Colosso". I digress.

My point is, it was the strangest thing I had heard in a long time. But, with time, I got to understand that I needed HP(not Hewlett Packard), to be able to grow meaningfully on the hive network.

Currently, I have 31 HP.

HP.jpg

My goal is to triple it in the next three months. I must say, thinking about it, some part of me is scared that I may fall short. But someone said,

if your dream doesn't scare you, it isn't big enough.

So, HP of between 94-100 in the next three months is the goal.. So help me God.

hive learners page break.png

Followers.

From my own research, I noted that most people didn't put a lot of emphasis on followers in their explanations about the platform. It's important to follow people and have people following you. But I found that who you follow determines what your feed would be full of, so choosing whom to follow is critical.

I still don't know how much effect the number of people following you have.

Rank.jpg

I have 27 followers and I am currently following 105 people.

hive learners page break.png

The plan is to multiply those numbers by 3.
81 followers and 315 following in 3 months.

Comments

I was told...

comments are as important as making posts on the hive platform.
When you comment on someone's post, you acknowledge that you took your time to read the post.

I agree.

I was also sternly warned about irrelevant comments and extremely brief comments. It's considered spam. Constructive comments are always rewarded.

I have found this to be true. And although I know how important it is to make contributions to others in the form of comments, I still have very few comments. Bad.

total number of comments.jpg

485 comments in 5 months.. very poor index. But the Hive newbie initiative I believe would help me reach my goal of 1455 comments in 3 months...

Yes... I multiplied it by 3.

hive learners page break.png

Engagements and any other Hive related goals I have in mind

Upvotes

One day, I sat down and read the manual that gives a comprehensive outline of what the hive platform entails. I got to the section that spoke about upvotes and that was the first time I got to understand what upvotes were about. I understood their relevance. My initial notion was that each upvote I give depletes my HP.

Well, I was wrong... In fact, my upvote gives me the opportunity to earn a small percentage from the post I upvote. everybody wins.

So, the goal is to make at least 10 upvotes everyday.

Delegations

I have had some people delegate HP to me in my times of crisis with my Resource Credits (RC). They enabled me to continue interacting with the network without seeing that error message pop up... I got a lot of those pop-up error messages when I first started.

My plan is to do the same... to delegate at least 5 HPs to 5 people in the next 3 months.

and that brings me to the next point.

Referrals

I have so far, enjoyed every bit of hive. As everyday goes by, I get a sort of dopamine high everytime I interact with the Hive. And to think that I am being paid for this pleasurable feeling, I do think that other people should come onboard too.

So far, I have zero(0) referrals. The Plan is to have 10 referrals by the end of 3 months.

hive learners page break.pnghive learners page break.png

2. How do I plan to achieve these goals?

Achieving these goals is going to prove difficult. I know there would be a lot of temptations to give up on my goals and just face something else.

That is why I have drawn out a plan that involves a daily routine.

I read James Clear's book "Atomic Habits" and he proposes that the best way to get large tasks done is to break them down into small actionable bits that can be done consistently until the whole task is completed.

That's my plan... A daily routine that involves, commenting, upvoting, and actively letting people know about the hive. 1 person a day, 5-10 comments a day, 10upvotes daily, 3-5 posts weekly.

small actionable tasks.

hive learners page break.pnghive learners page break.png

3. What challenges do I think I may likely face trying to attain these goals?

Finally, we get to talk about the bottle-necks... and there seem to be a lot of them.

First, I am a medical doctor in Nigeria. The average ratio of patient to doctor 4:10,000. That means that 1 doctor is supposed to be responsible for 2500 patients. The WHO has put the standard at 1:600. With, a lot of my colleagues leaving the country, that ratio has significantly increased.

Thats not the point.

The point is I can be really busy seeing patients and then get really tired, too tired to write when it is all over.

That's the most narrow bottleneck.

Other smaller ones include...

Demotivation.

writers' block(once in a while).

Well... that's it.

That's how far we can go on the trip today...

Stay Jiggy.

hive learners page break.pnghive learners page break.pnghive learners page break.png

PS

I started my writing journey on facebook. I put up some healthy bits there. You can follow me here

Sort:  

Man, I love your post arrangement. You made a goal of 100 HP, Don't be surprised if you crush down that goal by a long distance.

 2 years ago  

Well, thank you @starstrings01

I am not sure what my emotion would be when I find out that I crushed my 100HP goal even before 3 months...

But I am certainly going to celebrate it...

Thanks for your support...

 2 years ago  

I really think your honesty works at this point for you and it great to see how much efforts you would inject

 2 years ago  

I am glad you see it that way...

Thanks for your support mate.

 2 years ago  

Your goals are very attainable if you can stay consistent and committed, and as well share Quality content.

I see your going beyond your goals within those period, expectially the HP.

 2 years ago  

I believe you can achieve the goals you listed in two months if you keep constant and not only stay consistent, but also diversify your niche and engage with others.

I'm not sure why Nigerian doctors are going abroad; I assume it's for a better life... everyone will take any opportunity to leave this country as soon as possible.

 2 years ago  

You are absolutely right, if I'm given the opportunity I will JAPA, lol.

 2 years ago (edited) 

I love how you arranged your post. Nice one. The 'Twin Power' thing got me cracked up. Lol.

You have smart goals which I'm sure can be attained in a shorter time if you put in more work.

I love Doctors, nice meeting you Doctor Samuel🤗

Good luck.

 2 years ago  

Hi @ruchial

I am pleased to read your kind words.

You love Doctors? Well, isn't that a wide net to fish with?

Thank you for stopping by.

 2 years ago  

You are welcome, Doc

 2 years ago  

We might be seeing that twin power in effect pretty soon, hehe.

I must say I love your sense of humor, I could just imagine the small grin that grew across your face while you were writing some lines, it's pretty great to meet a jolly writer.

Your time so far has been productive and it's great to see that you have mentors, they're really experienced ones at that. You just need consistency and a bit of strong drive, it's not easy with the work load you just described, but I believe in you my friend, you'll treat hive like a patient that needs your care, you'll be checking up on her everyday and ensuring that she's doing alright.

I wish you good luck doctor, I appreciate you ❤️

 2 years ago  

Well, you got me there man! @chincoculbert .

Man, I like you already.

Your compliments, then the metaphor? It's just a perfect string of words to make my day.

Thanks for stopping by.

 2 years ago  

Well, you got me there man! @chincoculbert

Well, I've always got you whenever you need me bro.

Man, I like you already.

Man you're going to make me blush 😂😂😂..thank you

Your compliments, then the metaphor? It's just a perfect string of words to make my day.

Your post brought out the best in me. I'm glad I made your day doctor.

Do have a splendid day ❤️✅