Parenting against smoking

in Hive Learnerslast month

Greetings!

As we all know, change is one thing that is constant; it happens anyhow, even in instances when we are not expecting it. When these changes occur, it's not all of them that we should battle to conquer; some we should let be, while others require a significant effort to overcome, especially considering the manner in which they occur.

In my extended family, which consists of hundreds of people, there are one or two individuals who smoke cigarettes. It always baffles me when I see them smoking because the transition to such a lifestyle must have been a strong one.... it's something they didn't pick from home.



Image source

Once I marry and have children, I intend to raise them with the values of a non-smoking lifestyle from the very beginning. If one day any of them, in their teenage or young adult years, adopts the habit of smoking, I will make sure to help them quit.

I understand that some may argue that smoking is an addiction and that addicts are hard to help quit. However, if my child develops a smoking habit at a young age, I wouldn't tolerate it.

Here's what I would do to address the situation:

I would start with a heart-to-heart conversation to understand why my child was drawn to smoking. Most times, this smoking habit often come out from peer pressure; a situation where pulling out is likely inevitable.
While some may view smoking as acceptable or normal, I firmly believe it is harmful, particularly for young individuals. I would explain the risks associated with smoking, such as lung damage and premature death... it's stated in cigarette packs that smokers are liable to die young

If the heart-to-heart conversation doesn't yield results, I would resort to more traditional disciplinary measures, which may include physical punishment. While many people nowadays frown upon physical discipline, it was effective in my upbringing and it's one thing I'm going to use.
To be truthful, it's going to be hard to beat a little adult into correction, but that's what our parents used on us and it worked very well. I'm not among those who have completely bought into the idea of a civilization with no beating; no, I would incorporate beating into my home as one of the training measures.

If despite these efforts, my child continues to smoke, I would feel like I've failed as a parent in instilling the values I believe are important.

Image source

However, there comes a point in everyone's life, including children and young adults, where they must make their own decisions. If smoking is their choice, they will have to live with the consequences.

I've witnessed situations where children from religious homes have adopted different beliefs or practices, despite their parents' objections. In such cases, parents often have to accept their child's choices, even if they disagree with them.

There are some things we cannot control. All we can do is hope that our children will stay true to the values we've tried to instill in them.

Thanks for reading.


This is my entry to the Week 113, Edition 02 of the Weekly Featured contest in Hive Learners Community


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

It is quite hard to train up a child with good values and watch them go down a wrong path.

Like you said, we can only hope for the best for them.

 last month  

Yeah, it's only God that can help when it gets out of hand.
Thank you babe
!luv

beckyroyal, kingsleyy sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

You're welcome 🤗

 last month  

HAving a healthy environment is very important for kids because they learn faster with what they see people in their environment doing. Having a heart to heart talk is very important which can make them change their decision. I just wish you the best

 last month  

Thank you for your contribution.

!BBH

@hivedeb! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (9/20)

 last month  

Parent kingsley, I'm sure your children are going to enjoy your act of parenting

 last month  

Sureeee!
They're going to enjoy a lot😎
Thank you for stopping by.
!BBH

@rare-gem! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (12/20)

 last month  

You are welcome and thanks

 last month  

The best thing of this type of problem is showing the kids since the beginning how it does bad to your body. It is similar to teach your kids to treat well the environment that they leave. Treating well their bodies and their surroundings is a standard education at home.

 last month  

Yeah, when they know these things from the early stage, the keep off from them. Their brain will always warn them whenever they're going close to such.
Thank you for stopping by.
!BBH

@gwajnberg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (13/20)

Good on you mate, sounds like the future children are in great hands!

 last month  

Parents really feel disappointed if there kids should choice another lifestyle apart from the way they were raise