THE IRONY OF MY DAILY LIFE

in Hive Learners17 days ago
I remember the good old days, when we had it as a tradition to travel back home every Christmas for holiday. They were the most amazing moments of my life. As a child my parents never fail to travel back home with I and my siblings every Christmas for holiday, but things gradually changed. I guess it's the consequences of becoming an adult. As we grew, need came for some of us to go separate ways. We gradually lost the togetherness we enjoyed as a family. Though we are still in contact with each other, but there is nothing like physical contact.

istockphoto-1312806602-612x612.jpg
Source

With the kind of orientation I got, holiday is a time of bound. A time we meet and commune with family. As an individual, I have not been able to meet some of my family members for some years simply because I have [temporarily] lost the opportunity for holiday. The nature of my work demand that I stay back even during holidays. Though it's not suppose to be so, but it is so. The highest holiday I have ever had is a five days holiday (only given on Christmas), and that is just it. A five days holiday is certainly not enough for me to travel back home and spend enough time with my family.

Every human person deserve a break, and holidays can give avenues for that. Working round the clock through out the year with no rest is too much for anybody, but that is probably how it is in my case. I do not even know how I have survived it for this long, but I did survive it. For the past four months, I have practically being busy 24 hours a day, seven days a week and 30 to 31 days a month. I might have over exaggerated a bit, but the bottom line is that I have not been resting as much as I should. From Monday to Saturday, I have to be in office from 8am to 6pm. Since evenings are the only time I have left, I invest them on my hive account. As a matter of fact, I end up sleeping very late and waking up very early.

Sunday is suppose to be my off day, but it is probably the most busy day for me. Coupled with the fact that it is the only day I have for my laundry and other domestic duties, I have Masses to cover as an instrumentalist in the church. Being the the main instrumentalist in my parish, I have to wake as early as 5am to prepare for Mass. After getting home probably by 2pm, I will have to leave the house again by 4pm for my volley ball training.

Sunday is never enough, I certainly need an extra off day, but that will most likely not be given to me. When I see civil servants, banker and those who work in [some] larger firm begin there weekend holiday from Saturday, I feel like becoming like them. Some already have the whole weekend and are looking for more, but in my own case, I wish I could have just the weekend (Saturday and Sunday) to myself.

IMG_20240328_144926.jpg

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

The hutsle has become too real brother. I was not told this adulthood was this hard. It's now work and busy schedules.

 16 days ago  

5 days is too small in a year o. But what can one do kwanu? The money has to be made.
I see you are a volleyballer😊 which role do U function best in?