What I call my favorite food.h

in Hive Learners2 years ago

Do I even have a favorite food?
My favorite food is meant to be the food I love most and can't do without right?

How about I tell you that I don't have a favorite food?

untitled.gif

If you ask me about the food I dislike most, I may mention a few dishes to you.

What I find myself eating most of the time is the food that I can afford. All the food I've ever had tastes nice and it's always satisfying to the eye and the tummy.

However, to answer the question about what my favorite food is, I would say that my favorite food, in general, is a kind of food that has all the necessary ingredients and assorted things in it.

Due to today's economy,

the prices of so many things have increased and most people have to resort to preparing concoctions. (i'm not saying that concoction is bad)

Are you wondering what concoction food is?

something (such as a food or drink) that is concocted from various elements: something prepared or devised by combining different ingredients source

That brings me to what we call Nigerian concoction rice. To be honest, though, these dishes tend to be delicious but you would know it's not the real deal. When one is preparing a dish like a concoction jollof rice, ingredients that aren't normally used for a typical Jollof are used for the concoction. Some can afford the real dish but they go ahead to settle for a concoction because they love it already.

Remember that I mentioned earlier that I love all the edible kinds of food I've come across so it's hard to say one is my favorite but to be very sincere, I feel it's only right to also state that my favorite food is an original food and not concoction.

Let's talk about fried rice.

untitled.gif

When I was younger and just got to know about the food called fried rice, I always wondered what fried rice would look and taste like.
Normally, the process of frying that I know requires that a good amount of oil be poured into a pan or pot then the content which needs to be fried would be turned into the oil. That made me wonder if the rice would be poured into a pot full of hot oil, which for sure wouldn't taste nice.

Fortunately, as I grew older, I learned the process.

The ingredients needed to prepare fried rice are:
  • Long grain rice
  • Carrots,
  • Green beans,
  • Peas,
  • sweet corn,
  • Onions
  • Oil
  • Curry powder,
  • Thyme,
  • Seasoning cubes.

The recipe for fried rice is easy and shouldn't be hard for one to get. The first thing is to have the rice parboiled and it is advisable to let it cool before using it to achieve a good result. To let your parboiled rice absorb more flavor, it's also advisable to cook the parboiled rice in well-seasoned stock.




Pour 2 tablespoons of oil into a pot over medium heat, and saute for 3-5 minutes until it's roasted.

Pour some stock into the rice, cover the pot with the lid, and let the rice absorb the flavor till it is soft for at least 12minutes. When it's done, leave it to cool.

In a different pot, heat mother 2 tablespoons of oil till it's hot, then pour in the hard vegetables, season with a pinch of salt, and fry for 2-3minutes, then add the soft vegetables later for another 2-3minutes.

After that stage, season to taste with dried thyme, curry powder, and pepper.

Finally, add the rice in small portions and mix it well until the last portion of the rice is added and properly combined.

You can go ahead to check if the rice needs any adjustments.

When rice is ready, stir in the chopped liver, sautéed shrimp, and diced green bell pepper. Cook for 3-5 minutes. Then turn off the heat.

untitled.gif

Fried Rice is ready.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Really awesome writing my dear and it is very healthy and tasty 😋😋😋😋 food. I love it very much

I love making fried rice as I can use all the leftovers from the fridge!
Yours looks delicious Jessica:)

I am popping in today as part of my dreemsteem challenge Encouragement program for Monday, have you encouraged your partner yet :) Well done on all you are doing and don't forget to do your personal goals today, cheers Ed :)

 2 years ago  

Thanks for stopping by, I haven't done to encourage my partner yet but I will go do so now.
I only encouraged a random dreemer on her post.
Thanks for stopping by.🙂

hehe oh well encouraging a random dreemer is still cool, so well done you :)

 2 years ago  

Thank you.

Of course I love fried rice, I am always looking for an opportunity to eat it. Maybe following your guidance, I should be able to prepare it for myself from now.
Thank you for sharing this with us.