Two things strong enough to separate me from my phone.

in Hive Learners7 months ago

Hello! Welcome to my blog. In today's post I will share the two things that has the nerves to keep me away from my phone.

20231011_221050_0000.png

In the fast-paced world we live in, the influence and impact of phones cannot be denied. They have become an integral part of our lives, revolutionizing communication and providing us with endless opportunities and conveniences. However, for every benefit they bring, there are also inherent drawbacks that we must acknowledge.

Albert Einstein once expressed his concern about technology, remarking that it may lead to a generation that prioritizes gadgets over true human interaction. Sadly, this prediction seems to be coming true as phones increasingly replace face-to-face conversations. Even within families, it is not uncommon to find members communicating through their phones rather than engaging with each other directly. And in social settings like dates, friends often divert their attention to their screens, rather than forging meaningful connections.

I must admit that I am also guilty of being attached to my phone for a significant portion of my time. It has become my go-to source of relaxation and entertainment, providing me with a much-needed break from the pressures of daily life. Furthermore, if I ever feel lonely or isolated, my phone acts as a companion, offering me a sense of connection to the world around me. In times of need, it serves as a source of making money and an access to news and information.

Undeniably, phones have played a crucial and positive role in my life. I cannot imagine going a full 24 hours without my phone, as it has become such an essential part of my routine. However, I have recognized the importance of setting boundaries and finding moments where I can detach myself from its allure.

There are two specific instances when I consciously distance myself from my phone.

Firstly, during times of spiritual reflection and meditation, I make a conscious effort to create an environment free from distractions such as my phone. Whether it is in a place of worship or in the solace of my own home, I prioritize giving my undivided attention to communing with a higher power.

Secondly, I have also learned to limit my phone usage to save money. Data consumption has become a significant expense, and by reducing my dependency on it, especially for non-essential purposes, I can effectively manage my finances. Of course, there are instances where my phone contributes to my income generation, but overall, being mindful of my expenditure has become part of my financial discipline.

Coping with the pervasive influence of phones requires self-discipline and conscious decision-making. As the saying goes, "the chains of habit are too weak to be felt until they become too strong to destroy." It is crucial to actively balance the time spent on our phones with quality time spent with loved ones, personal growth, and nurturing healthy social relationships. By making informed choices and striving for a harmonious integration of technology into our lives, we can optimize productivity and maintain a healthy digital-life balance.

Image designed by me using canva

Thank you for stopping by 🌸

Sort:  
 7 months ago (edited) 

Nice Ginika.
Meditation is good. With phones, there will be a lot of distractions.
That data consumption thing is something else already. Imagine that MTN 2.5GB is already N600 naira.
So, I agree with you.

 7 months ago  

Thank you for seeing reasons with me.

 7 months ago  

It is so important to set boundaries in everything we do that will help us gain no little balance I do set my boundaries too and try to stay by it.

Thanks for sharing

 7 months ago  

Thank you for stopping by.

 7 months ago  

That's very good because when we use our phones while meditating, it serves as a big distraction to us.

Congratulations @ginika! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 2000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023
 7 months ago  

Thank you!

You're a true champion @ginika! Keep striving for greatness and you'll reach your Hive goals in no time.

 7 months ago  

Meditation is a good thing and helpful one but I don't do it. In fact, I don't have any plans for it even for the future also. I agree it can isolate you from your smartphone and the second one is a logical one and it is also enough for isolate anyone who is using mobile data. But in my case, I am using wifi. So nothing to save here because doesn't matter how much I use data, the cost will be the same 😅

 7 months ago  

Oh! Lucky you, you are free from the whole data saga.