You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Honest About Teaching

in Hive Learners3 months ago

I know exactly what you mean. Already, teaching is a great job, but very difficult. My mother has been teaching for over 25 years.

And she sees it: it's getting harder and harder to teach kids things. Her colleagues see it too, and other teachers in other countries see it too.

This is due to several things really:

  • Today's young people are constantly challenged by digital distractions, which makes the task of attracting and maintaining their attention during lessons more arduous.
  • Changes in education systems and curricula, which require teachers to constantly readapt to new teaching methods and study topics (this was in a government paper recently).
  • Recognition and remuneration often insufficient for the level of commitment and social importance of the teaching job.

But I'm sure you have a huge impact on the lives of all these young people. I've always hated school. But I remember all my teachers very well. The ones I worked with the most were those with good non-verbal communication (gestures, eye contact, patience and empathy) and those who practiced reverse pedagogy.

Sort:  
 3 months ago  

The interesting thing about the education system here, in most places, is that it really hasn't improved or changed for decades. The curriculum is the same. And, just like it was in most schools years ago, many still don't have adequate facilities, even in 2024. It's sad.

But of course, teaching kids is seeming harder to do with time as their demands increasing.

I think, naturally, most people would incline towards people that listen and understand them with empathy. I was more connected to that kind of teachers, too.

If you wanted to teach, what subject would you rather handle?

Interesting question. Even though I'm far from an expert on the subject because it's so broad, I think I'd teach philosophy.

But to young children. I think it's vital that every child learns to think for themselves instead of copying others. It's a powerful exercise to ask and think about difficult questions.