OVERCOMING THE GRIP OF DEPRESSION

in Hive Learnerslast month

I haven't been through depression before but I witnessed one with my friend, depression is real and cruel, I never knew it would lead to this point that someone had to plan her way out of this life, I have been seeing so many things on social media but I never believed any because all my thought was a planned one or it was scripted but when I saw this happening to my friend then I know it is real.

micheile-henderson--YIlVDQ65rQ-unsplash.jpg
Source

I met Fola through a friend, she is so adorable and a very nice person, she is fun to be with and so caring because I had witnessed it, we became close because I love her character and also she is well mannered, I never knew Fola was going through a lot or should I say a lot is going through Fola.

One afternoon I was coming from work and I decided to check on her in her house, I heard Fola crying and talking to herself before I entered the room, I paused a little in front of her room to be sure if I was in the right house, the Fola that I know is always wearing a smiling face not knowing that there are so many things going on with her.

I rushed in and I saw her lamenting and wanting to end her life, I grabbed her and relieved her of her pain, I cuddled her for some minutes and offered my shadow for her to cry it out because that was all I could do at that moment before asking for what happened.

She cried out aloud and calmed herself down after some minutes before asking what the problem was and she started telling me her story, she grabbed me and said "Eunice everything has ended for me" talk to me dear, what is the problem? I replied
She started by saying, "You know I am pregnant" I was not shocked by her pregnancy because she did her introduction some months back because her husband-to-be was traveling out of the country so that was good news for everyone.

Fola was relieved of her work that week because of the economy of the country, she was working in the private sector and the boss was unable to pay all the workers so he stopped some workers and Fola was among them because she was a junior staff in the company, yes I was not still moved by her story because I expected her to start something with her savings.

She told me that she gave all her savings to her husband when he was about to travel just to support him, it was not up to three months when the guy traveled and he started to misbehave, he started to ignore Fola's calls, and he was aware that she was pregnant.

Fola opened her phone and showed me the message the guy sent to her some weeks back that he is no longer interested in her and that she can move on with her life, knowing fully that she is pregnant for him, I read the chat and tears started rolling out from my eyes, I was moved with her story because Fola is the breadwinner of her family, her three siblings depends on her.

How would she cope with the pregnancy, the child being born without a father in his/her life, all these were running through my head but I can never let it out because I was consoling my friend, I guess she had been crying like that since she got the message.

HOW SHE WAS ABLE TO GET OVER THE SITUATION

I packed her luggage and moved her to my house because I can't leave her alone in her house. We lived together till she put to bed, I supported her so that she could get over the situation, now she is fine and she was so thankful that she had lost hope not until I showed up, I was glad that I saved someone from depression because I will never forgive myself if anything had happened to her.

Fola is now working for another company and she is taking good care of her beautiful daughter, she overcomes the situation and is back on her feet.

LESSON LEARNED

I learned a lot from her story, not all men are the same, we have some ladies who are so stupid too but that will not stop us from being who we are, the one that will be good will be good but never trust people 100% change is constant and anyone can change at any time especially when you change your environment, I learned not to trust people completely.

This is my entry for this week's episode of hivelearners community prompt of #hl-w107e1 which is tagged "DEPRESSION IS REAL"

20231004_082714_0000.png

Sort:  
 last month  

Sometimes you watch your life flash before your eyes and all you can do is think of ending it all. I can imagine the kind of pain your friend went through. It’s good you were there for her through these hard times. God bless you for being a good friend.

 last month  

It is very hard to know if someone is going through depression or not, because these people don't show their condition and they live their life on their own. Glad to guys helped your friend came out of this situation.

 last month  

I am glad that I showed up at the right time

 last month  

What could have Fola done if only you didn't show up on time. Most of the time is hard for someone depressed to voice out their problems. They walked around with their problems but deep down they are being eaten up and slowly the become sucider just to yease off the pain.

 last month  

This is absolutely terrible. I dislike it when people make promises and then flee or change their mind later on. Your friend had a good reason to fall into depression but thank goodness you arrived at the right time.

It's great to know that she's doing well now.

That's life for you my dear, you never understand a thing or believe it unless you feel it close to you. The same way I never understood what death meant, until I lost my dad.
Depression is a disease and who is in it should not be left alone

#dreemerforlife

 last month  

That's life for you, the people who we thought they will be there for us can dissapoint us anytime. Also it's hard to know if people are in depression because they won't show it, all they do is fake smiles but inside they are facing hell that we can't imagine. But i'm happy that you were there on time for her.

 last month  

My dear, things are happening just that God is keeping us from all these devil-in-disguise called men we also have it in ladies, I am glad that she is now back on her feet and taking care of her daughter. Thank you for your support

Wow! What a timely visit to your friend! I can't even try to imagine what could have happened if you had not stopped over to see her at that particular time.

A lot of people arexgoing through difficult issues that they find hard to tell others.

God bless you for your kindness. I am glad that Fola is back on her feet.

From #dreemport, I am a #dreemerforlife

Thank goodness you arrived just on time before she did the unthinkable and that you took it a step further to care for her, you're indeed sweet soul. This is the true definition of a friend in need is a friend indeed.
Good to also read that Fola is doing well now.

#dreemerforlife #freecompliments