Celebrating My Milestone Birthday By Pampering Myself Like A Queen

in Hive Learners2 months ago (edited)

My 30th birthday is coming up in about 10 months from now, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified of this major milestone. This is one age that made me develop the fear of growing old at some point in my life, I pictured having it all figured out by 30 or being judged for any remaining flaws and shortcomings no thanks to our society's standard set for women at this age, after years of dutifully checking off career and relationship boxes in my 20s, I had built up the big 3-0 in my mind as this looming signifier of true adulthood.

Snapchat-1570082151_1.jpgImage is mine

Deep down I was scared that 30 meant I could no longer get away with mistakes, reaching that dream I'm still chasing or reinventing myself. It felt like an ultimatum to have your whole life neatly packaged and tied with a bow of accomplishments. so in 10 months, no more wandering or wondering allowed. Chai!

But the closer I am to this very age, the more I notice the old fears and pressures melting away as I started changing the narrative around this transition, hell, have I been pressured even before reaching 30, oh yes I have, so now I see 30 not as the final deadline for figuring it all out but as permission to dive deeper into who I want to become. Instead of pressurizing myself more in fear filling my mind with "what if' I would rather use 30 as an inspiration to celebrate more of ME. I realize I have so much to appreciate right where I am even if I'm not where I want to be yet. So I will commemorate making it through my 20s, this birthday called for my biggest act of self-love and self-exploration yet because truly I've been more about others than myself so attaining 30 deserves the pamper, I deserve it after all I’ve overcome in three decades of life so why not level up the birthday glam.

My Birthday plans

I read on someone's blog recently about how attaining age 30 calls for a more healthy lifestyle, so even before attaining this age, I've resolved to adopt healthy /nutritious feeding habits, reducing the junk and sugars, which I've gotten accustomed to, trying to beat cooking time and having a busy lifestyle, this is the time to pamper myself the more with fruits and veggies, luckily I still have a very youthful look and don't look my age yet, so therefore, I plan to maintain this look next 30 years and more.

Sewing myself a unique elegant dress

My birthday period has always been a very busy period for me as a fashion designer, but this year, no matter how busy I get, I won't skip making myself a unique beaded dress with an exquisite celebrity look, I'm the fashion designer after all, and attaining 30 deserves it all for my next plan

Book a photo shoot session

I've always admired seeing the younger version of my aunt in a portrait lying on the wall of her sitting room and wished to have one for myself, so yes, by God grace, I will make that happen this year, a beautiful portrait of me in my gorgeous gown representing 30 in full life and glamour, in years to come, I would love to look at that portrait with a smile and feeling of happiness.

adrian-motroc-DhIarbBYCWU-unsplash.jpgSource

A Solo Spa Getaway

I've never had the luxury of a spa session, so I plan to pamper myself like never before, I’m checking into a luxurious local spa resort for an entire weekend dedicated to relaxation and rejuvenation. Getting blissful body treatments in stunning nature, massages, facials, pedicures, etc I’m so excited to press pause on real life and say YES to every decadent offering available at the spa. I deserve this time to soak in the magic of me. Three decades is worth it all.

No doubt saying goodbye to my 20s stirs up complicated feelings. But focusing energy on showering myself with love through extreme pampering and glamour helps release any anxiety, I should head into my 30s feeling beautiful, confident, appreciative and excited for all the abundant blessings I have and the ones yet to manifest.

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Wow, I couldn't help but imagine what that period would look like for you. Permit me to borrow this idea come June when I will be 35...chaoi, nkem is getting old oo😃😃😃

Embracing healthy living especially as we continue to age is the way to go..self pampering is not a bad idea at all. Many ladies fear entering this 3rd floor.. haha 😂,I did back them but there's absolutely nothing to fear but to brace up and face the reality

I must say that you have great plan for your next birthday and I hope you have enough money to make this dream a reality

@sagarkothari88 vote

 2 months ago  

Permit me to borrow this idea come June when I will be 35...chaoi, nkem is getting old oo😃

You are permitted😅 ,getting younger you mean.

Yes I, in this world where we hardly take healthy living seriously, the third floor has to bring our consciousness to that.No fears, facing it, Nigeria don strong person mind lol

I hope so too o thank you mama🤗