Justice

in Hive Learners โ€ข last year
Authored by @Emrysjobber

20221218_023400_0000.png

๐“œ๐“ช๐“ญ๐“ฎ ๐”€๐“ฒ๐“ฝ๐“ฑ ๐“ฌ๐“ช๐“ท๐“ฟ๐“ช

In the human society, the legislated way of settling dispute is through the judiciary process also known as court. there are different types of judicial system in Nigeria, the supreme court, the court of appeal, federal high court, state high court, the sharia court of appeal, national industrial court, magistrate court,customary court e.t.c various court system performing their unique function.

It is funny how one way or the other there are resolution beyond humans capacity and those type of issues tends to end up in court. My first experience with court was from awhile back. My maternal grandfather had a lot of lands and properties at Epe local government Lagos state, he had at least three wives, those are the ones known to me, after he passed away which is about 8 years ago, his children began conflict due to his land and properties. my maternal grandmother only gave birth to 3 females without any males. she was the first wife. in Yoruba land there is this gender bias belief among Yorubas, when it comes to distribution of properties they tend to believe that the girl child has no say in such matters. that was the case of my grandmother's children, among them is my mom.

They were discussing the issue on family level till the male children from other part of the family started playing dirty by going to the houses to claim ownership and harass the people residing in the house. the case would have been simpler if the my maternal grandfather had a "will" but you know olding days men they tend to pay less attention to such things, they prefer acquisition of many wives.

Due to this reason the case was taken to Epe local government customary court . as a regular court custom, it always take long period of time before such case are settled legally. I was not directly linked to the case in some way but I followed my mom who is the second child of the family to some of the court proceedings, I can testify that it was a boring process and the entire atmosphere was cold, I was a little young then I could barely understand some of the statement made during the court proceedings, it didn't last long but it felt like time stood still for the moment and everyone looks so tense. the case keep getting adjourned until last 3 years ago, when it was resolved, my mom and her siblings got there share of the property and lands even more than expected. At least for once I had hope in the judiciary system because I'm of the mindset that it is a system for the elite though the present nature of democratic practice in my country is not helping the case

One thing I love about court matters is that you all know where you stand at the end of the case, though the issue had some kind of negative effect on the family, like up to this moment there has never been any family gathering just because of the case that transpired among the members of the family.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPZGjM92mdUaMfzWrvyFjNrwAkMw1w6guKBaaBuDT6UjXRMkmmrKxpVdSjqJ8rx9ijBoEp6hf3sWKp5Wdvs9GzcUeoSKwVW2EdapnhkZkRXc.png

I apologize for my inactivity for this past couple of days, thanks for understanding and I appreciate your readership.

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPZGjM92mdUaMfzWrvyFjNrwAkMw1w6guKBaaBuDT6UjXRMkmmrKxpVdSjqJ8rx9ijBoEp6hf3sWKp5Wdvs9GzcUeoSKwVW2EdapnhkZkRXc.png

Sort: ย 
ย last yearย ย 

After every court case, you get to know your stand indeed. After that you will know if you won or lost.

Thanks for sharing.

Yay! ๐Ÿค—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @emrysjobber.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more