Estimate the meal: What's the cost

in Hive Learners6 months ago (edited)

Hi, I hope this post meet you well. I will be talking briefly about the cheapest and the most expensive food I have ever eaten. I will be writing briefly about the the cheapest foods and the most expensive food I have eaten so far.

The first one is the most common. It is called pap, pap is a Nigerian native food coined from the mixture of corn and maize.

Source

Method of processing.

Pap is the mixture of maize and corn which passed through processing. This processing includes soaking the mixture together in a solid form for a number of days, five days at max.

After separating it from the water which is as at that time impure, Blend it with machine. after the blending we separate the chaft from the liquid by sieving it with piece of cloth, usually silk. The shaft remain inside the silk when the cloth is squeezed.

The extract (pap) come out in form of fluid while the shaft remains as solid inside the piece of cloth. The shaft is of little use, to feed domestic animals. The liquid is left inside a container where it can be fetched for preparing.
With time, it forms a densed condensed concentration as the water form at the upper part. You can replace the water every three days to keep the taste from becoming soar or bitter.

Method of processing

Put a measured amount of water in a pot and boil it. If the fluid is in it condensed form, you can mix with a little volume of water. Allow the water to boil (100°C) or more, pour the fluid inside and stir continuous.

The more you stir, the thicker it becomes. At a point it becomes a total fluid, with increased volume, exactly the volume of the boiled water and once you observe the amber color thick fluid. Then you are good to go.

How much does it cost to prepare pap?

Preparing pap is not a hard task, if you go through the details above, you will know that it is was not really stressful. You can do it. The price is not much too. For only me, I purchase a processed and packaged one which cost only ten cents ($0.10).

I do add a little milk or sugar with it which only cost about ten cents ($0.10) too. That's a usual breakfast that doesn't cost me much.

The most expensive food I have ever eaten is pounded yam. This is the most common food in my neighborhood when I was still very young. It is now as expensive as I can't imagine.

Aside from the general food (rice, maize among others ) there is a local food I like to eat. so recently when I got to the east. I went to enquire about the price.

Pounded yam is a Yoruba food , but a lot of people in the East has their way of preparing pounded Yam. I like pounded yam with vegetable soup along with touches of dried catfish. It is more special when served inside the leaf and not in the nylon (waterproof).

Due to the exchange rate the price might sound so Small to you but it cost about $1.5 dollars per portion of pounded yam. I will need to eat to portions or wraps for me to feel a bit satisfied. Pounded yam.

How often do I take pap and milk or pounded Yam.
I do take pap occasionally, due to the requirements for sugar or milk. I don't have the two in my budget lately and That is what is keeping me away from Pap.

I only eat pounded yam once or twice in a year, reasonably, it is not available in all restaurants and there are other foods to substitute for the expensive pounded yam like poundo yam, potatoes, plantain chips among other.

To eat such foods someone needs to be a farmer, or connected to a farmer who can provide a processed and the cooked food.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  
 6 months ago  

Lols this one you listed two food that I'm not a fan of like this.

Firstly though pap is cheap, I don't like it, even though it's my mum favourite.

And for pounded yam, I just don't like it because of the stress it consume to make it.

 6 months ago  

It seems like the two are at the extreme to you. One is too easy and the other is too stressful.

I don't like the stress either that's what makes it an annual meal for me, I do eat it only once a year.

Pap is really cheap since I was advised not to take Garri for much anymore.

 6 months ago  

Yes sometimes like that lol.

 6 months ago  

Sometimes, it is even more scary because pap is too light and it won't take you for a long time.

 6 months ago  

Whenever I take pap, I sleep for hours, so I try my best to avoid it😆
I haven't tried pounded yam before but they say it tastes very nice, and it's also very stressful to make.

 6 months ago  

Some people take pap in the afternoon, pap is supposed to be breakfast or dinner. If you take pap after waking up in the morning, there won't be a need to sleep.

 6 months ago  

I only take pap in the morning and it makes me sleep like there's no tomorrow. That's why I only take it on Saturdays 😂