Nicknames are usually served hot to folks.

in Hive Learners11 months ago

I know a bloke we all called Sophido during my days in boarding school and I can't even recall where that name originated from or the backstory to it. What's interesting is that since back then (2008 - 2012) till this very moment, whenever I talk with him, the only name that comes to mind is that particular name.

pexels-heiner-204997.jpg

That's the thing with Nicknames. There are people whose nicknames go so hard to the point that it overshadows their real names. We had a whole lot of people with such names when I was in boarding school. The school is strictly for boys and we were well-populated. You can only imagine the potential range of nicknames that we had flying around at that time.

In my case, I've also had a fair share of nicknames, but nothing too crazy and my nicknames never went too hard. What is more common is that folks get to twist my name in a way that makes it easier for them to call. Maybe Kenechukwu is too long a name for them. So, I get to hear people call me KC, Kene, Ken, Ekene, Kele, Kenechi, Kelechi, Kenny... Stuff like that. And, I answer all of them.

Like, what's the worse that can happen?

I don't feel bothered by how people choose to twist the name. As far as I know that I'm the one you are talking to, I don't feel disturbed about how you choose to twist the name.

The same thing happened ALOT when I graduated from Secondary School and got admitted into a University. I lived inside school hostels throughout my stay at University. If you know anything about Nigerian Universities, you can already imagine the kinda nicknames to expect in a hostel filled with young lads. It was insane.

We usually change rooms at the beginning of the new academic section and whenever we first show up in a room, everyone tries to be formal with each other. We are all students and the courses are quite competitive, so it's not a surprise that we are all fairly noble, dignified and trying our best to settle into the new environment and get used to each other.

It doesn't take too long for everyone to start getting used to each other. People loosen up, get more comfortable around each other and before you know it, nicknames are already being served hot to folks. Some were cool while some were just umm... stupid. Haha. Stupid nicknames are the ones you wouldn't want to hear, but the more you try to fight it, the more it sticks with you.

At a certain point, during my penultimate year, my roomies started to call me Mpa Ade which means Ade's father.

That name came when Crazeclown Comedy was still buzzing in the country. The bloke plays the character of a strict Nigerian father in his comedy skit alongside another younger skit maker who plays Ade (his son) in their skits. He would always end the skit with a hot slap on Ade's cheek whenever he does something that is frowned upon by a typical Nigerian Dad.

I'm sure I looked nothing like him, but according to my roomies, they started calling me Papa Ade because I'm the kinda guy that doesn't allow people to cross certain lines with me even if we are all having a good laugh and playing some games. It seems like their own pleasant way of saying that I'm strict with certain things. Haha. I dunno.

Well, they didn't lie though. The name is like an inside joke in the room. Guys in neighbouring rooms also knew I was given that nickname, but it was never huge enough to override my real name.

It's time to hear yours. What's that nickname you got at a certain point in life?

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma.
Thumbnail Image is taken from Pexels

Sort:  
 11 months ago  

Wow, that was a lot of nicknames. And here I am with the though that having 6 names were already too many but I was wrong. 😂😂

 11 months ago  

Hahah... It's really a lot. They just twist my name however they like and that's it. Haha.

 11 months ago  

What's your real name, Kingu ? 😆🤣🤪

I think your roommates had a good reason to give you that name. They wouldn't be able to cross the limits you put on them so the name came out.

 11 months ago  

Lolz... How did I forget that? Wow!

I only focused on the names I got in school. If I considered the ones I got online, that would have been a serial non-fiction 😂

 11 months ago  

!LOLZ

Where do Pigs go on vacation?
Boara Boara.

Credit: reddit
@kenechukwu97, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @amberkashif

(1/1)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

 11 months ago  

Hahah, I can remember those names clearly
I even met Molowo Odo and the first thing he asked me was where is Mpa Are, lol.
Funny how people never forget these Nicknames, hehe

 11 months ago  

Haha... Molowo's way of calling the name is quite intriguing. Haha. He stretches it to the limit. Haha

 11 months ago  

😂😂

Boarding school nicknames slaps hard and sometimes when you remember it just cracks you up.

 11 months ago  

Seriously, the names we got back then are so hilarious. Some are just weird.

 11 months ago  

Friends are actually one of the worst people to let give you a nickname, whether you like it or not the name has come to stay

 11 months ago  

Hahah... Seriously, friends can get very mischievous whenever they give you a nickname especially when they notice that you don't like the name.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 159 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

 11 months ago  

Thanks

 11 months ago  

!hiqvote

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (3/4) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !LOL from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

If you’re feeling paranoid...
You’re not alone.

Credit: reddit
@kenechukwu97, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hiq.smartbot

(8/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!


Hey @kenechukwu97, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 11 months ago  

Thanks for the beer

 11 months ago  

!hiqvote

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (2/4) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

 11 months ago  

!hiqvote

@kenechukwu97, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/4) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @kenechukwu97 gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻