My Simple Weight Loss Journey.

in Hive Learners11 months ago

The need for weight loss is a trend in the world today, a lot of people now see the need to shed some weight unlike before when adding more weight was the goal. In the world today, people would go to any length to get a flat tummy and only gain weight in some specified place in their body.

There was a time many people want to look big so that they can be seen as someone who is living okay, people believe that big stature would earn them respect but they were indirectly causing problems for themselves. I don't know what changed that mentality and today we can see people enrolling in the gym, drinking tea and others just to shed some weight.

I have barely seen cases of people that naturally need to gain weight but it happens, there are situations when people need to gain some weight due to complications or for survival sake. I have never had any reason to add weight, I hate feeling heavy and as a man, adding excess weight will be one big mistake because it can affect us in so many ways.

A lot is at stake with excessive weight and aside from the physical challenges, there are health challenges attached to being overweight and we should keep ourselves in shape at all cost. Keeping oneself in shape doesn't mean you need six packs or big muscles, there is more to staying fit than having six packs to show for it.

I used to have a very big guy as a coursemate then, he do complain about girls dumping him for smaller guys and I told him what the problem was. The simple truth is that his weight was affecting his sexual life and these girls end up leaving because his good personality wasn't enough for them. I felt sorry for him because it is a natural thing, he is not the kind who eats junk but was lazy. He can't walk for five minutes and he would rather sit at a spot for 30 minutes than walk before getting a bike or bus.


The highest I have reached was 98kg and it was a big problem for me back then. I once shared a story of how I couldn't walk for about four months and that was how my weight gain issue started.

Naturally, I am a huge person but not the meaty type, I have got big bones. The tendency for me to gain weight at every slight chance my body get is high so I have always made sure I put my body under some stress just to put my weight under control but that time when I couldn't walk was different.

I spend most of my time sitting or sleeping and if I must go out, I am always on the bike or bus. I started feeling heavy and my body system wasn't finding it funny, it contributed to my unstable blood pressure and I became scared of what I was becoming.

My chin got bigger and belly as well, reducing my food intake didn't work. I added so much weight and it went on like that until I started walking again.

Image was edited using Canva App


Shedding weight is a must so I started with walking the distance that I normally take a bike for.

My job has to do with moving around a lot and it helped. Whenever there is no bus, I trek until I get a bus instead of waiting at the bus station. There was the risk of hurting my leg again but I couldn't settle for the new weight I added while I wasn't feeling good, I was warned about not putting stress on the leg but countering pain with pain has always been my healing process and even though it hurts, the result is always good for me.


Despite the stress, I wasn't feeling satisfied with the progress so I decided to join my younger brother's friend who plays football. He put me on some drills that worked for me, it hurts doing those exercises but it fastened my weight loss progress and in a short time, I even dropped more than the usual weight.

I was okay with that because adding weight gradually will happen, I returned to my normal trekking routine and things have been normal since then. Whenever I notice that I am adding weight, I just increase my trekking time and jog if there is need for it.

In a nutshell, shell, putting my weight under check has been possible with my daily activities. Farm stress, trekking and other things have helped put me in shape.

Sort:  
 11 months ago  

In recent years, there has been a notable shift towards weight loss as people increasingly prioritize achieving a toned physique and targeted weight gain. Gone are the days when the desire to look bigger was seen as a sign of status. We now understand the potential negative consequences of carrying excess weight and strive to maintain a healthy weight for optimal well-being.

 11 months ago  

Yes, you are on point. People orientation about weight gain changed over the years and I agree with the fact that people now understand the consequences of excessive weight gain.

 11 months ago  

You are right about people shedding lot of weight this days but only wanting it in a particular part of there body, while some people still chose to add more because it give them attention.... Countering pain with pain risky but glad it worked for you

 11 months ago  

That's the trend now, the obsession with improving their body through surgery is becoming a norm in the society today.

 11 months ago  

An active lifestyle is certainly beneficial to keeping weight under control. Unfortunately as age creeps up on you it gets harder to keep the weight off.

I hope you never have that issue though and good job on getting the weight where you want it to be.

 11 months ago  

You are right about age having a huge impact on our weight, a time will come when running or jogging won't be very convenient but we just have to try the best way we can to put things under control.

Thanks for the visit.

This is one reason I took walking serious now. I am not someone who walks a long distance without getting tired. I now love it as it makes me burn calories. Adding more weight isn't for me because I won't even feel comfortable.

 11 months ago  

Walking is the simplest form of exercise to me and I always encourage people to walk more than hopping on bike every time .

I enjoy taking strolls in the morning and late evening, it helps me mentally as well.

 11 months ago  

What happened to you that you couldn't walk for four months? I think I missed that story 🥲 so sorry about that kind of situation.

It's good that you found a way around to keep your weight in check. Trekking long distances isn't just my thing but I think it will become my thing if I was found in your situation.

Good you have your normal weight back, so reducing food intake doesn't help with your weight loss? I feel you used too intense methods.

 11 months ago  

I damaged a leg muscle back then and didn't know. It has gotten worse before I realized what was going on.

Knowing what's best for us matters a lot and it makes our weight loss or gain easier. Reducing my food intake doesn't really tell on me, it will only make me hungry and when I am, I feel useless.

Eating little food doesn't tell much, my body is bad to the extent that even Garri and with beans will help gain weight.

 11 months ago  

Good script, staying fit is very important, less of weight gain to prevent medical conditions such as osteoarthritis and lipid derangements.

 11 months ago  

Thanks for the comments, as a medical professional, you will definitely be more known about the risk of being overweight.

 11 months ago  

You're right. Thank you

 11 months ago  

Some people want to loose weight.. Meanwhile, I'm struggling to gain weight, lol..

 11 months ago  

You are beautiful just the way you are sis 😁

 11 months ago  

You are perfect just the way you are, I like your stature because there is no issue attached even in old age and if you must know, a lot of people are spending a lot of money and time just to achieve your stature.

 11 months ago  

Weight gain is not good at all I have been through it and I can tell anyone not to try gaining weight because it is very bad

 11 months ago  

It is a choice made by every individual and after looking deeply, a lot of people usually give up on gaining weight because it doesn't help the body.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

 11 months ago  

Thanks for the curation @indiaunited @bhattg

 11 months ago  

Hehe, why do I feel happy seeing another person doing the healing pain with pain Tactics 😂😂, most times I would be thinking I'm weird.

Meanwhile, whenever we aren't going outside, I guess that's when we adds weight so so much but once we start engaging in our life activities controlling our food intake also, we get to reduce
Nice write-up

 11 months ago  

My family take me for a weirdo whenever they see me doing hurtful things just to counter another pain I am feeling but they have learned to live with it.

Staying idle causes weight gain but the moment we get ourselves busy, things change if we add discipline as well.

 11 months ago  

That's truth

 11 months ago  

I never knew there was a time you couldn't walk, so excessive weight gain caused this?

I have known that so much weight gain isn't healthy, I once experienced it and did everything possible to return back to shape. Maintaining a good weight is a sure way of keeping fit as well... you took radical steps working on your weight

 11 months ago  

Yeah, there was a time I couldn't walk. It wasn't because of the weight gain, too much walking caused it

According to the test results, I damaged my leg muscles and it was difficult for me during that period. I had to take drastic steps to get back on my feet and shed all the weight I gained at that time.

 11 months ago  

I love the fact you walk distances you used to take bus before. That helps a lot, checking our health is necessary as maintaining a good starture is the goal.

 11 months ago  

Not everyone understands the purpose, some people still don't understand why I walk. They are always like, why should I walk when I have enough money to transport myself around?

Walking is a little exercise that helps a lot and I always made sure I do that everyday.

 11 months ago  

You have gotten a good technique of checking your weight. It's awesome that you discovered what works for you and you stick to such a practice.

 11 months ago  

We all have what works for us and the earlier we realise that, the best for us.

Thanks for the visit.

 11 months ago  

Overweight cause many troubles and it can be the reason for various kinds of diseases mostly heart-related diseases. So, we should try to keep our weight in an optimum range.
if we do nothing and pass the idle time we naturally gain weight and for that reason, we should not pass our time like that.

 11 months ago  

The risk attached to weight gain is quite terrible and it's best when we put things under check to avoid health-related troubled later.

Congratulations @george-dee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - June 15, 2023