A TRADITIONAL MARRIAGE CEREMONY: Akans tribe in Ghana

in Hive Learners2 years ago

wedding-ghana.jpg
Picture sourced out from yen.com.gh

Greetings my fellow Hivers.

I'm so happy to participate in this topic. When I first saw it, I was surprise, because it dawned on me I could not completely remember how traditional marriage ceremony is done in my tribe, I'm from Ghana but resides in Nigeria, I left Ghana when I was a kid, although I have witness a couple of traditional marriage ceremony but not full grounded by rites performed.

I had to call my brothers and my uncle, they gave me information on how it was carried out and were laughing at me. I was able to gather this information and with the remembrance of my experience too.

Each tribes all ovet the world have their own way if celebrating Traditional marriage. Let me explain how mine is been carried out.

Akans Traditional marriage ceremony

I'm from the Akan tribe, which is in Ghana. There are rites that must be performed during traditional marriage ceremony in Akans tribe.

There are some items that must be presented to the bride's family before the marriage ceremony takes place.

Akans have so many subtribes in Ghana but I'm from Ashanti precisely.

It is required for both family to be united and mutual respect between the bride's and the groom's families.

ITEMS NEEDED

There are many items that are need to be provided by the groom if the marriage process is to begin.

  1. The dowry/bride price (very important)

  2. Minimal of 6 peices of traditional wax print and exotic jewellery for the bride

3.Head drinks such as Gin, whiskey, palm wine or wine.

  1. Box containing clothes,shoes, and other female attire.

  2. Ankara for male, and a bottle of whiskey for the bride's father. Money also included.

  3. African clothes and Pairs of sandals for the bride's mother. Money also included

  4. An engagement ring

  5. An engagement bible.

  6. Akontasekan (money) for the bride's brother or male cousins if she is the only female child.

  7. Enough food and drinks for the wedding.
    These are the ones I could get.

Akans marriage rites is similar to other African tribes. The mans need to follow different steps, he looks for a girl he wants to marry and after finding the right one he informs his family. Then a messenger is being sent to the lady's family to fix a day that will be convenient to visit the lady's home and discussion plan.

The lady's father is expected to give them a feedback, informing them the about the date for the meeting. The families then meet to discuss how the ceremony will be carried out. Kokoo ko which means knocking ceremony, is the first stage of the ceremony.

Knocking Ceremony
This means knocking on the door of the bride's family before entering the house, The man's parents and senior Uncle's also accompanies him to the bride's home, and they will represent the entire Akan family in presenting their intentions to the bride's family.
Back in those days,Knocking ceremony is expected to be performed one or two weeks before the day of the marriage, but now both takes place thesame day.

There also some items needed for the knocking ceremony which includes bottles of wine, money and kola nuts.

Tiri nsa which are head drinks is offered to the bride's family, in my tradition this head drinks can be two bottles of palm wine, schnapps or whiskey. Money and gifts can be added also if you wish.

Once this gifts has been accepted, they marriage have officially been approved even with or without the consent of the lady. Although some family may still seek the opinion of the lady.

The two families fixes the date for the marriage, then engagement list among the Akan can now come in, The woman's Akan family is expected to present this gifts the same day of the knocking ceremony.
After the engagements, here comes the time for the groom's family to go back home and prepare for the marriage ceremony. marriage list can be adjusted after discussion between the two families, but the bride is not allowed to give her opinion about this list.

On the day of the ceremony the groom's family presents the dowry/bride price to the bride's parents . This diary is expected to be shared among the extended family members like uncles.

Sometimes the criteria demanded by the bride's family might be too much or expensive, but they want to make sure that the man is capable and finicially stable to take good care of their daughter.

Thanks for reading, hope you enjoyed it. I will be inviting you guys for my own which is coming soon hahaha..

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Interesting Culture from Ghana
The attires are always beautiful to see
Great one