Not Taking Risk Is Risk Itself

in Hive Learners16 days ago (edited)

Life itself is full of risk, infact it is more risky not to take a risk. It is when we step out with that positive vibes that we can say one or two things that made a thing not to work out well.

Travelling is just like a hobby to me. Many people do have nightmares because they want to embark on a journey. To me I enjoy travelling so much because I get to see many places and meet so many people too. There are 36 States in my dear country and a Federal Capital territory, at least I have traveled to over 25 States and hope to visit the remaining soon.


Image Source

One trip I took that I was not just comfortable with was my last Trip during Christmas. For several years I have been traveling I have not entertained the kind of fear I did last year Christmas. It happened that we planned that the trip I just to go visit my family coupled with my brothers wedding. It was just a nightmare for me, if you have ever traveled with kids on this Nigerian road you will understand better. The journey began before 7 AM and we got to our destination around 4AM. If I was the only one on that journey I would have been better off. The driver made sure that was not a space at all for me to shift a little, he used luggage to obstruct my comfort by the side and lots of luggage under the the seats. It was so terrible, we got to a point that the bags started resting on me and the kids and that was when I called out for help. Thank goodness for the kind travellers with me who offered to assist me with my first son while I manage with my little girl.

While we tried to manage the risk at hand the driver showed himself to be a confused and addent smoker who will like to waste unnecessary time at every spot to make sure he gets himself charged up. In my heart I was just praying for a smooth landing.

The highest of the risk happened few hours to my final destination then it was about 9PM shortly after I closed my eyes to sleep there was this sound we heard which woke me up. The order traveler was just shouting that the driver should not stop when we noticed the care trye picked a nail. As we continued the journey we came to an army check point and the force men in the bus told him to pack and that was how the trye deflected. At that particular spot we spent more than 2 hours fixing the bus.

The climax of all, what I went for didn't work out as planned and that broke my heart. That same Tuesday my brother lost his Samsung phone that he bought not too long.

In all am grateful to God for life and helping my kids stay healthy throughout the period we stayed home though my son came down with some skin reaction but all was taken care of.


This pix is mine

The major lesson I learnt from all these is that we should always be mindful of warning signals in everything we do. I would have just moved the journey later in the year if I did listen to what was just running through my mind that period. Also, nothing lost in life that cannot be regained hence there is life, sometime last month my brother was able to get a new phone and life continues.

My response to hive learners contest week #110 edition 2. Stay Positive.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 16 days ago  

Everything we do in life involves risk, even sitting at home can't be risky because the risk of hunger will hit you hard.

Glad you were safe from that incident, despite the nail hitting the tires of the vehicle you still got to your destination though it was delayed.

 16 days ago  

My dear, sapa no be my mate...

 16 days ago  

Sometimes drivers do not care about the comfort of their passengers, what they are interested in is making more money in their pockets. They play with the lives of their passengers and are not attentive to the maintenance of their units. You arrived tired at your destination and you learned that there are times when you have to listen to your feelings.

 16 days ago  

They are so selfish most times...thank God it was fine at the end

I also love travelling. One thing I hate is boarding a vehicle that will not be comfortable for me, our Nigerian roads alone are enough trouble. Luckily for me I've been able to locate motor parks that I can be little bit more for my comfort.

 16 days ago  

The day those parks will fail you eeeh, you just learn to truth the divine more...I have seen a lot on these roads my dear

 16 days ago  

Once I sat in a bus and the driver scared the shit out of me because he was drunk on a long journey. I was just praying for us to arrive safely cos he was totally drunk.

As we step out there everyday, there’s always a risk but what can we do? All we can do is to pray for divine mercies.

 16 days ago  

Divine Mercy all the way because some persons are not just thinking well

 15 days ago  

😂😂it is well

 16 days ago  

True talk dear. A ga e-ji mgbadu hara agha? Mba nu. That is the kind of things that drivers see everyday on the highway.
Thanks for sharing

 15 days ago  

Those nails was actually thrown by thief's. A ga na e me nu. Ke maka one?