Judging A Book By It Cover? Appearance Shouldn't Trump Skill.

in Hive Learners28 days ago

I have been to so many job interviews and have gathered experience, including what today's Hive Learner's prompt is all about. The issue of considering appearance over skill and vice versa when it comes to job employment is a topic many of us have gotten involved with several times.

My opinion about this topic has been the same over the years and I do not see myself changing from what I believe is right. It's unusual of me not to respect people's opinions on issues, but on this particular topic, I do not entertain others opinions. You might think I am being rigid, but that's not the case.

Some years ago, I got a job interview notice very late, and my experience that year opened my eyes to the mistakes many employers are making today. It happened that I traveled to make small chops at an event somewhere in Ogun State on Sunday and was there till Monday morning.

I have the habit of putting my phone away at work to avoid any distraction, plus I wasn't expecting the invite since the company didn't reach out to me three weeks after I applied for the job.

The party ended late, and it was midnight before I and my partner finished cleaning all our stuff. We eventually settled to rest when I checked my phone and discovered that there was a job interview waiting for me. The mail had been in my inbox since Saturday morning but I didn't even realize it.

I was disorganized immediately, and being confused is an understatement of how I felt that day. Meeting up for the interview by 9 a.m. was an issue, and I didn't have an official dress with me since I wore native attire. I made up my mind to leave the town very early, go home, change my dress, and go for the interview, but I was wrong.


We got to park and had to wait for other passengers to fill the bus. I was impatient and entered Soole, which was risky, but I didn't have other options. Upon arriving in Lagos, I didn't have time on my side any more. Going home first would mean that I had forfeited the interview, so I decided to go there in my native attire. It was a better option than not attending at all.

I printed out some documents since I always have soft copies on my phone. I got there, and the company's secretary attended to the applicants first.

She questioned my dress, and I explained my situation, which she understood clearly. We were just two who came for the interview, and we did a test that lasted an hour.

Source

The secretary met me and hailed me for performing pretty well, which made me happy while the other lady was discharged. We didn't get to talk, so I didn't know why she left.


The CEO arrived and called me into her office. Her gesture tells me that she wasn't okay with my dress, and it wasn't long before she mentioned it. I tried explaining myself, but it fell on my deaf ear. I even asked her to reschedule the interview so that I could come prepared, but she didn't listen. She said I was perfect for the position, but my appearance disqualifies me.

I left there devastated because she didn't even give me a chance, and it would have been a different case if she could just look beyond my appearance.

Honestly, I can skeptical about someone's appearance, but placing it above what the person has to offer is one thing I wouldn't do. Many organizations have lost their effectiveness just because they prioritize appearance over skill when employing.

There are jobs where appearance matters, but skills shouldn't be looked down on. In my case, wearing a native that day doesn't mean I will do the same thing when work starts fully, but the CEO was rigid with her decision.

I would have loved to say that there should be a balance between appearance and skill, but for me, skill matters more. Appearance is something that can be worked on. I was in an organization where we had a dress code that was compulsory. It's completely different from skills because employing someone who lacks the needed skill will only bring a setback and increase the work load of other workers.

Rather than appearance, I would even prefer knowing my applicant's personal qualities because I consider those things more valuable than appearance. What if the appearance was just mere packaging? A lot of people tend to dress pretty well for interviews, so it's normal and shouldn't be a consideration or criteria when interviewing an applicant.

I am sure many are familiar with the saying that looks can be deceiving. I wouldn't forfeit what matters just because an applicant is good-looking. I can go as far as applauding you for looking gorgeous, but don't expect any favor because of that. Many organizations today have a lot of incompetent hands just because the employer got carried away by the applicant's appearance.

Yeah, look good. Come with your best appearance, but you must be ready to offer more than just that.

Sort:  

You are certainly right here George, that CEO lady was not considerate at all.

I experienced one at a school where I worked. This lady came for the interview, dressed like a banker but for a teaching job. Immediately, my former boss employed her but not up to a week and complaints started coming. One of them being that she no longer dresses well and we learnt that she borrowed those clothes simply to impress. Plus she didn't know much about education. She had to quit after two months because the complains were much.

I like the last sentence you made because beauty without brains is useless.

 26 days ago  

Looks like be deceiving and Nigeria is still obsessed with looks especially when she is a lady with huge gift from God. These people end up becoming a liability on the company with ends up as setbacks.

 28 days ago  

Well, I won't blame the CEO of the company for what she did, because she doesn't know you personally and can't discern if you are telling the truth or not... and rule is a rule, she might say you will dress properly next time and still don't. it is what some people can do

 26 days ago  

I agree with you bro because there is always a standard that every organisation keeps and sometimes, looking beyond those standards can be helpful. I might not sound convincing enough to her and also believe that the job wasn't mine.

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

 28 days ago  

A similar case happened to me but I was rejected because I was very well dressed, ironic, isn't it? Beyond my abilities I was judged as a city person who would not be able to withstand the inclemency and deal with miners. Anyway, you have to go ahead and prepare yourself, gain more knowledge and show these employers how capable you are for the position you are applying for, regardless of your clothing. As you say, this is a very pretty wrapper on the outside, but on the inside without preparation or knowledge.

 26 days ago  

It's funny how many employers think but one thing they don't know is that they are the one at lost because they don't know what impact you are capable of having on the growth of the company.

Another thing I believe is that somethings are not just meant to be... Disappointment sometimes happen so we won't miss out on a bigger blessing that is ahead.

 28 days ago  

There are many people among us who do not give importance to appearance. But this is not correct by any means. If you have skill in your work then if you go to work according to that skill then you will see that many people will look at you differently. If you are not good looking then you will be talked down a lot which you don't like I think these things need to change very soon and very much

 26 days ago  

Skills and appearance works hand in hand truly but in situation where there is nothing at stake, I wouldn't hesitate to give someone a second chance if there is a good reason behind the inappropriate appearance.

 28 days ago  

No, for this issue she would have just listened to your explanations. They don't just know what they missed by that singular attitude.

 26 days ago  

Yeah, I expected her to at least give me a chance to prove that there is more to me than showing up in a native for interview. That's in the past now and its sad many organisations still makes the same mistake.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏