The Most Memorable Day In My Life

in Hive Learners2 years ago

source
recall-538041__480.webp.jpg

The memorable day in my life happens to be a sorrowful mystery, it is about the death of my favorite uncle ad my mum's favorite cousin.

This happened in Lagos state where we reside and it was around 2013 when bike transportation was not allowed, my uncle just recovered from a terrible illness that cost him his shop where he sells medicine and some of his properties.
Things were really hard for him and it happens that his wife just gave birth to their first child ( a boy). My uncle had no option than to get on his bike he used as personal transport system to his pharmacy for search of money.

It was when he got to boundary market at Lagos state that he came across some police men and they chased after him. He got to market round-about and was knocked down by a moving car he never took notice of, he died instantly.

I was in my mum's shop at boundary market close to the same round-about, we heard the clashing of metal and we knew it was an accident, but we never know it was my uncle.

I came out of the shop to have a better view cause I could hear the Yoruba women there shouting in the dialect that the person is dead, so I came out to see the dead person. I haven't gotten so close to the body when I recognize it but I a played a doubt of not been sure, my heart begin to beat fast as I ran to the place and was my uncle laying lifelessly on the ground...... Aaahhh I couldn't hold it, I cried so bitterly that people came to brag me out as they move him to a side.

Little time I saw my mum running and crying at the same time as she rushed to where his dead body was laid. His younger brother was called to the spot and he called for ambulance to bring his body down to imo state to be kept in a mortuary.

The wife wasn't informed that day of what happened and his bike wasn't moved to his place but it was taken to the brother's place. She was called on the phone by my mother and was lied to that the husband had an emergency that needed his attention in the village as the first son of the family and she will have to get ready cause she too needs to go to the village and stay with the husband. My mum did so because my uncle's son was few weeks old and she won't want the wife to cry and stay at home all by herself.
The wife talk about his phone been switched off and my mum said maybe he had a low battery...

The next day in the evening, my aunty and my late uncle's junior brother transported to the village. It was there in the village he told their mother and the wife about the death of my uncle.

We all came back to for his funeral, and It was a sorrowful one .
Although it's up to 8 years my uncle passed away but his memories till his death are still fresh in my head.

Sort:  

It was so sad because it was very painful day for you. Everyone must left this world but accidental death is very painful for close relatives. Stay Blessed.

Thanks I truly appreciate you

This is painful.
No one is meant to experience loss, but such is life and these things hit us without any form of warning.
It is no wonder you still remember it.
May your Uncle's soul rest in peace.
Thank you for sharing this with us, I am glad I read it.

Amen... Thanks for the nice comment