Kindness Begets Kindness: How a Stranger's Gesture Inspired Me To Give Back

in Hive Learners23 days ago

The world we live in today is often portrayed as one filled with insecurity, hate, violence, hardship, and the likes, but in the midst of it all, hope isn't lost as we've still got good people who don't let themselves be influenced by all of the negativity and hate, those we hope will bring change and positivity to the world, ask yourself, are you part of this percentage we are betting on, we all seek for change, but how will this change be effected if it doesn't start with us, the good you do to someone today could help soften a harden mind to be render same or different help to someone tomorrow, I know due to the insecurity we currently face most of us have zeroed our minds towards helping others so as not to get scammed in the process because we've seen a lot of this event happening lately, sadly, those who truly need help are neglected, therefore the innocent suffers because of the atrocities of the wicked.

20240419_214854_0000.pngImaged edited using canva

Whenever I give alms to someone irrespective of whether he or she is an adult who could work with his hands, as most people would often feel offended when such people beg them for alms, I just reply saying, I follow my intuition because you don't know their story or what they could passing through at that moment, it takes a sensitive person to be aware that this life is not easy, especially now, where both those who earn an income is affected as well, imagine someone who doesn't have a job or has a huge responsibility like a sick relative that he has to fend for by sacrificing his needs, so let's be sensitive and be of help to others the little way we can, it can go a long way more than we expect.

I've shared here on this platform how I make different outfits for free for some people in my neighborhood, especially children, I didn't just wake up one day and decide to declutter my sewing space, going through all that stress every week to put a smile on someone face through the new outfit gifted to them, this idea was borne out of an act of kindness from a total stranger. I will be telling the story to fulfill this week's current edition topic.

IMG_20240221_131013_610.jpg

I had dressed myself up in a long white T-shirt that stopped at my hip area and beneath was my jean trousers, my very first task for that day was to fix my Samsung phone which I had abandoned for a long while, if not that it contained a crypto wallet which I had misplaced the seed phrase, I wouldn't have bothered about the phone because I already got a new one, but the wallet was important to me as well, and there was no way I could import it to my new device without the phrase, so I journeyed down to Computer Village, Ikeja, which is the biggest business hub for phones, gadgets and repairs In my State of residence, Lagos, Nigeria, but one needs to be extra smart with those traders or else you can easily be scammed. So I opted to stay and watch the engineer while he got my phone fixed, it was supposed to be at least one hour wait from what he told me, but it extended beyond 3 hours, and at the end of the whole struggle and wait, my phone still wasn't fixed, worst of it all, my August female monthly visitor decided to show face at that tensed moment,

IMG_20231230_094305_805.jpgImage is mine

I'm lucky to be among the females who don't experience cramps or any discomfort during these times, but mine came earlier than expected, I felt so uncomfortable, worst still, there were men around, there was even no clothing store around for me to make a quick stop and buy a new dress, it felt like the worst day of my life, I wondered how I was going to find a solution for myself, the only cover I had was the magazine the engineer gave to keep myself busy while waiting. So I asked him to give me, without even telling him why I needed it, thankfully, he didn't probe any further or object.

I used it to shield myself, while I walked around seeking a solution when the hand of a northern teenage girl wrapped around me, I turned and saw who just helped me, it was a girl who hawked popcorn and groundnut, she had removed her jeans jacket, I didn't even mind the state I jacket was in, it helped gave the cover I needed at that point, I tried to pay her for her help, she didn't know me but decided to do away with her cloth to a total stranger, no matter how I insisted she refused, I became emotional and didn't know when I hugged her, while repeatedly saying thank-you, since she refused to collect money, I decide to patronize her goods, I asked for her number but she didn't have any.

You can imagine how I felt that moment, for a fashion designer to be clothed by someone else, it was a very emotional moment for me, so I decided to cloth as much people as I can for as long as I could, for free, mostly teenagers and children , instead of throwing out leftover fabrics from my projects, I become creative with them, turning them to beautiful styles, and gift them to someone, I want them to feel exactly the way I felt when the popcorn girl helped me, a good turn deserve and extra more, don't you think so?

*** Images 2, 3 and 4 are mine***

Thank you for reading.❤❤

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/glorydee/re-glorydee-x6jdfmuz
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( glorydee ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 23 days ago  

This is s beautiful and fascinating story and I am so glad at the way you have deccided to give out cloths to other people. That popcorn girl is so kind and I do hope you meet again, may God bless wherever she is.

Btw, you are the real hot cake! a cramp free period?? You are a lucky one.

 23 days ago  

Yeah, I hope to see her again one day, and clothing is just my little way of giving out to my society since it's within my capabilities.

I know right😅 lucky me

 23 days ago  

Keep it up😊❤️

 22 days ago  

Yes, a good turn deserves more and even more. I love such good deed done to you by that young girl and that shows that no matter how wicked this world is, there will always be that good person wanting to do good to others.

Blessed be the lovely girl who had the eyes to see a person who needed help and a heart which was ready to help without a thought. I appreciate how you did not stop yourself from just helping the person who helped you but rather have kept on trying to give it forward. In this, at times, ugly world, such gestures go a long way in us having belief in humankind.

This is a beautiful story about the kindness of a stranger and my thanks to you for the Kindness tag.

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Wow! God bless you for your kind heart towards people around you. The help the popcorn girl rendered you really shows that there is indeed kindness in the world. God bless her as well.

Keep up the good work you have started. God will continue to bless the work of your hand.

#dreemerforlife

aah Glorydee, what a wonderful and inspirational story. This was quite moving. What a beautiful and selfless thing the popcorn girl did for you... and for you to pay that kindness forward to others, helping them in their need. What a priceless gift the popcorn girl bestowed on you in hindsight. It just keeps giving. A lovely read.

I dropped into Dreemport this evening.

#dreemerforlife