My Family's December Tradition.

in Hive Learners6 months ago

1701974846584.jpg

The holidays that happen during December are one of the most prestigious holidays in my Country. It almost feels like everything pauses while all households get into the mood of the occasion. There is so much desire to enjoy and we all have good reasons to do so. It's a good time to relax, spend quality with family, and do anything you feel like doing to make the best of the season.

Each household probably has its way of celebrating the season. Mine is not different although I have to say that you can easily build a rollercoaster based on my family's up-and-down approach to each Christmas celebration. Some years we gather together as a family to celebrate the occasion. In other years, only those who are within proximity go home to celebrate.

There are certain things about how my family celebrates this season which are quite flexible. However, there is another side of it that has become a tradition.

Let's have a look at those things;

1. Observing the Religious Element of the Season.

I was born into a family of Catholics and we always find ways to get actively involved with the series of religious and spiritual events that unfold during the Christmas season. It's one of the traditions we follow in our home and we stick to it regardless of how tired any of us may be.

My Mum in particular is the one that led us in this direction. She runs a business of her own as a seamstress and this is the business she's been doing since she was a teenager. Her business is usually very busy during festive seasons and she comes home late in those seasons. You can only imagine how tired she would be at those moments.

Regardless of how tired she is and all the stress she has to go through during the day, she still gets involved with religious activities during Christmas, especially the Vigil Mass that's usually celebrated on Christmas Eve. Since we grew up under her watchful eyes, we all still maintain this tradition to this very moment.

2. Sumptuous Meals must be available.

My family has never known what it truly means to be RICH in the real sense of being rich. We struggled with many things that could be taken care of with money and it was quite obvious when I was growing up. Being from a Country like ours also had its role to play in making life tough for us.

Regardless of all that, one of the things we always do is to make sure that there are a lot of sumptuous things to eat during the Christmas season. My Mum does her best to be done with the kitchen work before noon. Of course, we all assist her in doing that so everything can get taken care of ASAP.

Even when we were in a very bad financial position, we still tried as much as possible to have something good to eat on those days. I practice that at the moment despite not living together with family. Regardless of how busy I am, I usually respect that tradition and make an effort to have something nice to eat on Christmas days.


Those are part of the things I understand to be part of my family's December tradition. It doesn't matter if we are celebrating together under the same roof or doing it individually. I'm always sure we will do each of those as part of the celebration.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Unsplash

Sort:  
 6 months ago  

I am impressed by the last paragraph of your post. There you mentioned that the tradition has been passed onto you people whether you all are together or not. That reminds me of the scripture that says we should train up a boy according to the way for him, when he grows up, he will not depart from it. It is good for parents to teach their children and help them build their spirituality, whether they are around the parents or not.
Most homes cerebrate with so much food. I am not able to participate in this contest because I have no tradition. I do not celebrate it, even if that's the day I was born too. No birthday, no Xmas. And am very cool with it.

 6 months ago  

Mademoiselle Adoore. Wow! What did you eat?

Do you know that you've been EVERYWHERE since this week? Haha. This is so exciting to see and thanks so much for spreading so much love in each part of your on-chain activity. Haha.

As for the family tradition, you are on point about that. This has become a part of our life and we always stick with it at every given moment.

Have an awesome weekend oooo. TGIF

 6 months ago  

Hahaha, I did not eat but drank ogogoro wey no be vodka. 😅. I thought I didn't have time to do much o. I was battling with result compilation but when I saw many showering me with love, I decided to reciprocate. Thanks for showing me some love too. Daalu

Truely, holidays on December period are the best in our region of Nigeria, it is a period to rest and have some quality time with our family and loved ones.

I just joined the platform, but I don't know how or where to begin my journey, please I need your assistance.

 6 months ago  

Hello, you are welcome to Hive Blockchain. It's good to have you join us. I noticed you are yet to make your introductory post.

That's always a good place to start.

Can I make the introduction post in this community, or is there a specific community for it??

 6 months ago  

How about this? Are you familiar with Discord?

If that's the case, we can try something.

Chat me up on this discord channel

We will walk through the process as I offer my guidance in DM

@warrablog, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/3) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

 6 months ago  

!hiqvote

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/4) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

 6 months ago  

Christmas is one of the best time to spend quality time with family and friends. Seamstresses are always busy during this period and they cash out more too.

It's a norm to find something good to out on the table during festive period, all thanks to God and our parents.

 6 months ago  

Yes, Bro. It's all thanks to God and also to our Parents. It's not easy to do all that especially when things are getting harder in the country

 6 months ago  

!hiqvote

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (4/4) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !LOOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

OH NEIN!
Du hast keine Witze mehr für diesen Tag!

@hiq.smartbot du kannst @lolzbot maximal 8 Mal pro Tag nutzen.
Level up, indem du mehr $LOLZ kaufst, damit du mehr Witze pro Tag teilen kannst!

 6 months ago  

!hiqvote

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/4) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻