I Should Not Have Promised

in Hive Learners10 months ago

I Should Not Have Promised

Designed With Canva

Promises are very powerful, in the days of the old, they were esteemed highly to the extent that in the holy bible, it was captured that anyone who knows can't fulfill a promise should not even give one out. Meaning it is even blessed to say I am not sure, but let's see how it goes than to say I promise. hehhe.

But in our day reverse is the case, our generation doesn't take anything seriously, our generation wants to always act smart, no wonder we are suffering and we can't really pinpoint what the problem is.

Some people say "promises are made to be broken, and rules are as well made to be broken," I believe most of us have come across those statements before, of course in one way or another other we will certainly break promises and rules but one thing we often forget is that there are consequences attached to doing that. In fact, it is even safer if you broke them unknowingly, at least, you might be considered if you apologize but he who deliberately breaks these things will have himself to blame for the aftermath.



Take for instance our beloved politicians, after every four years, come forth with upgraded lies (promises) to lure us into voting for them, but as soon as they enter into power they throw those promises away. You see how unserious our generation is right? We only care about ourselves. In those days kings and rulers were known for their words.

In one way or the other most of us, if not all have broken promises before for one reason or the other. For me, I have done it countless times and though I am trying really hard to avoid breaking them, I am sure I will still break some one day. The best way to stay safe is not to promise anything at all. If it's in your capacity to get a thing done, just go ahead and do it and save us the lies.


My Story

Source

A few months back, I called a friend who seemed to have forgotten me for long, she doesn't call, she doesn't text, not even on social media. When I called we spoke at length and I expressed my grievance over her uncaring attitude. She quietly waited for me to finish talking after which she said "Can I bill you? (Ask for money)" Hehe, I laughed, in my mind, I was like" Is this lady for real? Well go ahead if I can I will do it but I am broke" I replied. I expected her to understand my condition but no.

She insisted that I should promise her I was going to send the money, I tried to dodge it but she made me approve of the promise. Well, I did, in fact, I even gave her a fixed day. That day came and passed and I didn't fulfil the promise. I wished to send the money, but seriously things were difficult then. most ladies don't understand the language of I don't have. I wished I hadn't promised her but it has happened already there is nothing I can do.


How Did My Action Affect Our Relationship?

Well, to date, we have not spoken on the phone, I am even feeling bad to call her because I know she is definitely going to ask for the money and for failing her, she is going to see me like a liar. Her trust in me will definitely be affected. I even tried chatting her up a few days back but she hasn't viewed it talk more of replying. I have seen her online several times but she has not dropped me any message.

I have learned my lessons, instead of giving out fake promises, I will just learn to tell the truth, at least no one will beat me. If I can, fine if I can not, I rather say it out there. Breaking promises hurts badly, I have been victimized too, and I know how it feels. I wish those vows husband and wife make on the alter needed to be reviewed, most people don't really know the degree of what they are entering into with such promises. Maybe churches should stop giving the couple responses and allow make those marriage vows sincerely from their hearts.

"Promise and fail is a sin" as it is said. Never allow anyone to force you into promising anything you know you can't fulfill. The truth might be bitter but it sets free in the days of calamity.


Thanks For Reading

Sort:  
 10 months ago  

Firstly I think she didn't done the right thing. Because she insisted you to make the promise. In friendship I try to avoid financial issues. Secondly you why you made the promise and didn't fulfilled it. So I think you broke your promise and it was not right also.

 10 months ago  

You are right brother, both if us are at fault but mine seem to be even worse because I promised, when I know it was beyond my power to fulfil..

Thanks for reading mate❤️

Your comment reflects a deep understanding of the power and significance of promises, contrasting the approach to promises in the past with the present-day attitude. The recognition of the consequences of breaking promises, particularly in the context of our generation, is thought-provoking.

Your personal story provides a real-life example of the impact of a broken promise on a relationship. It emphasizes the importance of being honest about our capabilities and limitations, and how a broken promise can lead to a loss of trust and strain in relationships.

 10 months ago  

It's really annoying how things are changing from good to worse in our generation but I believe strongly that someday, it will be better.

Thanks so much for the amazing comment. I really appreciate.

 10 months ago  

I think you should not stress yourself about the promise. You did not have but you were compelled to promise. She should have also been caring or understanding with the grievances or tried to pacify you but rather, she was more concerned with what she wanted to get off of you

 10 months ago  

Heheh, you know ladies don't really understand that men also have problem, they see most of us as money making machines🤣.

Thanks for reading

 10 months ago  

You're right though

 10 months ago  

politicians are masters when it comes to breaking promises and the worst thing is that they are very nonchalant about it when they are eventually called out for not fulfilling the promises they made during campaign season

from your experience, I won't even blame you for not fulfilling that promise, seeing as she was the one who forced you into it. The whole thing is just crazy because she billed you just after so many years of not talking to you, I will rather avoid someone like that sha

 10 months ago  

Politicians cases are special, those guys are something else.

Lol.. you are right, I think I am supposed to cut ties with such because, I don't see it normal for someone to forget you to that extent and when you tried to check up on them, the next thing you get is Billing...

Thanks for reading boss

 10 months ago (edited) 

One thing I am always careful of is not to be forced into making promises. When you make a promise and fail, it affects your reputation and taint your integrity.
#dreemport

 10 months ago  

For sure, broken promises always affects our relationship and status.. I felt bad for promising her though...

Thanks so much for reading ma

 10 months ago  

Bro. Even though you had promised her, I feel she doesn't care much about you outside what she'll benefit. For her not to chat you up is a good evidence that all she wanted was the money. After a long time and the first thing she ask is money. I wouldn't give honestly, not promising would have been a better way

 10 months ago  

That's what I concluded too, Sha I have learnt my lessons and I promise to just cut ties with her.. I can keep someone who only keeps me for what she can benefit..

Thanks for reading sir

 10 months ago  

Good you've learned, and that's the important thing

 10 months ago  

True boss, thanks for showing up

 10 months ago  

I believe that the girl was only after the promise. Your analysis is superb. Politicians are good at making promises and failing.

 10 months ago  

Smiles.. its only God that can help us with our politicians and fake promises.

Thanks for stopping by sir

Is better never to give a promise than to give a promise that can not be fulfilled.
Sometimes people are forced to make an empty promise, which is the reason you must not allow anyone to lure you to give an empty promise. Empty promises will make you lose your integrity.
It's good you've learned your lesson.😜😜
#dreemerforlife

 10 months ago  

Hmm! you are right, empty promise can make us loose our integrity.. I have learned my lessons..

Thanks for reading

It's Good you've learned your lesson

 9 months ago  

Thank you so much for reading ma

 10 months ago  

I'm being extremely careful these days to be honest because I do not want a situation like this. And it's compulsory to close your end of deal! Because it's a debt, this I didn't know until it happened to me! Lesson learnt! #dreemerforlife

 10 months ago  

Hmm.. the problem is, it not all the time we can avoid these things, sometimes we just find ourselves inside