A sport for all Sports

in Hive Learners2 years ago


image source

As a teenager Growing up the best type of movies I enjoyed were movies that involved any form of gymnastics, like cheerleading or dance battles but my best was “make it or break it”,

Have you watched the series? If not its not too late, it's old but still Gold

I watched the series on our video player over and over again till the CD got bad, and my sister has to get the same movie for me multiple times.

I remember trying the moves in the house. i would set two side stools apart and place a rod or stick in between and try to walk from one end to the other with my toes , it is called the BALANCE BEAM.

i did this and so many more to the extent that I would incur some minor injuries , but i didn’t care even when it hurts i would try not to cry because my mother had threatened that if she sees me crying from any form of injury during this adventure she would double the tears because she warned me to stop, well stubborn me I wouldn’t stop.

image source

I was so flexible as a child, I wonder if it was my love for gymnastics and my regular practice. I remember one time we locked our key inside the house and we needed to get in. We had a protector with spaced lines of the bar, I always used it for my rehearsal, trying to get in and out of the house through the bars. Even when the time I get stuck and even get whooped for it by my mother. But that day they needed my skill to work and effortlessly I got in through the bars and got the doors open from the inside. I felt like a hero all my days of practice paid off.

I love gymnastics because it can be easily done indoors preferably in a Gym and it is not restricted to either being an individual sport or a team sport it can be both. As an individual sport, it can be very relaxing and calming like exercising or visiting a gym and as a team, it promotes teamwork and trust like what we see in cheerleading movies.

gymnastics is a sport for all sports.

It provides strength, balance, coordination, flexibility, and more anyone would need before and during a sport. Doing warm-ups before a sport begins is some form of gymnastics exercise so it is literally for everyone, especially for our day-to-day activities.

I love gymnastics because of how much it teaches patience and persistence; in the movies, you see how much work these gymnasts put into the art, and yet it is almost impossible to get it the first time, but with patience and consistency they eventually get it. they fall over the bars over and over again, miss their steps, get bruised but they get back up and try again. It is always beautiful to watch.

Before I get too excited about saying all the amazing things I love about gymnastics, let me give a proper definition of what it is, for the sake of those who may not consider it a sport.

According to Wikipedia

Gymnastics is a sport that includes physical exercises requiring balance, strength, flexibility, agility, coordination, dedication, and endurance. The movements involved in gymnastics contribute to the development of the arms, legs, shoulders, back, chest, and abdominal muscle groups

0E2F3282-4D37-4FCF-97A5-826AE813A76C.png

Now you see what I mean when I said it's a sport for all sports because according to the definition above all these benefits anyone can get from the sport is very much required to be great at other sports.


image source
There are so many types of gymnastics activities from aerobics gymnastics, acrobatic gymnastics, artistic gymnastics, parallel bars, balance beam, vault, and others but I love them all. I know I am no more a teenager, I may have lost my flexibility with the new weight gained, but if by chance I were to become a professional athlete, I would work on myself and become a gymnast.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

You have to be 100% flexible to do this. And its very scary too. When I watch this in movies, I shout out my lungs. But I guess it's fun to watch

 2 years ago  

I’m sure your mom was silently thankful you didn’t listen to her...you saved her a lot of stress😂

 2 years ago  

Hehehehe I wish, when I did it another time she almost shouted her lungs out even when I reminded her of how helpful I was... She say nah one time thing

 2 years ago  

Na really one time thing😂

 2 years ago  

Our Olympic gymnast, it is what we call real passion from childhood, it must have been really entertaining....You had great fun

 2 years ago  

make it or break it”,
Have you watched the series? If not its not too late, it's old but still Gold

This series!! I remember always having dreams about tumbling on the balance beam and doing the cartwheel. The series really made me admire gymnasts and aspire to be one.
Not anymore though. I attempted the cartwheel one time and I almost lost a tooth. Nobody had to tell me to never to try it again 😂 these gymnasts makes it look really easy.

 2 years ago (edited) 

these gymnasts makes it look really easy.

Hahaha they do oo...but it's extremely hard.

 2 years ago  

Wow, real passion 🙌

 2 years ago  

What to do 🙌

Why not work on it then? Just start with a little aerobics at the gym, five days a week. Rest on the sixth and seventh day. An hour no less every day of cardio, it'll burn the fat. Eat more vegetables and drink more water.

When you notice a considerable amount of weight loss, register for yoga three times a week. You can decide to continue with your cardio workout or suspend it. Flex those muscles at yoga class and come out like rubber.

 2 years ago  

Ah ah... fitness instructor.. Nice..but uh i plan to when baby is old enough...

No br any fitness instructor 😂. How's our little peanut by the way?

 2 years ago  

He is fine thank you

This is the first post on gymnastics. I guess the sport also has a following in Nigeria which is good.
a lot of the things I see them do, I wish I can do them but I know I can't. I can't come and kill myself abeg.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Maybe it's the ones you see, there are easier ones naw🤣...me self I cannot come and kill myself too that why for my love for the sport is from afar

 2 years ago  

Wow it's amazing that you and I make a post on the same sports I love gymnastic a lot even though I'm not flexible, but it's so exciting to see that you even tried it in your house, that's must be so cool 👍

 2 years ago  

Aside soccer, gymnastics is another sport I can watch for hours without being bored.
I just don't fully understand how they analyze the scores

Congratulations @estherscott! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

trying to get in and out of the house through the bars.

I'm trying to imagine how big you were that you could fit into those bars.

Meanwhile, Gymnastics is nice, I love to watch people do their thing.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

Glad I could help