I Was Hacked Twice: Cyber Security A Must To Everyone

in Hive Learnerslast month

Source
Hello Friends, how are you doing? Breaching data online is painful than when one physically stole properties from one physically. This is because the world is digital right now; some people prefer to keep their assets online rather than offline.
People that are keeping their assets online including money are more than people that are keeping their assets in stores or keeping money at home.

I will tell you how my account was hacked twice:
Facebook account was my first account that was hacked. I didn't notice that it was hacked because I did not log into my Facebook account for more than three days. The day I noticed, I was denied access to my Facebook account.
I thought it was network problems but after a series of trials, I discovered that it was a breach of privacy.

The moment I realized that I was hacked, I went to my email and realized that the hacker sent a malicious email to me. With the help of the Facebook help desk, I recovered my account after 6 days.
Recovery of my account wasn't easy! I was asked to send my Identity Card, and other information about me before I was granted access to my Facebook account.

The second time I was hacked, It was my WhatsApp account. This time around, I was into church activities, I created WhatsApp for my church and youth in the church. I was controlling two WhatsApp groups.
Someone called me, Hello Chris, this is pastor Sunday, there's a link that was sent directly to your message. kindly send the code to me, it is about our WhatsApp groups you created.”

Since he was someone we worked together in the church, I didn't even hesitate before sending the code to him.
After a minute I sent the code, I began to think maybe it wasn't the one that called me but the voice of the person that called me looked exactly like his voice.
I entered my WhatsApp to check, I realized that I did not have access to my WhatsApp account. That was when I knew it wasn't my pastor.
well! this has spoiled already.
I deleted the account, installed another one and created a new WhatsApp account. Though, I lost all the Whatsapp groups I belonged to.

I realized the importance of cyber security after my accounts were hacked twice. One of the importance of cyber Security is to protect one from cyber attack and protect our privacy online from being breached.
The following is what I did to prevent my data from breaching online;
Be cautious with email and message
Avoid clicking phishing emails. It is one of the methods hackers are using to gain access to your information. Hackers use phishing emails to get more information about you.
There was a phishing email sent to my friend. They asked him to set up an account.
He set up his account by using his email password as his password in the phishing email. That was how the hacker used the password to access his email; that was how he got hacked.

A direct message was sent to my friend, she went to tap the downloaded, and the money was withdrawn from her account immediately.
Source
Use strong and unique password
When setting up your password, use a combination of uppercase letters, lowercase letters, numbers and symbols. This kind of password will be difficult for hackers to hack.
Avoid using one password for multiple accounts. To avoid loss of passwords, use password manager to store all your passwords.

Source
Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)
The last time a hacker wanted to hack my Facebook account, I was sent a direct message. Since it wasn't me, I quickly went to my Facebook account and changed my password. If not for 2 Factor-Authentication, my Facebook account would have been hacked the second time.
Therefore, 2FA is very important to protect your privacy online.
Source
Backup You Data: It is important to backup your data in case of damage. I used Google drive to backup important data in case my phone got lost or damaged.
There was a time my phone was damaged, and I don't like engineer to touch my phone.
I bought new a phone, the moment I entered my email, everything old phone came back to my new phone. The moment I logged out from my old phone, all my data was no found on my old phone.italic

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I can also boast of your write up on 2 factor Authenticator this have saved me from losing my social media accounts and my Gmail and also.

 last month  

yeah, it is really helpful to do 2FA

 last month  

yeah, it is really helpful to do 2FA