A Christmas without my family🥺.

in Hive Learners5 months ago

1703437347016.jpg

Let me rewind back to the 24th of December, 2023. I remember my mum calling on the phone, and asking if I'm sure I don't want to come home for the festive break, and there was me trying to be a superwoman. I told her not to bother about me, I'm fine and I can take care of myself. Lol.

Reality hit me, when it was 8pm of that same day, and I went outside my hostel to do somethings and i notice how quiet the school environment was. I actually thought for a moment that I was the only person in the entire school. Lol.

I suddenly started feeling lonely and wished I could turn back the hand of time, but then, if wishes were horses, beggers will ride.

I maned up, and told myself I will be happy regardless. I sha gave myself all the moral support I needed. I intentionally didn't call them at home to tell them how I felt, I wasn't ready for the pity party that might follow, and the jeers and boos from my younger brother 😅.

I finally slept, and woke up the next morning and indeed it was Christmas day. Well, I can't say how I felt for real. But I wasn't overly excited nor sad. I was just there.

I thought hard, what can I eat today that can equate what it is that they will be eating at home too 🙈😅. No better option than my best food.

Yam!
It has been serving me since the 20's.
Unfortunately, the woman selling yam didn't open. Then I remember that it isn't everyone who'd refuse to go home like me 😒😅.

I didn't have a choice but to eat my spaghetti o.

After eating, I binge watch two movies, was about to sleep, when I got a call from my doctor to come for my new eye frame.

I had to quickly bathe, rush out. Met with a random stranger who wants to get close 😅.

Lol. As if it is that easy to get close to someone in just a day. But he really isn't that important anyways.

I got back to my hostel by few minutes to 5pm. Went to say hi to another of my friend who is doing his masters in my school.

I got there and this guy asked what I wanted, I actually wanted to request for a drink, when he mentioned if I'd care for yam 😅.

Off course! Why not 😅.
Joy wan wound me at that instance.

He prepared the yam, with some egg sauce, we both ate it together, then watched a movie together.

The movie part was really nice, we had moment of asking each other questions, agreeing to disagree, banters here and there. It was a really beautiful moment.

I finally went back to my hostel around 7:15pm.

By 8:30om on Christmas day, I started washing my clothes 😅. I mopped the floor. Few minutes to 10:30pn, I started editing some video clips that I ought to have edited since.

And I finally brought myself to my writing app, and now I'm writing this. Lol..

Anyways, my bed calls, this was how my Christmas went.

Merry Christmas, Friends and Happy New Year in Advance ✨.

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

Well even though you didn't travel home, your day still went well. If you don't mind me asking, what school do you attend?

Glad your day went well and you were happy. Your day was interesting enough for you to write about it so don’t feel bad that you didn’t get to go home. I enjoy reading your blog post.