MOMENTS OF DISCOVERY: MY DAYS IN BENUE

in Hive Learners14 days ago
Fear is certainly inevitable in the life of every human person, but then we must not allow it deprive us our lifes. Though fear can be considered as an integral part of the human person, but it can cost one an entire life if not controlled. Even the strongest of men have got things that scare them, but not allowing themselves dwell in their fears makes them strong. One should never for any reason allow fears deprive him/her of his/her aspirations.

istockphoto-1029747430-612x612.jpg

I have delt with so many fears as an individual, but I will telling about the most recent and the most life changing of them all. At first, it seemed like an impossibility, but then the idea of impossibility gradually faded. I got to understand that I could do it and even more, I got to discover a new and high-powered verson of me.

I have been handling responsibilities, but I have never handled a responsibility as tasking as that of Benue State. Benue State is a state located at the north central region of Nigeria and that is were I underwent my NYSC (a mandatory certificate program for all Nigeria graduate) program. As an individual, the NYSC program was for me a life changing event and being a part of it have really contributed a lot to my personality.

The NYSC program begins with an orientation camp of three weeks. At camp I mingled, made friends and enjoyed every of the activities. But I never handled any position. I just allowed myself pass through the camp and never missed a single moment. After camp, we were sent to our primary place of assignment for our one year community development service. Outside of camp, I never believed I would have anything to do with leadership amongst the corp member, but it happened. It happened that our CDS president was passing out and another was needed to replace his position. As part of the NYSC program, corp members are sheared into different community development groups. These groups are referred to as CDS, and one of her member (the president) govern's over the group. To cut the long story short, an election was done for the position of a CDS president and I was elected as one. Though I never expected it, but I accepted with all confidence. I was completely certain I could do it.

IMG-20231124-WA0024.jpg

I and my CDS members

Unknown to me, the position of a CDS president was just an interlude to a more tasking job. By becoming a CDS president, I was brought to spotlight and was detected by my Local Government Inspector (the NYSC staff incharge of the entire local government) who latter appointed me as the CLO of Guma Local Government. Now this is a bigger task. At first I was just the leader of a small group of corp members, but at that point an entire region of over 20 CDSs was to become my responsibility.

Of course I was afraid. I have never handled a task vast as that before. I thought it was totally impossible for me to carry it out, but it actually wasn't. I've got to realise that now. On hearing that I am to become the new CLO, I calming told my LGI that I will prefer to stick to being just a CDS president and that I do not think I can handle such position. I was only told in response to that that the job of a CDS president and that of a CLO are no different job. At that point, it was a no option case, it was either I do the job well or not.

IMG_7461.jpeg

My last sensitisation program as a CDS president

If am asked to speak about how well I handled the job of a CLO in Guma Local Government, I might not actually be able to say much. But then, being the CLO of Guma Local Government made me realise that I can do lots of things. At the end of my service year, I was congratulated by my Local Government Inspector who smiled at me and said; "I really enjoyed working with you corper Ernest, I wish you can stay a bit longer". I never loved the staying a bit longer part though, but I was amazed by the fact that I was acknowledged by my extremely strict LGI.

IMG_20240328_144926.jpg