You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE REASONS WHY NEWBIES PLAGIARISE

It depends on the circumstances.
If I quote myself and incorporate an old post into a new one but add new original content, maybe like a follow up or so, then I create something new.
The problem arises if I just repost something and the hole voting/rewarding process starts over again without actually doing something new. And something new in this case is not

"Oh, look what I thought about 6 months ago: " end of post.

Yes, I added something but it's marginal.

But if I wrote a post about a goal I try to achieve and follow up on it later, it's just normal to quote the original content and then add "got it" or "didn't make it" to it (in a figuratively sense).

Argh, this is a hard and strong topic.

I still consider myself very new to hive and will do so until I reach the one year mark (that definition is set by myself for myself, others might have a different view on that, I'm sure).
But one of the first things I learned (because every newbie guide stronglines it) is that this topic can make or break you (that phrase might even be a quote, I'm not sure where I got it from).

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yes yes, you totally nailed it. You have buttressed the point even further.

Of course, you could build on something you have done before. But it has to be something that adds to it, and not republishing the same content.

Your example totally hits it bullseye.

I really appreciate this contrubution. I just sent some Ecency points your way.