Electronic Books Has Been a Great Life Saver For Most African Students

in Hive Learnerslast year

png_20221201_192123_0000.png
img src
Canva Design

Hello Everyone!!! I hope you are having a great time over there? It's really nice to see you visit my blog today and I must say I'm really happy to have a great personality like you visiting my blog today 😊. Thank you once again 💕

There's definitely no doubt that one of the vital goal of every African family is to have at least one educated person (graduate) in the family due to the great benefits attached to being a graduate even though some Africans believe schooling is a scam. I do get astonished whenever I hear student saying the phrase "school na scam" but none of them is a dropout. Some students making this statement are even top students in their department but they mostly do this just to deceive other people just because they want to feel among. Anyways, that's actually not our discussion for today.

photo-1491841550275-ad7854e35ca6.jpeg
img src

Nelson Mandela once stated that "Education is a powerful tool that can be used to change the world". There's definitely no doubt about this statement because some developing countries today are so much obsessed with education and this is having a great impact in terms of their innovation, research and technological development.

photo-1473594659356-a404044aa2c2.jpeg
img src

Even though the price that comes with being educated isn't really cheap due to the financial expenses and stress involved but at the same time being a graduate is definitely one of the ultimate goal of most African youths and this is also the key to happiness in the lives of most African parents.

My Experience In School and How PDF Kept Saving My Life


I could remember back then in 2015 when I gained admission to study Agricultural Engineering in a prestigious university in Africa, it was actually a very good news which made me and my parents happy after smashing my JAMB and O levels. I was actually eager to move to the next stage in my academic career even though I have been hearing different things about higher institutions most especially about the faculty of Engineering and how difficult the courses could be.

photo-1507537509458-b8312d35a233.jpeg
img src

I actually didn't never allowed those words to pull me back as a fresher hoping to graduate with good grades in the department of Agricultural Engineering. I strongly have this belief of putting in my best in everything I do and I will definitely achieve success with God by my side. I used to and still use to solve mathematical problems because mathematics and physics were actually my best subjects back then in my O level days. This really helped me in my first year since most of the topics were purely O levels with just a little bit advancement. So, there was no need to waste any money to buy text books or handouts in some courses since I already had a solid O level foundation.

photo-1596496181871-9681eacf9764.jpeg
img src

Fast forward to 200 Level, we started taking some new courses such as Engineering Mathematics, Engineering Mechanics, Fluid Mechanics, Strength of Material, Engineering in Society, GNS and some other courses. The truth is that the expenses became too much after relocating to our Engineering School right from 200L. I could remember securing a new apartment, buying house materials, food stuffs, handouts and many other important things but the problem I had back then was that I didn't have much money to buy some Engineering textbooks 😢.

All Thanks to Portable Document Files (PDF)

Have you been seen a scenario whereby they give you questions like "what is 2+2" as take home assignment and classwork, "what is 2x2+2" as test questions and then you meet questions like "if y=x^x + sinx, find dy/dx". I guess most people who study in African universities will definitely understand this better 😀. The fact is that our lecturers used to us applied questions back then and it requires you to read further from what you are being taught in the class. You definitely need to expand your knowledge before you can answer some of the exam questions.

photo-1622964981066-a10fd0192462.jpeg
img src

There's no doubt that you will definitely to get some engineering textbooks if you really want to expand your knowledge. Even though i never had enough money to buy some engineering textbooks due to the high cost of the books and my high expenses as a student back then, all I did was to visit Google, search for the engineering textbooks I'm highly in need of and I download directly on my smartphone (android device). I could remember downloading tons of Engineering Textbooks authored by K A Stroud, John Bird, R S Kurmi, B L Thereja, Rajput, H K Dass and many others.

photo-1506377711776-dbdc2f3c20d9 (1).jpeg
img src

Even though some students get distracted while reading e books on their smartphone by visiting their social media platforms, it was actually a different case for me because I never get distracted when it comes to achieving my goals. I could remember activating the "flight mode" option on my android device whenever I'm reading through my phone during Examination period and sometimes I transfer some of the e books to my PC whenever I felt like reading during weekends.

photo-1523580846011-d3a5bc25702b.jpeg
img src

To cut the long story short, I was the best graduating student in my department and I was also awarded for my outstanding performance during our Engineering Induction Ceremony which was conducted in my school. I was able to achieve this with the help of God and with the use of e books (PDF). The honest truth is that I haven't even stopped reading pdf files, i always download books authored by Robert T Kiyosaki, Jim Rohn, Brian Tracy, Shiv Khera, Steven R Covey and other books related to my career and self development.

Summary and Conclusion

photo-1462642109801-4ac2971a3a51 (2).jpeg
img src

In summary and conclusion, the existence of PDF or e books has reduced the cost of spending huge amount of money on physical books (hardcopy) which has been a great advantage for students in the lower and middle class since most of them can't afford to buy expensive hardcopies to boost their academic career. Also, the fact that e books can be transferred digitally from one person to another irrespective of the location across the globe is also an additional advantage for the world to utilize in the era of modern technology and innovation.

photo-1608389168343-ba8aa0cb3a63 (1).jpeg
img src

Thank you for your time and I'm really glad a great personality like you visited my blog today. Thank you once again and I hope you have a great day ahead with love from @hardaeborla ❤️💕❤️💕

About Me


I am Adebola by name and I'm also a graduate of Agricultural Engineering (BSC). I am someone who cherish self development and being productive is in my DNA, this is why I am always open to learning from anyone and I love making research. I have been in the crypto space for the past five years and my level of enthusiasm for cryptocurrency and blockchain technology keeps increasing day by day. My hobbies are reading, writing, eating, engaging in agricultural operations, travelling, designing and blogging. My skills include Content writing, Graphic Design, UI/UX (Product) Deisgn, Copywriting, Internet Marketing, Blogging, Research and Coding (Novice). Feel free to connect with me via;
Email
Telegram
Discod: Hardaeborla#103
Twitter

images (28).png

If its your first time here?? Start blogging on Hive and start earning free Hive tokens and HBD.
Hive : This is a native cryptocurrency used to reward Hive bloggers. Hive has a thriving ecosystem of over a hundred apps, communities & projects and is home to some of the most-used Web3 apps in the world, such as @splinterlands, @peakD, @HiveBlog, @leofinance and many others.

HBD : Hive Backed Dollar is the stable coin used on Hive blockchain. It is pegged to the price of one US dollar and users can earn 20% APR on HBD savings.
Learn more about Hive blockchain here

Thank You for your time and I hope you have a great day ahead with love from @hardaeborla
💕❤️💕❤️💕

6VvuHGsoU2QBt9MXeXNdDuyd4Bmd63j7zJymDTWgdcJjo1TXG5XbKP1zKkfqmLvSxDysAxGVk5jFy7gAxesopFQdNdRSXRinJzA5ePpJc4hS4WWUpXxEbvr8dAXHcz.png

Sort:  
 last year  

I actually prefer ebooks

 last year  

Greetings @sam9999 💕😊

I actually prefer ebooks

It's really great we both have similar sense of taste when it comes to reading. I also prefer e books anytime and anywhere.

Thanks for your lovely comment with love from @hardaeborla and I hope you have a great day ahead 💕😊

EBooks really did give me an edge when it comes to education. I didn't have access to libraries yet I have read a ton of books thanks to pdfs. They're a real life saver and changer when it comes to education.

 last year  

Greetings @young-kedar ❤️😊

EBooks really did give me an edge when it comes to education. I didn't have access to libraries yet I have read a ton of books thanks to pdfs. They're a real life saver and changer when it comes to education.

I'm really glad Electronic Book also gave you an edge as regards to your education. There's also no doubt that e books has really helped most students in Africa and it is definitely a life saver. Thank you for your lovely comment with love from @hardaeborla and I hope you have a great day ahead ❤️😊💕😊❤️

 last year  

Nigerian schools can be very funny, I wonder why they actually attempt the easy questions in class as an example, give a little tactical one as assignment.

In the exams hall they bring something completely different 😂.

 last year  

Greetings @offia66 ❤️😊

Nigerian schools can be very funny, I wonder why they actually attempt the easy questions in class as an example, give a little tactical one as assignment.

In the exams hall they bring something completely different 😂.

Lol... That's Nigeria schools for you oooo 😂😂😂😂... Naso we dae see am oooo... Thanks for your lovely comment with love from @hardaeborla and I hope you have a great day ahead ❤️💕❤️