HARMFUL BELIEFS

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Image source
Masaai.jpg

The way we live is our total way of life, our custom and culture is part of us and because of this, we accommodate some beliefs as part of the culture.

Every tribe has its beliefs, it is a general acceptance sometimes without proof.
So many beliefs have been passed down from generations to generations and as time passes we get to have different era and most of the beliefs need to be checked or abolished.

There was once an era where having tribal marks was a means of identification and beautification it was an era where slavery was rampant
it feels right then as there were no innovations and there is this belief that it looks good on people.

Tribal mark is a belief to show maturity when a child attains pubescence, also an individual to be identified and to look good but then it comes with pain and scar
There is always physical change when a child arrives pubescence, so cutting of the skin is not necessary an act to show maturity. It is a belief that is still practiced in some western part of Nigeria and belief that need to be checked as most of the marks are sometimes cut improperly on the skin and cause more damage than expected and the equipment is not properly sterilized which can be the cause of diseases.

As for me, I feel its is something we've moved past, although it is a unique culture and can still be practiced only if the marks are not deep nor wide and are just faint marks that does not require cutting deep of the skin but then the beliefs are it has to be deep and long for the reason to be known.
I feel beliefs like this should be checked
Image source
Tribal_marks.png

I happen to be left-handed and because of the western beliefs of left-handed to be wrong and not acceptable, I was converted to using right with so much spanking and punishment.
I thought it was to make my hands writing better but it was all just a belief that being left-handed is wrong without any proof and because of this I was punished several times and spanked till I became used to using right.

why do left-handed people have to be converted to right?
why is being left-handed, not acceptable?
I try searching for answers to this but found none and just end up with answers like it was was just a general belief without proof.
beliefs like this should be abolished we are given two hands for a reason so if you end up getting used to the left or right so be it all that matters is you get to use either of the two.

some beliefs just feel wrong to be accepted and the need for them to be abolished or checked is required to have freedom of choice.

These two beliefs happen to be what has been generally accepted and needs a Change.

I hope and pray we get to have beliefs that are right and not harmful.

Thank you for reading and visiting my blog

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Each tribe has different beliefs. there are beliefs that become sacred and there are also beliefs that may be taken for granted and tend to be ignored. same as where I live. Many beliefs are now taboo and abandoned. However, related to traditional beliefs and traditions that will be passed down from generation to generation, they will still be carried out. Interesting post, I really like it.

 2 years ago  

Exactly @kingpost99
Thank you for dropping by

 2 years ago  

you're welcome, my brother

 2 years ago  

I feel confused about all of this, when I was little, I tried very hard to be able to write using my left hand, because I think being able to write right and left is one of the advantages because not everyone can do it. Even though I can't write with my left hand, I consider left-handed people to have advantages.

 2 years ago  

Exactly but people in my tribe just have this beliefs it wrong to use left or be left handed

 2 years ago  

according to the beliefs of people in my tribe, it's just not allowed to use the left hand when taking food. but if it can make someone object it won't get punished, freedom has been established in my tribe.

calm my brother, you can definitely get through it all. 😊